Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of deso
Author:Jim Lowell
Title:House of Desolution
Download:deso.zip (f6dd095aabef00a57738716d2dd778e6)
Filesize:373 Kilobytes
Release date:05.08.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sSPQ Level Heaven
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
DESO.BSP863 KB05.08.1996
DESO.TXT3 KB05.08.1996

deso.zip - House of Desolution

Small medieval building with a lava area. OK.

Tags: medieval, lava, small

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.2/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 23 November 2013, 15:58

Unexpected brushwork for its time.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 21 February 2014, 23:29

I had fun with this map once I figured out what was wrong with my quake setup. You can watch my video for it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a0N42bY1Ptg

FacilisDK Registered, rated this a 4 15 April 2014, 14:18

Well designed and quite enjoyable. I only found 3 secrets.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 4 12 August 2014, 19:28

I quite enjoyed this short map. It had some nice combat and traps. The layout was pretty cool as well, I especially liked the bridge area for its connectivity. The only part I didn't like was when you go up an elevator and get two ogres right in your face. Not very pleasant. The visuals were alright as well, nothing too special but definitely not bad. I know it's a minor detail, but I found that boat ride pretty fun. :) Anyway, I recommend you try this map.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 3 3 January 2015, 23:22

Pretty good for a 1996 map. There's some alright combat and some cool tricks in there, though there are a handful of flaws. There's a really annoying lava trap and a lift that leads you directly into the face of an ogre, and you have to wait for a boat to go back and forth once when you get the gold key (although the boat is pretty cool). It's got some really cool secrets too (I found them all). 3/5

kewlsnake Registered, rated this a 4 12 December 2015, 21:57

Thank you for this level. It was fun to figure out the enemy layout. The most memorable part was the boat in the lava.

NewHouse Registered, rated this a 3 22 May 2016, 18:50

Even though it was quite linear, golden key was placed surprisingly well - I almost got lost, but map didn't have much places to look around so it was quite logical in the end. My scores will be for this weak 3/5, because I'm not sure will I end up try it again.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 7 August 2016, 19:56

I originally didn't enjoy this, but after playing it a second time I appreciate it much more. I like the Gloom Keep architecture in the first part of the level, and the secrets are well-placed.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 6 November 2016, 14:03

I liked this map. I especially loved the first part (before opening the silver key door) with its atmospheric lighting and architecture.

The secret placement was quite clever as well. For example, the Ring of Shadows was in quite an appropriate place for its name. ;)

The only thing to nitpick about the map was waiting for the boat to come back after picking up the gold key.

Noxat Registered, rated this a 3 17 January 2017, 21:00

Short, decent map with some clever secrets and nice architecture.

Carrascado Registered, rated this a 3 20 January 2017, 22:57

This is actually a good map! Maybe the first one that is really enjoyable in the archive. The map has small size but it's well textured, with good use of lights and enemies.

It has some ambushes, traps, secrets and more vanilla stuff that is well done.

Special mention to the little boat trip to the golden key, pretty nice for a 1996 map.

pmk Guest 7 October 2018, 5:13

nice small 1996 quake and is the first in the quaddicted archive that is worth playing. Nice lightening and combat provided within the map and although it is a short map it is worth playing for its clever secrets.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in