Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bbelief
Author:Matthias Worch
Title:Beyond Belief
Download:bbelief.zip (1bbd79309a4004c23d4018171a6099ec)
Filesize:7148 Kilobytes
Release date:15.05.1997
Homepage:http://www.worch.com
Additional Links: Crash'serc's ExcellenceEthereal HellQuake Map HotelQuake TerminusRetroquakeSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan'sBeyond Belief IN ONE MAP
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
BBELIEF.BAT1 KB14.05.1997
BOSSQC.TXT2 KB06.01.1997
BBELIEF.TXT5 KB15.05.1997
PAK0.PAK16893 KB15.05.1997
BBELIEF.DOC16 KB15.05.1997

bbelief.zip - Beyond Belief

E1-style SP episode that features 8 small to medium-sized levels as well as a new start map - all of which also support co-op mode and DM - a few new textures, and a modified Chthon boss.

Note: There is a glitch in the sixth map that prevents the player from escaping a spike trap in modern engine ports. Here is a hotfix.


Tags: episode, base, wizard, classic, oldschool, qtwid, mustplay

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 42 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
annoyed 30 April 2009, 4:30
wont work.
smarter than you 30 April 2009, 10:46
Then try reading the included manual.
Lord of the Undead 6 September 2009, 2:13
All it says in the manual is to "Start Quake like this: 'quake -game bbelief'"

I'm using the ProQuake engine and I have absolutely no idea what he means by that. Could you by any chance help me out?
Spirit 6 September 2009, 15:14
Sure. Take this animation as reference:
http://www.quaddicted.com/stuff/Quake_customcommandlinewindows.gif

You put in "-game bbelief" as commandline option there. Enjoy!
Lord of the Undead 12 October 2009, 20:43
Spirit, you are my friggin' hero.
Shalrath 25 December 2009, 21:21
Good map pack, feels like an extension of the stock levels. However, the traps are somewhat of an overkill (especially the instakill traps in one of the last levels), and there doesn't seem to be enough ammo in the final level to kill the boss, had to use cheats there.
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:23
Perhaps one of the oldest really good full episode sets for Quake freeware release. Not the best of all of '97 though - it was beat later in the year by mexx9/10 and zer.
sb306 20 April 2010, 23:06
Played through a few of the levels so far. Its a great pack from what Ive seen. Seems to run great on Joequake.
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 28 April 2010, 2:04
I read in Tronyn's "13 Years of Darkness" (or whatever it was called) document a few months ago that this author is back at mapping again. Is that really true?
gb 30 July 2010, 23:11
This sure is a good set of maps. It's in the top 10 certainly.
negke, rated this a 5 30 July 2010, 23:54
IMPORTANT NOTE: There's a bug in the sixth map that prevents the player from escaping a spike trap on modern engine ports.

Here is a fixed version: http://www.quaketastic.com/upload/files/single_player/maps/bbelief6_fix.zip

Simply extract the file PAK1.PAK into your BBelief directory and start the episode like you normally would (as per the instructions in bbelief.doc).
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 6 August 2010, 4:43
Four star maps, its length and tiem make it five though. Just replayed this thing, it's still a lot of fun. I did have the spike bug in the sixth level with FitzQuake, good catch Spirit - I used noclip but having a patch is better. Only thing I didn't like was that sixth and seventh maps don't really support scratch starting - with all the other maps supporting it, I had started it that way and was vastly underpowered.
FrankUman, rated this a 5 4 October 2010, 16:55
This was my first new map in more then 10 years. Up to last month I thought I was the only man in the world still playing Quake 1. How wrong I was!
So, take my comment for what it's worth, but I liked the episode a lot.
I succeeded to overcome the bug by throwing some grenades around... Next time I'll use the fix.
Qmaster, rated this a 5 21 December 2010, 17:18
Truly this is one of the best oldschool styled original Quake style episode packs. Very fun and brings back memories of playing Quake with my family on coop back when I was only 5 years old. Definitely one of my favorite old school map packs! 5/5
goddogx 16 January 2011, 16:37
wow! thanx for the hotfix! indeed, i also had to noclip the trap back in the 90's :) one of my most "shameful" moments hehe.
Krypto 13 March 2012, 18:28
The hotfix link is not found.
Krypto 13 March 2012, 18:28
My bad! It seems Quake Injector can't find it funnily enough.
Scribbles 18 March 2012, 16:10
Well, everything about these maps is 1997 as hell, but I guess these are amongst the better ones of that era.

