Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of chapter_necros2
Author:necros
Title:Are you yet Living?
Download:chapter_necros2.zip (dd4397112e89264e3c6ae2c387a9c071)
Filesize:1768 Kilobytes
Release date:24.09.2008
Homepage:http://necros.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
chapter_necros2.bsp4312 KB24.09.2008
chapter_necros2.txt5 KB24.09.2008

chapter_necros2.zip - Are you yet Living?

Medium sized, somewhat nonlinear map using Knave textures.

Tags: quoth, knave, medium

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 19 February 2010, 15:48
I liked this until the final boss. I hate Wyrms where supplies/cover are limited. Otherwise good as usual from this author.
Aen 11 October 2010, 17:30
Doesn't work on Quake Enchanged.
FifthElephant Guest, rated this a 5 13 January 2013, 17:27
Pretty enjoyable stuff, slows down a lot on every source port except RMQuake for me though. I'm really not a fan of flying Polyp's ughh..

Overall 4/5
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 14 November 2013, 12:07

i also dislike flying polyps. great map though!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 20 November 2014, 17:33

A lovely semi-abstract map with a distinctly alien feel to it – would say it captures the "Elder World" atmosphere better than most maps on Tronyn's list. It almost feels like something negke could have made (which is meant as a compliment, since negke is one of my favourite Quake mappers). The screenshot led me to expect something in the vein of The Living End, but I was pleasantly surprised: this is far more to my taste than necros's more heavily Doom-influenced maps. At first I felt the same way as Quaker when encountering the Vermis, but as soon as I figured out that side-strafing is crucial, the fight became quite manageable.

Two minor nitpicks:

Firstly, the map gives you the regular nailgun twice. This would make sense if there were a chance that the player may have missed it the first time around. However, the way the triggers are set up, you cannot proceed without picking up the first nailgun, which makes the second one entirely superfluous.

Secondly, it is a pity the map seals you in twice – first as you proceed from the lower level upwards, and again as you enter the boss arena. This means that you cannot go back to hunt for secrets. It would have been great if the map opened back up after defeating the boss, as in Red 777 or most (all?) of sock's maps.

And on that same topic, it would have been nice to have a mix of easy and hard secrets. There are some areas that require some exploration to reach and really could have been marked as secrets, but as it is, there are only three marked secrets. At least one of them (the first) seems attainable only by sheer luck, as I cannot see any way of logically figuring it out – which kind of takes away the fun in finding it. The other two I can see but have not figured out (yet). If anyone else has, please post the solution, but may I suggest encoding it using e.g. ROT-13 so as to avoid spoiling the map for others?

Oh, and in contrast to FifthElephant and dBAudio, although I also used to find Flying Polyps annoying, I have grown to like them a lot; I think mainly because I love their sounds. They were really hard to fight en masse in Red 777, but here it is not too hard to provoke infighting with the horde of Death Knights.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 3 23 June 2018, 13:16

I remember liking this a lot more 10 years ago, my patience for DBS fests has gone down since then.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in