Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of aopv105
Author:Impel Productions
Title:Abyss of Pandemonium
Download:aopv105.zip (3839d7d18a9a74239a696a3a1fbcc23a)
Filesize:13538 Kilobytes
Release date:10.05.1998
Homepage:http://impel.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links: erc's QualityQuake TerminusTEAMShambler (A)TEAMShambler (B)Underworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
IMPEL/maps/aopdm3.bsp290 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aopdm2.bsp541 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aopdm6.bsp868 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aop1m4.bsp2172 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aop1m6.bsp1125 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aopdm1.bsp490 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aop2m3.bsp1235 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aop1m3.bsp2393 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aop1m2.bsp1795 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aop1m5.bsp2384 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/start.bsp1086 KB12.02.1998
IMPEL/maps/aop2m2.bsp1610 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aopend.bsp1592 KB17.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aopdm5.bsp1089 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aopdm4.bsp454 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/aop2m1.bsp1703 KB19.03.1998
IMPEL/maps/AOP1M1.BSP761 KB31.03.1998
IMPEL/PROGS.DAT656 KB08.05.1998
IMPEL/CONFIG.CFG3 KB19.04.1998
IMPEL/PAK0.PAK6763 KB08.05.1998
IMPEL/LICENSE.TXT12 KB09.05.1998
IMPEL/DEMO2.DEM1268 KB27.03.1998
IMPEL/LICENSE.RTF7 KB27.03.1998
IMPEL/DEMO3.DEM1435 KB27.03.1998
IMPEL/DEMO1.DEM1435 KB27.03.1998
IMPEL/INSTALL.LOG1 KB19.04.1998
IMPEL/README.TXT2 KB02.04.1998

aopv105.zip - Abyss of Pandemonium

Two episode pack featuring 16 new levels (10 single player/6 deathmatch), six new foes, four new weapons, one power-up.
Very nice, despite a few mostly minor bugs.

Note: aop2m2 on hard skill can only be played in a high-limit engine.


Tags: episode, textures, start map, expansion, weapons, monsters

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lord of the Undead 14 November 2009, 18:21
I can't get it to work. I run it the same way I do bbelief and other partial conversions, but it just won't work. anyone know how to fix it?
Spirit, rated this a 3 14 November 2009, 18:42
Try http://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/aopfm_v2.html instead or simply use the Quake Injector: http://www.quaddicted.com/quake-injector/
qp pee pier Registered, rated this a 5 10 June 2013, 22:42

In what folder must move progs.dat?

qp pee pier Registered, rated this a 5 10 June 2013, 22:48

When i played, the game is not loaded the new monsters and weapons why i do?

QForever Registered, rated this a 4 20 February 2014, 18:21

Good enough for me to sneak a generous 4, but IMO was not good enough to have been something commercial.

dwere Registered, rated this a 3 24 July 2016, 14:06

Seems to be a nice partial convertion for its time, but, like the poster above, I'm not sure I would've wanted to pay for it. It feels too much like a random collection of things rather than something cohesive. Some dudes made some maps, weapons and monsters, then it was all stuffed into a blender (maybe except dudes). Something like that.

Most of the new weapons are just dumped onto you in the opening levels. They're pretty satisfying to use (especially the stake gun, and especially at the beginning), but none of them are doing anything particularly important, so it's more of a gimmick. Then again, I'm pretty picky when it comes to new content.

Both robot types consume too much damage for their threat level, but at least they look nice. If they were made today, I'd say the skins could've used some more work. The same applies to other new enemies.

Levels range from completely unremarkable to decent. The medieval-ish/oriental-ish mixed texture scheme in particular provides a couple of nice sights by utilizing some underused colors.

The first boss is sick. I think it captures the essence of Lovecraftian horror very well: a rather goofy design that somehow manages to be creepy.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in