Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of alk13
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:The Looming Madness
Download:alk13.zip (9ada0180bb31c320fb5f2fac3aae4caa)
Filesize:3503 Kilobytes
Release date:23.08.2001
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: erc's QualityEthereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
alk13/alk13.jpg67 KB22.06.2001
alk13/alk13.html17 KB05.08.2001
alk13/alk13.txt3 KB08.08.2001
alk13/pak0.pak7056 KB07.08.2001

alk13.zip - The Looming Madness

Large egyptian map with a unique mix of textures. Features a few custom monsters such as the SOA goblin and the Snakeman.

Tags: egyption, monsters, textures

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 23 August 2012, 17:40
Probably the best ''alk'' map architecturally speaking, but gameplay-wise, it isn't as good as the previous ones. good brushwork too.

PD: i would have removed the goblins, its the most worthless less frightening quake monster ever. The last fight was interesting, but it has many spots to avoid the monsters.
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 5 September 2014, 10:15

i could not figure out how to open the secret door. i noclipped to see what was inside. :-(

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 23 September 2016, 13:04

Nice to look at (though the unfamiliar textures are a bit disorienting in that so much looks unusual that it becomes hard to spot what is a secret and what is just unconventional texturing). But as with alk11 and alk12, it's the repetitive lather-rinse-repeat quality of the whole process that lets it down. Enter a room, kill the monsters, go through the next door. Vamp till all 141 monsters dead.

I've not quite finished my trawl through all of Kona's "alk" maps, but with only one left to (alk15), a strange pattern has emerged: as Kona's technical skill increases, the inventiveness of his maps seemed to decrease. As a result, I see that I have scored the first three alk maps with four stars, and the next three all with three stars. (I skipped alk10 because I couldn't find a way to play it on QuakeSpasm.) I only hope that alk15 can finish the alk series on a high.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in