Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of anonca1
Author:Rob Marton
Title:Anonca base: The shamblin
Download:anonca1.zip (c7e4a9844f1c95461405c44c5874b73a)
Filesize:492 Kilobytes
Release date:06.02.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's PlaylistTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
anonca1.bsp1153 KB06.02.1997
anonca1.txt2 KB06.02.1997

anonca1.zip - Anonca base: The shamblin

Medium sized blue metal base map with a unique theme.

Tags: blue, abstract, dark

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.3/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
stef, rated this a 3 30 May 2010, 18:51
enjoyable experience with some unique architecture even if the overal texturing is a litlle repetittive
hkBattousai, rated this a 4 26 May 2012, 18:08
Very good.
Spirit Registered, rated this a 2 9 November 2012, 17:49
I found this too dark, samey, weird and 1997ish.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 25 December 2012, 20:55
Medium sized average map with simple architecture with some very original designs and combat situations. Layout is good and twisted. Gameplay is good and fastpaced. Nice for a quick play.
Nobody Guest 26 December 2014, 1:13

So I played this with the software renderer and a lowish resolution (800x600). It is a well crafted level. And I absolutely loved the visuals. Yes it's quite dark and in many places pitch black, but it feels controlled (except for a couple spots where there were things that looked like lights, but no light coming out of them) and not just something that happened because the author forgot about ambient light level. The darkness and the visuals in general have a certain atmosphere to it, a vibe that I never, ever get from modern levels that attempt to fake global illumination by putting a little light everywhere. It's a vibe I very much enjoy.

Layout is interesting enough, gameplay is ok, though the map could be a little bit longer. Recommended if you're like me and are looking for old but well crafted levels which have that unique atmosphere...

lupinx-Kassman Guest 24 December 2015, 16:44

The anonca maps are my cup of tea. They're clean, and have a creative abstract use of space and lighting. Wish there was an anonca2 =P

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 7 October 2016, 8:44

The title of this entry is misspelled. The readme says "The shambling", not "The shamblin".

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2016, 21:14

Comments on the level:

I played this almost immediately after "The Cobalt Palace"--it was actually a replay, as the aforementioned level left me wanting a bit more '97 architectural weirdness.

When this level is good at that, it's really good. The starting area makes for a very good first impression, with some really cool angular designs that also appear elsewhere. Many other parts of the level are much plainer, however, and the dark lighting and the color scheme (which could use a bit more contrast here and there) don't really make up for.

Gameplay is pretty unremarkable. There are a few missteps in terms of monster placement (the ogre at the start which is below the player; the weird underwater shambler finale) and no real standout encounter that I can remember.

Despite its flaws, this map is worth checking out if you have a taste for abstract architecture. There are definitely a few ideas I plan to "borrow" for future maps.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 11 October 2016, 11:55

Very weird. Genuinely interesting, despite feeling so arbitrary, but poor workmanship knocks off a point or two. I enjoyed the underwater finale, strange through it was. I do believe I will go on to play the other Anonca Base map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in