Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of critters
Author:Jim Lowell
Title:Critters
Download:critters.zip (0e12fefd303213097c97d20c668640d0)
Filesize:492 Kilobytes
Release date:17.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's PlaylistSPQ Level Heaven
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
CRITTERS.3DT848 KB17.11.1996
CRITTERS.BSP1042 KB17.11.1996
CRITTERS.TXT3 KB17.11.1996

critters.zip - Critters

About medium sized Metal map. Map source is included (Thred format).

Tags: metal, medium, source

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
negke, rated this a 3 20 August 2010, 15:21
The first custom map I've played. Seemed very impressive back then. The first room still looks good, the rest is average at best.
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 20 February 2014, 23:52

i liked a lot of the brushwork. the gameplay was good, but shorter than i expected.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 21 February 2014, 23:27

I thought it was fun! You can watch me play it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cScfE0i5C48

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 17 June 2014, 11:05

This is a really strange mix. A lot of the architecture is really nice, and far ahead of its time back in 1996. But the very sparse monster placements and crazy generous provision of health, armour, ammo and specials make it just absurdly easy. If only the author had added four times as many monsters.

Also: I can't find the exit. I've killed everything and I have the silver key, but find the door that it opens. Anyone remember where it is?

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 17 June 2014, 14:54

Yea, the exit is in a very odd place. Watch my playthrough and I do eventually find it but it's in a very strange place. It's above that long stretch of a bridge with the water and ogres.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 4 12 August 2014, 19:37

This map has nice visuals and some pretty good combat. I liked the traps too, that one with ogres jumping out of water was really amusing to me. I also like the sense of scale in this map, there are large wide open areas. The best thing about it IMO is how nonlinear it is. It's yours to explore. The only major flaw I can think of is that there are no secrets. Still, it's worth a play.

Noxat Registered, rated this a 2 4 August 2015, 20:51

A neat metallic level with an otherworldly look and feel, unfortunately it was just too short and, aside from a clever monster trap, lacking much action.

kewlsnake Registered, rated this a 4 12 December 2015, 22:11

Too many ogres for my taste. There was a very memorable part where there where a bunch of ogres that jumped out of the water on a bridge to attack you. I also thought it was cool that the level wrapped around and you have a sight of the starting area.

I played this after checking out House of Desolution!

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 7 July 2016, 3:18

A relatively basic map, but I had fun playing it. It features an inventive bridge and an inventive monster trap, and together they raise my rating from a 3 to a 4.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 1 July 2017, 16:24

Apart from the amazing first room, some of the other rooms had some cool ideas but felt unfinished when it comes to brushwork. They were quite large, but plain. I'm guessing Lowell ran out of motivation to put as much effort on the finishing touches on them.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in