Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of decree
Author:Jim Ahara
Title:Devil's Decree
Download:decree.zip (d8b0456d44440c356e6ddbd602ca3895)
Filesize:555 Kilobytes
Release date:10.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's QualitySPQ Level Heaven
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
decree.bsp1256 KB10.11.1996
DECREE.TXT3 KB10.11.1996

decree.zip - Devil's Decree

Smallish map with mixed texture themes. Includes a chapel and stairs, and blue bricks.

Tags: small, metal, mixtex, blue, traps

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.8/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Bobby 20 December 2010, 23:33
cool but hard lol
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 23 November 2013, 15:56

Quite good for its time. Be prepared for some unexpected ambushes.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 16 June 2014, 1:23

This level may cause butthurt if you don't do quicksaves... Anyway, not bad map, brushwork a bit simple, gameplay is good enough. Also, there is nice 666 logo.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 22 November 2016, 2:00

The architecture is decent, although the mixed textures feel somewhat incoherent. The combat is stimulating, with a few decent ambushes. The secrets are good. Overall, this is impressive for a 1996 map: it's not as polished or as well-crafted as the id maps, but it doesn't have any glaring flaws either, and it's fun to play. 3+

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 26 July 2017, 9:19

I liked this map, very good in 1996 terms. If it were done today, I'd rate it 3/5, but for its time, I'd give it 4/5.

I especially liked the looks of the chapel and the atmosphere of the catacombs. The button hunting part there reminded me quite a bit of E4M6.

After reading about the ambushes in the previous reviews, I took a super careful approach, almost sneaking at every turn, which ended up squishing me by an ambush door. Seems I just couldn't help it; couldn't beat the map without dying on my first try. xD

I'd say the secrets weren't anything special, but they were placed in an appropriate part of the map. Didn't find them on my first playthrough, but went hunting for them on my second try on easy skill (which didn't affect monster count, btw).

pmk Guest 21 October 2018, 6:27

Enjoyed this level and its elder world theme. The map has great combat and interesting locations for the player to traverse through such as the blue courtyard with the quake one symbol, and the haunting cathedral. There are plenty of demons to fight as well as the monster count for the level is high for 1996 quake map. I would give this map a three out of five rating and would recommend others to play this map as it is well constructed and memorable.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in