Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ch1sp1
Author:Chris "Apollo" Houston
Title:Higher-Synth
Download:ch1sp1.zip (703cb02a608e53d7770d064c628f24f4)
Filesize:763 Kilobytes
Release date:06.08.2001
Homepage:
Additional Links: Ethereal HellTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ch1sp1.txt6 KB06.08.2001
ch1sp1.bsp1778 KB06.08.2001

ch1sp1.zip - Higher-Synth

Medium sized green industrial map with Ogro and Jackboot textures. Gameplay becomes repetitive quickly.

Tags: ogro, jackboot, industrial, medium

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit 20 March 2009, 12:35
Hm, not so great. Suffers a lot from the "Oh, there is a corner! Oh, there is a monster around that corner!" gameplay. Visuals do not appeal to me, I don't like the dirty green textures.
Average to me.
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 6 September 2014, 12:59

the ending was ok.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 3 20 February 2018, 14:12

Liked the map. Couldn't get the red armor+megahealth secret. Liked the ending in particular. I think the quake engine don't shine in tight rooms, and the majority of the map consisted in closed encounters.

I didn't like the ogre placements at the start. Why put an ogre with no Y axis in aiming where he sees you, you can shoot him but he can't hit you. It's just dumb and a shotgun sniping moment.

Like the map, liked the texture with the torso on the walls. If you go back through a teleporter without killing the enemies in the room, when you go back, you probably telefrag one monster and get surrounded.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 23 February 2018, 11:41

This map feels like a missed opportunity. On one hand, it's really solidly constructed, and feels satisfying to move around in. One the other hand, as the overview and Spirit's review both say, it gets very repetitive very quickly, so that the game becomes a grind rather than a joy. Toss in the over-use of teleporters, so that it's not really possible to get a feel for the geography, and much of what I love about Quake is pushed out.

It's a real shame that Chris "Apollo" Houston never went on to do more maps after this (or, if he did, they're not in the Quaddicted database). it feels to me like there was a solid talent there, but it never had a chance to develop.

onetruepurple Registered 23 February 2018, 15:43

"It's a real shame that Chris "Apollo" Houston never went on to do more maps after this"

But you already reviewed one

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 23 February 2018, 20:54

This is the only one listed at https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/?filtered=Chris%20%22Apollo%22%20Houston

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 23 February 2018, 20:55

Oh, except that I guess this is by the same guy, minus the alias. It's good!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in