Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of czg02
Author:czg
Title:Memento Mori
Download:czg02.zip (b9d9aef167dfc236cdf26ba6971b758b)
Filesize:1201 Kilobytes
Release date:17.12.1999
Homepage:
Additional Links: Ethereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
CZG02.bsp2698 KB17.12.1999
rc4.txt5 KB17.12.1999

czg02.zip - Memento Mori

A well made, pretty huge and nicely balanced medieval level. Somewhat confusing from time to time though.

Tags: medieval, big, outdoor, large, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Fr3n Registered, rated this a 4 18 November 2012, 21:58
Hard to believe this one broke so many limits back in '99
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 25 December 2013, 23:27

Very nice. I found it quite tough and it was indeed confusing from time to time, as the editorial description states, but still wonderful overall.

The healing pool that deals negative damage is probably a clever idea, but in practice I found it a little annoying.

Highly recommended.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 4 July 2014, 14:34

A very promising early effort from czg, who would go to become probably my favourite mapper: Ceremonial Circles, Insomnia and Honey are all absolute classics. Some of that czg magic is visible here, though it was yet to reach full bloom.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 10 December 2014, 23:03

Some of the combat is pretty fun, and the map looks nice visually. It is rather confusing due to not telling you what any buttons do, and sometimes it does irritating things like spawning a shambler directly behind you on a narrow bridge (and there's nothing in front of you) or spawning a vore right in front of your face. The area where two fiends jump at you the instant you get out of the water is also pretty annoying. If you can deal with things like this, I suppose it's worth a try.

Rimster Registered, rated this a 4 8 May 2016, 4:56

I don't think it's confusing, and I would go further to say that the direction in the map is excellent. it gives you your objectives early on and a slight branching of paths that gives a small sense of exploration. Now its hardly perfect and the out of water fiends were cruel the first time, but it is absolutely enjoyable next to modern maps in it's game play.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in