Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dwellv1p2
Author:AlekswithaK, Danz, Fairweather, Greenwood, h4724, JCR, khreathor, Markie Music, Mazu, Pinchy, PoolboyQ, VoidForce
Title:Dwell - Episode 1 (Version 1.2)
Download:dwellv1p2.zip (8e6295f4da425a3b96e8c7ada01743c2)
Filesize:124676 Kilobytes
Release date:07.10.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Additional screenshotsFunc_MsgboardTrailer
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
README_dwellv1p2.txt4 KB07.10.2020
gfx/conback.lmp63 KB26.09.2020
gfx/env/ame_nebula/ame_nebula.shader1 KB15.01.2009
gfx/env/ame_nebula/ame_nebula_bk.tga769 KB13.03.2002
gfx/env/ame_nebula/ame_nebula_dn.tga769 KB13.03.2002
gfx/env/ame_nebula/ame_nebula_ft.tga769 KB13.03.2002
gfx/env/ame_nebula/ame_nebula_lf.tga769 KB13.03.2002
gfx/env/ame_nebula/ame_nebula_rt.tga769 KB13.03.2002
gfx/env/ame_nebula/ame_nebula_up.tga769 KB13.03.2002
gfx/env/ame_nebula/readme1 KB14.01.2009
gfx/env/black_bk.tga13 KB07.10.2012
gfx/env/black_dn.tga13 KB07.10.2012
gfx/env/black_ft.tga13 KB07.10.2012
gfx/env/black_lf.tga13 KB07.10.2012
gfx/env/black_rt.tga13 KB07.10.2012
gfx/env/black_up.tga13 KB07.10.2012
gfx/env/moonrise_bk.tga3073 KB14.05.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_dn.tga3073 KB14.05.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_ft.tga3073 KB14.05.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_lf.tga3073 KB14.05.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_rt.tga3073 KB14.05.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_up.tga3073 KB14.05.2015
gfx/env/ozymandias_bk.tga769 KB06.07.2020
gfx/env/ozymandias_dn.tga769 KB06.07.2020
gfx/env/ozymandias_ft.tga769 KB06.07.2020
gfx/env/ozymandias_lf.tga769 KB06.07.2020
gfx/env/ozymandias_rt.tga769 KB06.07.2020
gfx/env/ozymandias_up.tga769 KB06.07.2020
gfx/env/sahara_bk.tga577 KB11.11.2017
gfx/env/sahara_dn.tga736 KB11.11.2017
gfx/env/sahara_ft.tga614 KB11.11.2017
gfx/env/sahara_lf.tga616 KB11.11.2017
gfx/env/sahara_rt.tga591 KB11.11.2017
gfx/env/sahara_up.tga361 KB11.11.2017
maps/d1m1.bsp5796 KB01.10.2020
maps/d1m1.lit2696 KB30.09.2020
maps/d1m2.bsp9158 KB28.09.2020
maps/d1m2.lit2316 KB28.09.2020
maps/d1m3.bsp14919 KB29.09.2020
maps/d1m3.lit4804 KB29.09.2020
maps/d1m4.bsp2590 KB05.10.2020
maps/d1m4.lit1562 KB05.10.2020
maps/d1m5.bsp2912 KB07.10.2020
maps/d1m5.lit1454 KB07.10.2020
maps/d1m6.bsp6693 KB05.10.2020
maps/d1m6.lit2661 KB05.10.2020
maps/d1m7.bsp9358 KB06.10.2020
maps/d1m7.lit4285 KB06.10.2020
maps/d1m8.bsp9357 KB04.10.2020
maps/d1m8.lit4097 KB04.10.2020
maps/d1m9.bsp20962 KB03.10.2020
maps/d1m9.lit5833 KB03.10.2020
maps/start.bsp5713 KB04.10.2020
maps/start.lit2317 KB04.10.2020
music/Track107.ogg5892 KB16.09.2020
music/track02.ogg1491 KB01.10.2020
music/track03.ogg1932 KB24.09.2020
music/track100.ogg2784 KB01.10.2020
music/track101.ogg6917 KB26.08.2020
music/track102.ogg5115 KB31.08.2020
music/track103.ogg5894 KB06.09.2020
music/track104.ogg5371 KB02.09.2020
music/track105.ogg5576 KB15.09.2020
music/track108.ogg5954 KB21.09.2020
music/track109.ogg5048 KB22.09.2020
music/track192.ogg2203 KB23.09.2020
pak0.pak3480 KB01.10.2020
progs.dat552 KB01.10.2020
progs/b_bh25.bsp9 KB11.06.2020
progs/boss_egypt.mdl789 KB02.10.2020
progs/dead_tree.mdl263 KB08.07.2020
progs/end1.mdl30 KB20.09.2020
progs/h_zombie.mdl8 KB27.09.2020
progs/item_keys_runes.qc10 KB19.09.2020
progs/lain_gkey.mdl360 KB26.08.2020
progs/misc_amonstatue.mdl89 KB20.09.2020
progs/misc_amonstatue_void.mdl89 KB20.09.2020
progs/misc_horusbird.mdl69 KB31.08.2020