Great for a pleasant nostalgia trip, if you can stomach all the unavoidable nail shooters and getting damaged when a badly built lift sends you into a sticking out lip - but that's all part of the 1997 charm, isn't it?
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 8 September 2013, 0:17

4 maps in. Way easy by modern standards, but then again this is supposed to be e1-style I guess.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 8 September 2013, 8:04

Even the secrets are hella easy!

FifthElephant Registered, rated this a 4 7 October 2013, 12:20

Not bad at all. There were a few insta-kill traps that pissed me off though. I had to God mode through some of the encounters also (on normal!).

Very much like an extension of the original game, worth a play.

NightFright Guest, rated this a 5 25 January 2014, 14:37

I only got it working in Quakespasm with "-game bbelief +map bbstart" - since the first map is not called "start", it's impossible to run it any other way, I think. Other than that, this is a top-notch episode which feels like it could have been part of the original Quake release. Must-have!

Anonymous Guest 25 January 2014, 15:22

Don't people read the readme? I quote:

2. Installation and Starting Instructions

Setting up Beyond Belief is quite easy. Just follow these few steps:

  1. Create a new directory called "bbelief" in your Quake directory.
  2. Unzip all files of Beyond Belief into this .../quake/bbelief directory.
  3. Start Quake like this: "quake -game bbelief"
  4. If you see a new demo after Quake has started everything is fine.
  5. Bring up the console and type "map bbstart"
QuakeForever Registered 6 March 2014, 6:45

@NightFright I got this working with FitzQuake with the same command parameters.

Anyways this pack is a classic, at least every bit as good as the original Quake levels, and among the top releases of '97 (with zer, prodigy, and the last two mexx packs being some of the stiffer competition I can think of). If you're a Doom fan, he made lots of maps for that game too back in '96.

DISCOMBOBULATED Guest 5 September 2014, 19:07

The Fix doesn't work but then the instructions are not so clear...
COPY INTO BEYOND BELIEF DIRECTORY????

Does that mean replace the other PAK1 in the id folder? Or put it in the BBelief FOLDER

OR THE BBelief FOLDER IN THE EPSILON FOLDER??

VAGUE!

Spirit Registered 5 September 2014, 19:12

In the bbelief directory. Be aware that Epsilon replaces the wonderful Quake soundtrack with something made by a fan.

DISCOMBOBULATED Guest 5 September 2014, 22:34

I have messed up the whole game now moving PAK files. WAY TOO CONFUSED!
I have a quake folder I made myself, inside it is the original copy of quake in its own folder, then another folder for Quake Epsilon. Inside the Epsilon folder there is a BBelief folder and an Epsilon BBelief folder.
My PAK Files from original quake are in the EPSILON id1 folder This was working, AFTER I put the maps from the epsilon bb folder into the normal bb folder! which was guess work*

WHAT IS A DIRECTORY FOLDER? I AM STUPID! The only place that seemed likely to put the PAK1 fix file would mean it replaces the other PAK1 in the id folder.

I did start by putting it in the Bbelief folder but it didn't work so I tried it in the Epsilon Bbelief folder..

Now the game loads in a massive looking resolution and doesn't load , the command line say something about not reading audio.

Feel sick.

DISCOMBOBULATED Guest 5 September 2014, 22:34

I have messed up the whole game now moving PAK files. WAY TOO CONFUSED!
I have a quake folder I made myself, inside it is the original copy of quake in its own folder, then another folder for Quake Epsilon. Inside the Epsilon folder there is a BBelief folder and an Epsilon BBelief folder.
My PAK Files from original quake are in the EPSILON id1 folder This was working, AFTER I put the maps from the epsilon bb folder into the normal bb folder! which was guess work*

WHAT IS A DIRECTORY FOLDER? I AM STUPID! The only place that seemed likely to put the PAK1 fix file would mean it replaces the other PAK1 in the id folder.

I did start by putting it in the Bbelief folder but it didn't work so I tried it in the Epsilon Bbelief folder..

Now the game loads in a massive looking resolution and doesn't load , the command line say something about not reading audio.

Feel sick.

dISCOMBOBULATED Guest 13 September 2014, 16:17

Well, I made it all work again and tried every possible way of adding the PAK1 fix file, doesn't work. Maybe it is because I am using a mac? Its very annoying.

dISCOMBOBULATED Guest 13 September 2014, 16:17

Well, I made it all work again and tried every possible way of adding the PAK1 fix file, doesn't work. Maybe it is because I am using a mac? Its very annoying.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 13 September 2014, 18:26

dISCOMBOBULATED, "directory" = "folder".

