Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of apsp1
Author:Andrew 'than' Palmer
Title:The Final Threat
Download:apsp1.zip (e793045375313d075ef31beee884a77a)
Filesize:1527 Kilobytes
Release date:30.08.2000
Homepage:http://than.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceEthereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTronyn's Top 10: BaseUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
apsp1.txt6 KB30.08.2000
progs.dat422 KB18.08.2000
pak0.pak3229 KB30.08.2000
apsp1.bat2 KB30.08.2000

apsp1.zip - The Final Threat

Medium to large, interconnected, professionally built IKBase map. Features the Mega Enforcer from Zerstörer.

Note: Some engine ports render the elevator at the beginning in the wrong position (not a critical bug). A hotfix is available for ports that support .ent files.


Tags: base, large, classic, ikbase, hard, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 20 April 2010, 4:46
Excellent map, deserves its praise. But the beginning needs some tuning, it's too hard with too much sniping. The rest is incredibly well done though!, so five stars.
Bazzu, rated this a 1 16 August 2010, 19:01
I agree!
A map that every player must play.
One of the best Base maps evar!!!
notsogavin 18 February 2012, 14:04
Really fun map! Excellent design.
Fr3n Registered, rated this a 5 19 November 2012, 6:03
There are many great things about this map - excellent gameplay, highly detailed brushwork, clever setpieces (like that giant moving crate). But the truly amazing thing about it is the layout - heavily interconnected with almost every area revisited from a different height or angle, but still always very clear where to go next and very difficult to get lost. I don't think any other map strikes such an effective balance as this one - even than's later levels don't compare.
mfx Registered, rated this a 5 1 May 2014, 21:54

Great map, absolutely nice layout with lots of interconnections and revisiting areas. Brushwork is excellent in every corner, though i´m not the greatest fan of the IKtextureset . Gameplay is quite challenging here and there, fiends are dangerous...mind you.

P.S. There seem to be one elevator not placed right, at least when playing with QuakeSpasm. Doesn´t affect gameplay/progression, and not the 5 stars it surely deserves.

Must play!

Daz Registered, rated this a 5 6 May 2014, 20:07
bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 12 September 2016, 19:24

I don't know what to say that hasn't already been said, so I'll just shut up and play. Oh, and I had the same elevator bug as mfx. I need to try it in DP.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 13 September 2016, 9:07

I've played this several times, and it remains richly rewarding throughout -- with the possible exception of the shut-in near the end where you get trapped in the teleporter room with a bunch of fiends. Progressing through the base is a delight. The map still feels modern, 16 years on: really, it could be released today and it would still be outstanding.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in