progs/misc_player.mdl550 KB20.11.2019
progs/misc_smoke.mdl32 KB01.07.2020
progs/misc_tutstatue.mdl175 KB02.01.2018
progs/misc_tutstatue_void.mdl52 KB20.09.2020
progs/mon_gargoyle.mdl380 KB20.11.2019
progs/mon_tarbaby.mdl500 KB20.11.2019
progs/morph_az.mdl294 KB20.09.2020
progs/morph_eg.mdl789 KB02.10.2020
progs/morph_gr.mdl294 KB20.09.2020
progs/s_spike.mdl3 KB01.10.2020
progs/scarab_key.mdl42 KB20.09.2020
progs/v_light.mdl22 KB01.10.2020
progs/v_nail.mdl47 KB01.10.2020
progs/v_nail2.mdl48 KB01.10.2020
progs/v_rock.mdl37 KB01.10.2020
progs/v_rock2.mdl39 KB01.10.2020
progs/v_shot.mdl43 KB01.10.2020
progs/v_shot2.mdl22 KB01.10.2020
progs/zombie.mdl283 KB25.09.2020
quake.rc2 KB22.07.2020
sound/ambience/dronerumble1.wav224 KB28.09.2020
sound/ambience/electric1.wav145 KB28.09.2020
sound/ambience/engineroom1.wav218 KB28.09.2020
sound/doors/egypttry.wav20 KB19.09.2020
sound/doors/egyptuse.wav22 KB19.09.2020
sound/guard/death.wav130 KB01.10.2020
sound/guard/pain1.wav33 KB01.10.2020
sound/guard/see1.wav54 KB01.10.2020
sound/jcrsounds/bigbreak1.wav426 KB19.08.2020
sound/jcrsounds/biggestreveal.wav132 KB03.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/bigsplash1.wav591 KB19.08.2020
sound/jcrsounds/breath1.wav217 KB02.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/coconut.wav224 KB04.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/death.wav27 KB03.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/dpain1.wav7 KB03.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/finalscream.wav143 KB31.08.2020
sound/jcrsounds/flow1.wav52 KB17.07.2018
sound/jcrsounds/flow2.wav305 KB05.08.2018
sound/jcrsounds/gibbust1.wav23 KB29.08.2020
sound/jcrsounds/heartbeat.wav69 KB02.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/monsterbubble.wav1562 KB31.08.2020
sound/jcrsounds/monstergrunt1.wav126 KB25.08.2020
sound/jcrsounds/monstergurgle.wav427 KB06.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/monsterscream1.wav77 KB19.08.2020
sound/jcrsounds/oomph.wav17 KB19.08.2020
sound/jcrsounds/poop.wav22 KB29.04.2019
sound/jcrsounds/rock_impact.wav90 KB02.01.2018
sound/jcrsounds/rumble.wav104 KB13.08.2018
sound/jcrsounds/sight.wav26 KB03.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/song.wav294 KB05.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/ssight.wav16 KB03.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/windoutdoor.wav206 KB02.09.2020
sound/jcrsounds/woodbreak1.wav83 KB02.01.2018
sound/lain/buzz1.wav269 KB01.10.2020
sound/lain/darkchoir.wav34 KB05.07.2017
sound/lain/fl_hum1.wav216 KB30.09.2020
sound/lain/wind2.wav56 KB30.09.2020
sound/markie/roar1.wav130 KB24.09.2020
sound/markie/roar2.wav76 KB24.09.2020
sound/markie/roar3.wav108 KB24.09.2020
sound/markie/rumble.wav104 KB01.07.2015
sound/misc/coin.wav212 KB06.09.2020
sound/misc/menu1.wav8 KB01.10.2020
sound/misc/menu2.wav14 KB01.10.2020
sound/misc/scarabkey.wav31 KB20.09.2020
sound/pbq/coin.wav212 KB06.09.2020
sound/sound/lain/buzz1.wav269 KB01.10.2020
src/d1m1.map3116 KB06.10.2020
src/d1m1_readme.txt3 KB01.10.2020
src/d1m2.map4466 KB06.10.2020
src/d1m2_readme.txt2 KB28.09.2020
src/d1m3.map8104 KB29.09.2020
src/d1m3_readme.txt2 KB01.10.2020
src/d1m4.map2255 KB05.10.2020
src/d1m5.map1381 KB07.10.2020
src/d1m5_readme.txt3 KB01.10.2020
src/d1m6.map7707 KB05.10.2020
src/d1m7.map7214 KB06.10.2020
src/d1m7_readme.txt3 KB06.10.2020
src/d1m8.map5670 KB04.10.2020
src/d1m8_readme.txt3 KB01.10.2020
src/d1m9.map15450 KB02.10.2020
src/light.log2 KB05.10.2020
src/start.map2831 KB04.10.2020
src/vis.log1 KB05.10.2020

