Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bbin1
Author:Matthias Worch & negke
Title:Beyond Belief (in one map)
Download:bbin1.zip (9b137f306afaed543e364f00cb1e9b21)
Filesize:5888 Kilobytes
Release date:14.01.2015
Homepage:http://www.worch.com
Additional Links: Beyond Belief
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
bbin1.bsp14890 KB14.01.2015
bbin1.map7796 KB14.01.2015
bbin1.txt3 KB14.01.2015

bbin1.zip - Beyond Belief (in one map)

This is the 1997 classic Q1SP episode Beyond Belief merged into a single level (excluding the start map).

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits and BSP2 support.


Tags: source, classic, oldschool, episode, bsp2

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
negke Registered 24 January 2015, 14:45

I would have prefered this as an addendum to bbelief rather than a DB entry of its own. It's little more than an experiment, not a brand new experience.

Spirit Registered 24 January 2015, 18:18

So are countless other packages on this site. Every file should have an entry. Grouping would be awesome, patches welcome(tm).

No non-1024x768 screenshots please.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 4 24 January 2015, 20:28

bbin, simply bbin :')

QuakeForever Guest 25 January 2015, 6:35

An impressive and somewhat innovative technical accomplishment, even if it's nothing new. If you haven't already played bbelief, it's just as worthwhile as the real thing (unless you prefer to use a weaker engine). If you have already played bbelief, it might still be worth a look to see how it all flows together.

konstructor Guest 26 January 2015, 1:20

Me never played BeyondBelief so my mouth's watering.. ..but what's the point of this if there are no differences with the original ?

Spirit Registered 27 January 2015, 0:04

Technical novelty and curiosity. :)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 16 March 2015, 21:55

I'd like to play this on my Mac, but BSP2 requires a recent version of QuakeSpasm, and it seems that only v0.90 has been released as a Mac package. Does anyone know if the QuakeSpasm people plan to make a Mac release with the BSP2 support?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 16 March 2015, 22:00

Ah, not to worry -- this works on v0.90 so long as bump the max_edicts setting. So for example:

quakespasm +skill 2 +max_edicts 2048 +map bbin1

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 9 April 2015, 1:04

Thoroughly enjoyed this, but without really feeling that having it all in one map added anything over the original. (In fact it suffered from the fact that the secret-count didn't allow me to make a judgement about when I'd cleared an area.)

All in all, an impressive technical feat, but not necessarily one that I'm keen to see repeated.

Dave Guest 14 August 2015, 5:33

This is brilliant, can someone do the same for the standard Quake episodes?

X Guest 14 August 2015, 7:26

I'll do it unpaid!

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 5 25 August 2016, 12:42

The map.

Still relevant to this day and still amazing. Watching Matthias's retrospective stream is very enlightening to hear of the trials endured during the birth of quake editing.

The fact this is one full map is pretty damn fantastic so thank you Negke!

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 5 23 September 2016, 12:31

That was a... fatiguing experience. I went out to get pizza half way through, which was a much needed break. I'm just not built to play 45 minutes of solid quake action in one sitting!

Warhead Registered, rated this a 4 26 January 2017, 17:01

I prefer the original way with shorter maps but the idea is nice. Would have been cool to have some map edits here and there.

marc timothy moses Registered 14 June 2017, 18:15

wrong version number

marc timothy moses Registered 14 June 2017, 18:19

844124994 should be 29

helps you Guest 14 June 2017, 21:16

marc timothy moses

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits and BSP2 support.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 28 December 2017, 0:19

Nice Make merged q1e1 plz

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in