Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of could
Author:R.P.G.
Title:And All That Could Have Been
Download:could.zip (eb907b888bf0a1a508e19213572b7a71)
Filesize:964 Kilobytes
Release date:02.09.2003
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceRetroquakeTronyn's Top 10: BaseUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
couldNightmare0h05m40sArcaneFiend6662020-02-21
Full completion of the map.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
could.txt5 KB02.09.2003
could.bsp2464 KB02.09.2003

could.zip

And All That Could Have Been

Large, professionally built industrial map using Speedbase textures. Great brushwork and gameplay.

Tags: base, large, industrial, speedbase, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating:
4.6/5 with 55 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Aen 8 October 2010, 23:46
Excellent!
Spirit Registered 22 September 2012, 23:57
Fun in coop.
FifthElephant Guest 2 April 2013, 2:20

This is a great map! Lovely textures, great gameplay, really cool secrets!

boink182 Guest 4 January 2014, 19:15

mmf, dat brown base. very nice.

MikeTaylor Registered 6 January 2014, 15:05

Superb build quality, but loses a point for the gameplay being a bit uninspired: follow corridor, shoot baddies, ride elevator, shoot baddies, repeat till dead. It's not bad gameplay by a long way, just not as good as the excellent architecture demands.

AAS Registered 10 April 2014, 8:30

5 stars, but I want to use all the cells from enforcers' backpacks and there is no lightning gun!

necros Registered 26 April 2014, 3:43

amazing build quality but can be quite difficult.

Atzuras Guest 27 June 2017, 1:44

Nice, some areas are quite remarcable and well connected to the flow, but maybe there are too many corridors with boring grunts and so. The final massacre area is really interesting but It would be better with the full weaponry set and free refills. And as many grenades as the ogres have. 4/5.

Greenwood Registered 26 January 2020, 0:19

Awesome map. Not sure why some are complaining about grunts in a Base map or shooting in a FPS. That's kind of where they are supposed to be!

This is one of the best vanilla Base maps out there.

The Silent Registered 12 March 2020, 13:40

Unbelievable. Go play it.

triple_agent Registered 3 August 2021, 21:51

Should the credits include "Nine Inch Nails" for the map name inspiration? "NIN", has some pretty good song names.

Anyway, "And All That Could Have Been" is a very solid, classic style, base-themed map with a clear-to-read architecture and likewise gameplay progress. The clockwork of world-machine, is done decently. The combat flow, on top of all things, is nice - there are no overwhelming challenges, but the challenge, is still there; that, is a proper approach, in my opinion, especially on the "Normal" difficulty level.

Owing to the age of map release or to the author himself, "And All That Could Have Been", is a map that knows moderation, which is a merit.

vertigo Registered 12 July 2022, 5:05

This map is one of my favorites in terms of visuals. It's detailing, while arguably being too dense in parts, is phenomenal. I love the variety of visual elements as well, it's exciting going into a new room because you don't know what you'll find. The computer room with the first fiend is a personal favorite.

I feel like this map is the antithesis of czg's 'Ceremonial Circles' in that rather than focusing almost exclusively on gameplay it puts a massive focus on visuals. That's not to say the gameplay isn't without it's merits but rather that the carrot on the end of stick is getting to see a new beautifully designed room rather than blowing apart masses of monsters. This map would still be well worth playing with all monsters removed.

The texturing is a highlight. I'm not familiar with the speedbase texture set but I loved the use of vanilla textures in creating brand new ones. It reminds me a lot of Doom's patch and texture system.

This is a wonderful map and I recommend it to everyone.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in