Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of darkfst
Author:Reichert
Title:Dark Forest
Download:darkfst.zip (c82003f297eb33203fd56f4cc63eb80c)
Filesize:1152 Kilobytes
Release date:13.01.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
DARKFST.BSP2764 KB17.12.1996
DARKFST.TXT3 KB13.01.1997

darkfst.zip - Dark Forest

Medium sized dark forest with some castle bits. OK.

Tags: medium, forest, castle, dark, traps, trees, outdoor, swamp, textures

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.7/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 28 December 2012, 0:12
Fun if you get tired of the usual maps, because of the theme.
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 18 January 2014, 20:18

Very unique and atmospheric. The two grunts near the start were out of place and the ending was a little anticlimactic, but other than that, you can't really fault this map.

Gameplay is a little simplistic, but I think it goes hand in hand with the theme and the great atmosphere.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 20 January 2014, 12:36

Competent but tedious. All the schlepping back and forth after the gold and silver keys was particularly ho-hum. Apart from the novelty of the setting itself, no surprises at all. Sorry.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 22 February 2014, 1:46

love the idea, but: i had to stay on the path for the map to function correctly. the fiends were stuck in the ceiling. i use the reQuiem engine these days. haven't tried any others. the key searching was a little tedious. but i guess that's what happens when lost in the woods.

i loved the atmosphere. if it were built a bit more like the forest map from 'the demon king' (https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/tdk11.html) it'd be much more enjoyable for me. 3 plus.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 24 March 2014, 4:47

I thought this map did a lot of cool things for a custom map back in 1997. Watch me play it here: Dark Forest on The Quake Grave

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 12 July 2014, 23:57

Thank you, dBAudio, your comment really helped me (the fiends were stuck for me too, in regular winquake).

The map is pretty original and unusual, but this mistake with fiends, and a bit rough design and gameplay won't let me to give more than 3/5. It just could be done better.
And why water in the swamp does hurt the player? This is illogical.

jackieben Registered, rated this a 3 13 July 2014, 6:22

A short map with great ideas (traps, forest setting) and atmosphere, and with a simplicistic design

Tip: Shoot the two floating Fiends above the area where supposed to be a key (at least they float in my QuakeSpasm)

delor Guest 14 November 2014, 19:16

VEEERY NICE !

This is the style of mapping I like: wide, open spaced, imaginative theme !

delor Guest 14 November 2014, 19:17

Is the author Tobias Reichert or another Reichert ?

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 2 25 September 2016, 10:08

Visually, this map ranges from passable to creative. It's a pretty good attempt at a "forest" environment that works within the limitations of the engine, and small highlights of detail almost make it feel like a more modern creation. Sadly, for as good as this map looks for its time, it really doesn't play well. Glitches aside, the layout of the level lends itself to boring, repetitive play and long stretches spent walking from essentially one end of the map to the other in search of keys or trying to connect said keys to a door.

Attempts to repopulate the map are few and far between, with the most interesting being the addition of some zombies towards the end of the map. In other cases, it seems content to simply reintroduce the same enemies as before, which is rather disappointing.

bfg666 Registered 25 September 2016, 10:21

Oh man, first time I saw the zip title my brain read "darkfist"... xD I might play this at some point but judging by the comms, I'm in no rush.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 22 November 2016, 1:06

The concept is really cool, but the gameplay is so-so. There are a few insta-death traps that are really irritating and collectively killed my enjoyment of this map. In particular, there's one trap in which an invisible force pushes the player toward a guillotine. There's no warning this will happen and no way to avoid being decapitated except luck.

There's also only one secret, which occurs early in the map and is relatively easy to discover. Given the surreal setting, the lack of secrets is a missed opportunity.

There are two points at which fiends leap out of the shadows and attack the player; these IMO are the only legitimately thrilling moments in the map.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 22 November 2016, 1:11

FWIW I played this in Winquake and had no problem with the fiends being stuck in place.

whirlstr Registered, rated this a 1 23 September 2018, 0:49

Boring gameplay, extensive backtracking, unmarked key doors, illusionary instant death traps, enemies stuck in the ceiling... Pretty much everything that could be done wrong was done wrong. The bridge / boat section was a little impressive though.

pmk Guest 6 December 2018, 1:36

interesting concept for a quake map that has a unique forest setting with interesting traps that has not been seen in other quake maps such as the gullentine and rising spike trap. However there are also certain things which were not well implemented such as the fiend ambush before grabbing the gold key as the enemies seem to float in the air. I also found much of the backtracking within the map to be tedious as well and the architecture of the woods to be too simply built. I would give this quake map a three out of rating and would rate this map as being average as well.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in