dwellv1p2.zip

Dwell - Episode 1 (Version 1.2)

First episode of a four-episode project: nine medium to large Egyptian-themed levels including a start map. They are based on the Copper mod (included) and feature new monsters, weapons, sounds, skyboxes and custom music tracks. The map sources are included.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: egypt, copper, textures, hard, void, secrets, exploration, episode, campain, models, blood, coop, flesh, music, skybox, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 61 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 12 October 2020, 2:08

An excellent episode. First of all, it's great to have a third episode for the Copper mod, a mod for which my appreciation is deepening the more I play it. This is probably the best of the three to my taste (though all of them are great). It's definitely more consistent between maps in terms of style compared to Realm of the Lost (which would have near-AD levels of detail in one map followed by something closer to id) and also has a clear narrative with its Egyptian ruin theme that gradually becomes more fleshy and otherworldly, with the last couple of maps being messy hellish void levels. It also gets pretty hard toward the end but I'm not complaining. Great stuff, and the promise of three more episodes to follow is exciting.

Ryewee Guest 16 October 2020, 16:01

"nine medium to large Egyptian-themed levels including a start map" There appears to be no start map. -game dwell does nothing. I can access each map individually d1m1 etc but not base map.

fairweather Registered, rated this a 5 16 October 2020, 17:31

Hi Ryewee, you've not installed the game correctly. It needs to be a seperate folder from your ID1 directory, but you've installed it on top it seems. Install it next to the directory, and type "game dwell", hit "tab" to autocomplete to the patch version and then hit Enter.

Ryewee Guest 17 October 2020, 17:12

Hi fairweather, thanx! I probably did install it incorrectly. So I reinstalled it where you suggested but it didn't solve the problem straight away. It seems that it did not work when it was named "dwell" but renaming it to "dwellv1p2" fixed the problem.

Mugwump Registered 20 October 2020, 0:35

Oh hey, my palm tree from sm194 is in there, pictured in all its glory for eternity (or at least until Quake is forgotten)! ;p How coincidental that this comes out now, just when I've started making my first egyptian map barely a few weeks ago.

Chaser Registered, rated this a 5 23 October 2020, 18:33

easy 5/5 for me. Even though it's a bit hard on the gameplay edges, I cant give it any other score than max for all the stuff that's made right in this episode.

Map design, graphics, colors, overall tone, and that OST - it had fun exploring from start to finish.

Real Guest 24 October 2020, 14:05

Excellent set of maps, I've only played a few so far but have been blown away. Love the music too, thanks for creating this.

OleBumma Registered, rated this a 5 25 October 2020, 2:00

I've been very satisfied with this episode. Very playful, not a frustrating game at all, kinda testing at times, amazing design. I really enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to see episode 2 being released! It's a project worth to keep working on.

Gila Registered, rated this a 5 6 November 2020, 13:17

Great pack! Amazing work all around, thanks to all who created this. I agree with funcmsgboard post by StroggSothoth that episode has "a sort of Dissolution of Eternity meets Zerstorer" feel to it, mixing egyptian themes with 'evil' and organic/meat stuff.

This release actually feels like a cohesive episode, since the themes mostly flow from one another level to level, though maps might seem to have different amount of 'eyecandy' or detail - for example d1m6 might seem 'overdetailed' compared to, say, d1m2. The included ambient music is also very good and adds to the atmosphere.

At first I started this on Hard and it was a bit much, so I dropped to Normal and it felt very comfy. Waiting for the following episodes, wondering what new themes (or variants) will they bring!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 November 2020, 18:42

There's ever such a lot to love about this, so that it would be ridiculous not to give it the full five stars. But I do lament that it ended with such a ridiculous arena fight. I had a couple of goes at doing it legitimately, but in the end just gave up and god-moded to get through it. I don't regret it: even with that done, I nearly ran out of the necessary ammo to kill the Big Bad. Such a disappointing way to end what had up to that been the best level of the pack — which is really saying something.