Were you able to run bbelief before adding the fixed PAK file? If so, what you have to do is really simple. You're not supposed to replace anything -- the fixed PAK1.PAK goes next to the pre-existing PAK0.PAK in your bbelief directory.

Don't do anything with the PAK files in your id1 directory.

dISCOMBOBULATED Guest 14 September 2014, 0:58

Ah! , thanks Icantthinkofanickname.. I appreciate you making that clear for me.
(I have only used a computer for 20 years)

I have been running quake ok but had some confusion using episilon and bbleif at the same time... sometimes the enemy characters are modded and sometimes they remain original.

I followed what you said with the fix and tried it again... (wasn't sure if I should start from a save point or not but I did)

IT WORKED.! Once!!!! haha now its doing the same thing again whereby the teleport leaves one under the squishers.. the first time it work I got killed by a knight hehe
God knows!

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 25 September 2014, 11:14

i had a great time with this. it certainly has that 'episode one' feel. however, in the first two maps, i was able to skip half of them with an easy jump or two. of course, i started over and played through 'properly.' these minor nuisances weren't enough to derate the pak.

darnell Guest 25 October 2015, 2:02

yes,i wants to play the game now.

FredBezies Registered, rated this a 5 10 August 2016, 17:41

One of the third party episode I've ever played... What a blast :)

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 5 23 September 2016, 13:04

This pack is quite good for its age; I'd put it up there with some of the less memorable levels that id pushed out with the original game. I'm not even going to try and review it in detail, there's just too much to go over, but I will raise a few issues that I had with the pack going through it. Keep in mind that I actually played the bbin1 pack rather than these originals, so there may be slight changes i'm not completely aware of.

The biggest issue with this pack to me would have to be level navigation experience. There's a lot of backtracking in the the early base levels, with very little repopulation (there was some attempt, but enemy refreshes are few and far between). This makes for a few maps that really feel like "key-door" errands, which is never particularly fun. This was particularly noticeable in the first base map, but the second had its own issues. I found myself completely lost in it! I ended up having to noclip/notarget and fly around to find where I was supposed to go, which was an alternate path right from the very start. The amount of time I spent trying to jump up to a too-high ledge in vain was embarrassingly long.

After the pack moves into its medieval theme, things get a bit better. Still not perfect, but I generally found myself completing the levels with significantly less frustration than those early ones. There were still a few more instances where I had to fly around to figure out my goal, but they were few and far between and far less severe.

I think gameplay wise this pack hits the mark. Weapon distribution is well paced, except perhaps for the lightning gun which makes an appearance at an exceptionally early point considering how much longer it takes to get the rest of the weapons. Plenty of challenging encounters meant that I often felt pressured, but if anything the supply of health and ammo was sometimes too high; I can't say I ever felt hard-pressed for survival, and often found it easiest to simply tank a few grenades to take an ogre out that much more simply. Still, it's difficult to control for that in a map, and I did find a few secrets which definitely helped to power me up.

Artistry is another place where bbelief gets it right; it's very of its time, and lighting tends to be uninteresting and is hardly a focus of the pack, but the brushwork is sufficiently detailed and the set pieces well-done to the point where I think it fits right in for what it sets out to believe.

Overall a great pack, and one I'm glad I took the time to play.

darkplaces user Guest 13 April 2018, 15:29

Looks great, will definitely play it. Doesn't seem fully compatible with DarkPlaces, though: the thing-that-needs-to-happen-for-you-to-access-nightmare-skill doesn't happen, so, after successfully entering the nightmare corridor (the first thing does work), I'm left there wondering what I'm missing to proceed. Had to use QuakeSpasm instead.

JMP Registered, rated this a 5 20 July 2018, 19:27

Loved this the first time I played it years ago and still enjoy it today. Mission Control (bbelief1) and Seal of Secrecy (bbelief6) are my favorite maps here because of how intricate their design is-- they're both tightly built with very efficient use of space and lots of embrasures, windows, etc. that let the player glimpse parts of the map he has yet to visit. The secret map is also great, with a strong atmosphere. I would give those 5/5 even today. I found the rest of the maps somewhat weaker, but they still have a lot of old-school charm.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in