Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of alk15
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:Brumal Quest
Download:alk15.zip (2b8174bd903bd14f973891e6af851dc0)
Filesize:2666 Kilobytes
Release date:27.09.2001
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: erc's QualityEthereal HellRetroquakeTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
alk15/alk15.html20 KB27.09.2001
alk15/alk15.txt4 KB27.09.2001
alk15/progs.dat643 KB12.09.2001
alk15/pak0.pak4757 KB27.09.2001

alk15.zip - Brumal Quest

Large snowy medieval village, using Daikatana and Hexen2 textures, and coming with snow-themed monster skins.

Tags: snow, winter, medieval

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit, rated this a 5 12 November 2008, 15:09
Wow, amazing map. Now imagine that with Darkplaces' wonderful snow and fog. :)

Shame about all the fullbright pixels on the monster skins though.
AAA 18 March 2009, 2:36
I don't understand, I don't see a bsp file, or any files that enable this game. What is going on?
Spirit, rated this a 5 18 March 2009, 11:29
Read the alk15.txt file. ;)
Here is how you apply such commandline options in Windows (use the "-game alk15 +map alk15": http://www.quaddicted.com/stuff/Quake_customcommandlinewindows.gif
Gib, rated this a 5 11 April 2010, 12:44
Amazing, great new monsters and a fun blast. last encounter was great.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 23 August 2012, 17:48
It was a nice point the new re-textured monsters, i liked this map a lot, but i do think it isn't as beautiful or as hard-worked in gameplay as other ''alk'' maps (and i miss too the jumping ogre from alk11 :D). Secrets were hard to find, but i liked the health-pack one.
Pritchard Registered, rated this a 3 16 September 2016, 15:46

The map was... decent. I think a big part of why I didn't come away from it with a particularly positive opinion was the glitches, unfortunately. For me, on Quakespasm, the nailgun sound was glitchy, and as others have mentioned the monster reskins have issues with fullbright textures.

I also feel that the layout of the level leaves a bit to be desired, as I tend not to get lost in the alk maps but I found myself spending a good minute or so wandering around at a few points in this one.

Still, I overall did enjoy my time with this map.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 23 September 2016, 14:59

A welcome step up from alk12 and alk13 -- but not, for me, back up to the heights of the early alk maps. I'm scoring this three stars, but at least it's a good three stars this time, rather than the grudging three stars I awarded to alk13. The snowy textures make a nice change, although some of the reskinned monsters don't quite work. (The fullbright pixels on the new scrag skin are particularly jarring.)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in