Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dis_sp6
Author:distrans
Title:Ruined Nation
Download:dis_sp6.zip (57169eedd6692060406057ca026b83ae)
Filesize:8910 Kilobytes
Release date:19.05.2008
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityTronyn's Top 10: BaseUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
maps/dis_sp6.bsp8163 KB18.05.2008
maps/dis_sp6.lit1841 KB18.05.2008
sound/ambient/dis/clop.wav117 KB28.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/outside01.wav163 KB10.02.2008
sound/ambient/dis/alarm1.wav345 KB26.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/groaner1.wav430 KB25.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/creak08.wav260 KB17.03.2008
sound/ambient/dis/metalhit07.wav171 KB17.03.2008
sound/ambient/dis/telecount.wav163 KB10.02.2008
sound/ambient/dis/sagen4.wav189 KB23.09.2007
sound/ambient/dis/rumble2.wav65 KB23.09.2007
sound/ambient/dis/badoor3.wav66 KB01.07.2004
sound/ambient/dis/open1.wav62 KB23.09.2007
sound/ambient/dis/bridnmo.wav58 KB24.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/badoor.wav7 KB10.02.2008
sound/ambient/dis/stodrone.wav228 KB25.09.2007
sound/ambient/dis/steamblast01.wav100 KB17.03.2008
sound/ambient/dis/slimey.wav389 KB31.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/waste.wav1072 KB31.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/creep_03.wav90 KB25.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/turkey.wav173 KB03.02.2008
sound/ambient/dis/amb_mac1.wav879 KB25.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/macloop3.wav70 KB31.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/open2.wav62 KB25.09.2007
sound/ambient/dis/techlp2.wav52 KB25.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/badoor2.wav44 KB10.02.2008
sound/ambient/dis/vent1.wav151 KB27.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/machina2.wav213 KB27.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/techlp3.wav34 KB25.01.2008
sound/ambient/dis/machina1.wav308 KB25.01.2008
dis_sp6.txt7 KB19.05.2008

dis_sp6.zip - Ruined Nation

Medium-sized base map using Doom 3 textures. It comes with a number of custom ambient sounds and features hard combat.

Note: This map requires Quoth.


Tags: doom3, quoth, details, sounds, hard, metal, dark, scary, sinister, medium, mustplay, base

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 24 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 19 February 2010, 15:44
Scariest Quake map I've ever played. It can get frustrating, especially at the beginning if you don't look for new weapons, but it's still awesome and enjoyable!
gb, rated this a 5 8 April 2010, 0:05
awesome map, difficulty too high.
Spirit, rated this a 5 8 April 2010, 15:33
Very hard and very cool. I wish you could drop in the original textures from Doom3 for extra eye candy.
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 8 April 2010, 21:19
Best attempt yet at bringing Doom 3 into quake. Ruined Nation 2, anybody?
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 8 April 2010, 21:19
very good must download
Evil Andrey 21 September 2010, 14:00
Nothing scary. Only very difficult. Face to face shambler with boomstick is normal in this map.
Qmaster, rated this a 5 21 December 2010, 16:50
Wierd and totally unexpected at every turn. Awesome textures and a very neat stylistic level! I had to replay this a couple times, it was a lot of fun. 5/5
Uncle Dark 10 May 2011, 10:07
I'm playing quake for a long time... I've never seem a map like this. Very well done work of textures. Using the mhglqr8 engine this map is very funny, better than the Darkplaces! Unfortunately it doens't work in Joequake and Ezquake. No more critics to this. It really captures the Doom 3 atmosphere!
Denizen Guest 3 November 2012, 23:40
Loved the great atmosphere... this alone makes me want to play it over and over
FifthElephant Guest 31 December 2012, 0:08
Looks pretty but the damn thing is way too hard. I managed to get to the slime cave area twice in about 15 attempts. 3/5
mfx Registered, rated this a 4 31 May 2013, 16:16

This looks so awesome, but its way to hard. What a shame.

boink182 Guest 4 January 2014, 3:00

this is very unique visually (for quake) and the gameplay isn't as hard as people say, though it isn't really that great either. it never really finds a rhythm, and there aren't really any memorable encounters. it's not terrible however, and the visuals and atmosphere go a long way to make up for it and keep you interested. the flashlight is a nice touch too. i would actually like to see more of this.

QuakeForever Registered, rated this a 5 18 February 2014, 7:50

Probably best Doom 3 emulation map for Quake. The gameplay is tough but I didn't find it that ridiculous plus you can drop the skill if necessary.

ptoing Registered, rated this a 3 23 August 2015, 17:19

Looks great, but difficulty is weird. Way too easy on easy, pretty hard on normal, did not even try hard.

Still a very solid map overall.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 5 19 September 2016, 10:45

A very intense map that proves quite challenging on normal. I really enjoyed how the map built up tension by kitting you up without any enemies in the immediate area at one point, it really had me on the edge of my seat as I wondered "what could possibly happen that means i'm getting a SSG and LG now of all times?

I died a lot playing this map, as well. The heavy use of defenders and their devastating shotgun attack meant that I was often starved of health, so much so that a surprise dog attack managed to kill me at one point. Still, with a careful and measured approach it's fairly easy to conquer the various encounters with tougher enemies such as those, turning what could have been a point of frustration into a sense of accomplishment at most points.

And oh my, the brushwork! This map is jam-packed with detail. Heavy use of clip brushes allows the author to fill the wall spaces with intricate texture and pipework, creating a playspace that feels busy and claustrophobic while remaining entirely playable. Such attention to detail changes nothing about how the map plays, but it makes a huge difference to how it feels and has a significant influence over how the player feels as they come away from the level at the end.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 4 23 June 2018, 12:47

A+ atmosphere thanks to the sounds. This map has probably turned off dozens of people off Quoth because of its "innovative" skill balancing though.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in