JP 2 December 2020, 17:28

One of the best big-box releases for Quake of the modern mapping scene.

It's got dark, oppressive atmosphere coming out the wazoo.

The custom soundtrack is spot-on, and, because it's the same artist, helps to bring together the levels as one cohesive set.

It's got a proper boss fight, with brilliant custom models (not to be sniffed at - to often the new models look a little janky compared to the originals.)

Yes, it's hard - the final boss fight even more so - but that's what difficulty levels are for. It just goes slightly further than the AD difficulty curve, I think. So easy on Dwell is somewhere between Normal and Hard on original Quake. Normal somewhere between Hard and Nightmare, etc.

The way the aesthetic descends from egyptian temples to hybrid eqypt/flesh horror and then into hellraiser void temple territory is possibly my favourite thing about the episode - possibly the most cohesive visual journey of any quake episode, original or modded, that I've played.

Can't wait for the second Episode.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

dwere 3 December 2020, 11:37

So you get out of those rectangular corridors and face the glorious portal to another world. You go through it. What do you see? Is there suspense? Is there awe?

Nope, just monsters throwing things at you in the Challenging Quake Map #3443.

I'm sure the rest of the episode is great, but can we at least pretend that dimensional travel is still exciting?


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

kerick 4 December 2020, 5:26

No doubt the best episode released for Quake, bar none. The cosmic horror element is fantastic, slowly creeping in underneath the veneer of a typical Egyptian theme (Hinted at in the start map).

The maps are all beautifully detailed and scripted, progressively getting more difficult as they go on all culminating in my favorite map in the pack, the final one.

Other standouts are levels 2, 4 and 7. 7 in particular had an insane feeling, nothing like I've played in Quake before. Felt more like a Half Life Xen map somehow invaded by Quake monsters.

It's hard, like proper difficult. I haven't played much in Quake that has really challenged me like this, and it's good to see something that isn't afraid to maybe alienate people for that sake (Dark Souls comes to mind XD).

The music is pretty decent too, sometimes veering into the realm of cheesy (level 2 and 3 themes) but mostly in-keeping with the style of the original OST with it's own flavor.

I can't wait for more, hope we see updates soon.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

drdefault 31 December 2020, 12:38

Loved this episode although I didn't make it to the end. Here are some thoughts on the individual levels. Into the Mvoid: Despite using a lot of standard textures, it didn't have a Quake atmosphere at all - more Half-Life "aliens in a lab" vibe. The architecture was clean, smooth, readable. A tidy and enjoyable level that flowed easily, with a fresh, simple look. Duet with Duat: A visual treat. Small and medium-sized pyramids and high platforms offered new shooting angles and grenade bounces. The pacing is great - once the high platforms are reached the level transforms into an arena combat. Coloured light recalls Unreal's Nali temples, but the prettiest spot was a gorgeously-textured beige and silver underground hall. Combat was perfectly calibrated with numerous 1HP moments. A cheerful, memorable level, with nice music too. Under A Funeral Moon: The brilliant final fight was built up to by a long and beautiful indoor section: stone decorations, columns, steps, all contributing to a weighty Egyptian dungeon feel. Then there was calm moment in the desert night, before a pacy, drawn-out yet exciting combat making good use of modern regenerating enemies and ammo, in a subtle open U-shaped space. I shouted and swore a lot, but made it through first time. Only problem with this level is that I was able to run through the whole first part. Otherwise, excellent. Arrivee de L'Etranger: A conventional medieval dungeon with tall stone chambers, effective water interludes and strong vertical combats against opponents on high platforms and niches. I thought the final combat and also the disgusting but innovative genocidal interlude (involving shooting dozens of teleported-in grunts) both lacked some difficulty. That Which Can Eternal Lie: Despite the massive and gorgeous stonework, this level is actually structured around a small, tight spiral ascent, throwing in ever tougher encounters on it and in surrounding chambers. The balance is perfect. I was pushed to switch strategies and lead enemies into infighting or weaker locations. Ingeniously, the craziness of the resource- and kill-rich side-chambers is gated off from the rigorous, tactical, spatial combat in the central ring. Really impressive visual and game design. Into The Flayed: A traditional interconnected, medium-scale map with ferociously skilled brushwork. Complex detailing gave areas a rich identity. Fun and fairly varied combats and monster mixes, but less dramatic than earlier levels. Darkstar Triumvirate: This level pushes the envelope of what environments we can expect in Quake with a visionary tombs and tentacles in space aesthetic. I really appreciated the boldness and also the conveniences like well-placed teleports. However I found the heavily-scripted flow to be too much and lost patience. All in all, a great dose of fun. I can't agree with JP that it was cohesive though.... Even though the textures and themes are similar, the individual mappers' styles were quite distinct - which is fine!


