Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of czgtoxic
Author:czg
Title:Biotoxin
Download:czgtoxic.zip (9f3b9f69df51fde67998ca6955cf0ef1)
Filesize:549 Kilobytes
Release date:03.04.2001
Homepage:
Additional Links: TEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
czgtoxic.bsp1471 KB03.04.2001
czgtoxic.txt1 KB03.04.2001

czgtoxic.zip

Biotoxin

czg's entry for the second 100brush contest: a small industrial map with Quake2 textures.

Tags: base, 100b, contest, small, q2base, industrial

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating:
4.5/5 with 47 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Spirit 20 November 2011, 12:49
Amazing. How can this be just 100 brushes. Great atmosphere and gameplay.
indstr Registered 17 September 2013, 20:03

Short level, I beat it in about 10 minutes, but it was a lot of fun while it lasted!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 26 December 2013, 0:10

Even if you ignore the limitations under which this was made, this is a great little map. Gameplay is well balanced and monster placement is effective and feels natural. Progression is clear without feeling forced and makes perfect sense in context: yes, you have to find and press buttons, but they all serve a narrative purpose.

The roof texture as you enter is strangely low-res and sadly (yet in this instance understandably) there are no secrets. Overall this lacks the impact of some more epic releases, but it is – barring the lack of secrets – a near-perfect example of what a small map should be.

NightFright Registered 8 March 2014, 13:09

Thanks to its great texturing, this feels a lot like a Quake 2 map playable with Quake monsters and weapons. Unlocking those access levels which release new waves of enemies is fun. Backtracking is avoided as much as possible, balancing is well done, gameflow is perfect. Maybe it's a bit short, but this way it feels like a compact, focussed and straight-forward experience. Thumbs up!

MikeTaylor Registered 10 March 2014, 23:00

A truly astonishing experience, and surely the best 100-brush map of all time. (I know it won the 100b competition it was in, but to me it seems head and shoulders above the winners of the other 100b competitions, too.) Feels absolutely solid.

Bloughsburgh Registered 25 August 2016, 12:11

Incredible what was done with the limitations at play. Perfect flow and nice to look at to boot!

brunomiwa Registered 30 December 2017, 14:15

fun to play. Maybe throw in some secrets to encourage exploration?

Rhoq Registered 4 June 2018, 16:43

Very cool. Short and sweet design. Solid theme/atmosphere.

Solomoriah Registered 23 September 2018, 23:13

Lovely architecture, interesting fights, enjoyed it all. Short and sweet.

onetruepurple Registered 23 June 2019, 21:15

Unpopular opinion: brushwork aside, this is not the world's most remarkable map.

Zi Guest 24 June 2019, 17:56

Love otps new self.

nxanthos Registered 15 May 2020, 19:48

Fun map. Doesn't take long to play through. 10 minutes or so. If only there were a few secrets! Definitely worth playing.

vertigo Registered 12 July 2022, 3:13

This is a solid small map. I really appreciated and enjoyed the vertical structure and how quickly you unlock access to the next area, it was sort of like reading a short story with a lot of chapters.

The texturing was on point as is the brushwork. I didn't know it was a 100 brush contest entry until I came here to write this review which shows the map is well crafted.

My only gripes are the lack of secrets and the fact I got a bit confused on where to go after unlocking level 5 access. My getting lost may have been due to the fact that I had to save and quit right after flipping the switch and pick up the session later but I feel like it could have been signposted a bit better on that top floor.

If you've got ~5 minutes to spare playing through Biotoxin is one of the better ways to spend that time.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in