Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of apsp2
Author:Andrew 'than' Palmer
Title:Plumbers Don't Wear Ties (But They Do Carry Shotguns)
Download:apsp2.zip (6ee2a4503eb25bd9d32749ddae2e5cf1)
Filesize:3107 Kilobytes
Release date:14.01.2009
Homepage:http://than.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
apsp2.bsp5131 KB14.01.2009
apsp2.txt16 KB14.01.2009
apsp2.rmf19249 KB14.01.2009
apsp2.map4511 KB14.01.2009

apsp2.zip - Plumbers Don't Wear Ties (But They Do Carry Shotguns)

A large submerged base with great attention to detail and exploratory gameplay. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires Quoth and an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: base, water, quoth, huge, exploration, detailed, hard, large, mustplay, maze

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Nobody 11 April 2009, 6:04
I could'nt find my way to the yellow door.
Cool idea though. Too bad you can't make the crates move slightly.
Denizen 11 October 2009, 8:50
Amazing map. Huge, eerie, water filled, complex. Wow.
jakub 7 April 2010, 14:41
this is maybe the best q1 base map i have ever played.... and i've played many :-)
Qmaster, rated this a 5 22 December 2010, 16:28
I first played this through without quoth and it was awesome! It was way more eerie and spooky when there were only a handful of baddies. Totally awesome! It was still fun though when I played it through the correct way :P

This is definitely the BEST quake base style map I have ever played. It's elaborate size lets one explore all over, and the interconnectedness is superb. If you see a locked or broken door, it most likely leads to a section you'll go to later. Extremely huge level! 5/5
mmm Registered, rated this a 5 7 July 2013, 14:45

Absolutely amazing. Huge, detailed and full of little secrets to explore.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 13 November 2013, 13:07

Just sensational. Beautiful, novel, always consistent without every becoming repetitive. Truly a thing of beauty.

path0gen Guest 15 November 2013, 18:29

everything is perfect, but the final boss is a complete piece of trash. 2-shotting monstrocity doesn't mix well with a complex area to explore and inability to move fast. 3/5 for that reason, sorry

mfx Registered, rated this a 5 16 November 2013, 12:08

It clearly says you might want to save before the final fight, so i don´t understand the arguing bout the end boss.

And once you found out how to defeat it, it leaves you with a satisfied grin.

Probably the best IDbase style map there is, the modifed textures are a piece of art. Interconnectivity is mindblowing sometimes, there is so much to explore and discover, and the overall detail in this is simply topnotch. 37,6/5 stars!!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 15 December 2013, 21:38

Brilliant map, beautifully made with fantastic believable atmosphere, interconnectivity and exploration-oriented gameplay, although the very elements that make it so fantastic can also make it frustrating to play, as it is very easy to get lost for long periods of time.

The end battle is clever in theory (and easy to figure out, especially given all the hints) but in practice I found it a bit of a chore. I am also not a big fan of that particular creature, but it does fit the setting. Scrags and vorelings did not belong in this map, but all the other monsters were well chosen (including the flying drone, although it looked a bit odd flying underwater).

QForever Registered, rated this a 5 20 February 2014, 18:26

I was a bit confused at time but this map is really, really great overall in all aspects - just play it!

danly Registered, rated this a 2 6 May 2014, 3:50

Very rough beginning with a lot of clumsy brushwork and areas in which to get stuck.

The rest of the map is superior, but that beginning...

Mecheye Registered, rated this a 5 11 July 2015, 5:38

Well done! I love the vertical, foggy aspect and the windows and vents used to look at other parts of the map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in