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

whatisquake Registered, rated this a 4 12 March 2021, 5:46

Really cool architecture, especially maps 4 and 7. I did miss the part where the path branches and got lost in map 7, and ran out of ammo a little too often. I also didn't care for for the end boss, it took so long I wasn't sure anything was happening. I am very happy to see that more episodes are planned.

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 5 6 May 2021, 17:58

Beautiful set of maps and a good challenge on skill 2, including health and ammo management! Very much enjoyed the entire episode as well as the contributions from Markie Music.

Not at all a fan of the pretty much unbeatable hoard at the end. It's a decent end, it's just much too much.

Thanks for a great episode. I can't wait for the next!

triple_agent Registered 5 June 2021, 14:41

Does anybody know the correct spellings for sound effect folders and files, minding uppercase and lowercase letters - since apparently because of this issue, the sound effects, do not load properly on case-sensitive systems? I would like to play this map but it is a loss if I do it without all proper soundscape. Exemplary cases requiring fix, basing on early levels:

jcrsounds/monsterscream1.wav markie/rumble.wav misc/coin.wav ambience/engineroom1.wav

I can fix it for myself, just give me the proper spelling.

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 11 July 2021, 23:19

My fav along with AD. THANK you very much for investing your time into creation of this masterpiece. Felt totally pro & it is pro

malu Registered, rated this a 5 12 July 2021, 2:49

I should have played this before arcane dimensions (I played AD to soon and was too overwhelmed by it to fully enjoy and appreciate it)

This was a absolutely PERFECT episode. Great maps and great level design/architecture - superb enemy positions/encounters! I had so much fun playing this, outstanding!

I did not found all secrets, but the one I found were a lot of fun and felt rewarding.

5/5 please give us the second episode!

Prepare yourself for the last boss fight tho, this nut is hard to crack.

stoo Registered, rated this a 3 17 July 2021, 1:59

Get through the entire episode on NM only to be cockblocked at the end by a ludicrously OTT fight? Not fun.

Throughout the EP I was scraping by, often with single-digit health and low ammo, playing smart, encouraging in-fighting, shotgun sniping, running away, etc. All the usual tricks.

None of that mattered in the end.

I would have given this 5/5 if the final fight had been remotely fair. I understand it's NM mode, but seriously; I had 200HP, a ton of armor, loads of ammo and there was just no way I could avoid the absolute fuckton of projectiles. God mode to the finish line.

The main episode is 5/5. The final battle is 1/5. Averaged to 3.

aquinas_nz Registered, rated this a 5 31 August 2021, 1:36

Awesome :) Runs great on the Remastered edition too, except for the secret level which had a few seconds lag on saving for some reason (awesome level though, hi Coconut!) and as the episode I went on I noticed a lot of the creatures (particularly Vores and some Deathknights) would be periodically transparent - possibly some conflict with the fog graphics in the Remastered edition. Not a big issue.

5/5

Cpt.Gonzo Registered, rated this a 5 13 September 2021, 20:00

Had so much fun playing it. The last map was so big and awesome and the last horde fight blew my mind and got me sweating. Great work. Thank you very much.

aoanla Guest 8 October 2021, 11:21

Despite my reservations given its reputation, Dwell at skill 0 is a hard, but mostly fair experience. There's mostly lovely level design and architecture (map 2 sort of reminds me a little of Serious Sam, as well as of DoE).

Where the maps fall down is in the occasional over-done horde combat (also a Serious Sam thing...), where even in skill 0, it's a bit much.

The penultimate map's "flesh-under-stone" motif (which I thought was effective throughout, and made for a still functional level architecture) unfortunately is replaced by a more aesthetically interesting "space flesh tentacles meets Xen" final map. Which looks amazing (and getting those organic shapes in the Quake engine is impressive)... but is sadly far too annoying to play, even with the "helpful" teleport on falling. Apparently there's a horde combat at the end, but I honestly couldn't be bothered with the jumping after a while, so I wouldn't know.

Oh, and the OST is amazing, so well done to the composer, too.

aoanla Guest 8 October 2021, 22:36

Addendum to last comment: the map I thought was the last (with the aesthetically interesting but annoying gameplay-wise Xen design) is the second last level. The interminable wave-based horde combat is in the last level, which, like every other level by Mazu I have ever seen is... really awesome, design wise, and simultaneously both far too hard and also far too long gameplay wise. (I hear this sequence is getting revised for the next Dwell release, which is all to the good.)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in