Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of czg01
Author:czg
Title:Research facility
Download:czg01.zip (9bbf22774d2717676099518b4d1290ac)
Filesize:1039 Kilobytes
Release date:21.06.1999
Homepage:
Additional Links: TEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✘ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
czg01.txt4 KB21.06.1999
czg01.bsp2436 KB21.06.1999

czg01.zip - Research facility

Large idbase map with a derelict underground part and two outdoor areas.

Tags: base, medium, large

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
peterf Guest 7 October 2013, 0:49

i dont know how to finish it .. iam stuck ..

peterf Guest 7 October 2013, 0:57

nevermind - i found the tunnel ... good level ... 5*

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 25 December 2013, 22:27

Visually, this map ranges from excellent to poor (including some really ugly visual bugs towards the end), but it has great atmosphere, immersive location and a sense of exploration. The dilapidated areas in particular are wonderful.

I mostly agree with the TEAMShambler review (linked on the left), although the large empty areas mentioned in that review do not bother me at all, as they create a sense of realism and tension which would have been spoilt by monsters at every turn.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 11 March 2014, 3:55

I enjoyed this one, I'm not sure what exactly they're researching at this place but I have a video for it here: Research Facility on The Quake Grave

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 11 March 2014, 22:49

As ugly as a badger, but still plays well after all this time. As Icantthinkofaname said, immersive location is the key here. czg would of course go on to much better things, including Ceremonial Circles and Insomnia, but this map carries the promise of those classics.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 4 July 2014, 16:25

On replaying, I sort of wish I could up my score from 3* to 4*. What makes the map work, despite the big, ugly, over-lit and under-populated outdoor areas, is the wrecked areas. Finding the way across to the other side of the bridge that's fallen into lava, and getting to the other side of the jammed door, and very satisfying.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 5 13 August 2014, 1:02

I actually really loved this level. CZG went from a 2/5 to a 5/5 in one release (in my opinion at least). I'm pretty sure it was inspired by Half-Life, it seems rather similar to Black Mesa. I usually am not much of a fan of base levels (there's only so much you can do with just grunts, enforcers and doges) but this one is my favourite (that I've played so far).

It starts off with some standard base affair (except looking a bit better than usual). Then when you go outside, you eventually uncover a cavern area. There's a bit of annoying jumping here, but it's a very atmospheric and cinematic area of the level. It then goes into a bit more action, which is pretty fun. I quite like most of the enemy placement, but there are some rooms that are just kinda stuffed with enemies. Visually, I don't really have many complaints, apart from some blocky deserts and a few HOM's.

I definitely recommend this to everybody.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 7 February 2017, 4:01

It's a shame about the visual bugs - I wonder what the cause is/was.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 30 January 2018, 15:25

Loved the map, felt like half life 2 episode 1 (i think) with the plataforming.

The outdoors areas could use some more monsters, but it felt like it was telling a story, like the officer got ripped apart by the fiends, so you get the key to escape.

Would rate a 5 if I didn't glitched me in one part, had to use the noclip. The secrets were all based in the same concept, hidden in hard to reach crates.

Maybe throw a secret in the outdoor area with some spawning monsters would do the trick for me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in