Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dwroae_m3a
Author:DeeDoubleU
Title:Root of all Evil: Infernal Science (Part 1)
Download:dwroae_m3a.zip (b6ac4670af5444969d5a3efba6bf8699)
Filesize:5437 Kilobytes
Release date:20.02.2016
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
dwroae_m3a.bsp9609 KB20.02.2016
dwroae_m3a.lit4479 KB20.02.2016
dwroae_m3a.txt2 KB20.02.2016

dwroae_m3a.zip - Root of all Evil: Infernal Science (Part 1)

Large underground research facility. Part 2 is available here.

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: large, base, ikbase, traps, secrets, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
rampancy Registered, rated this a 5 11 April 2016, 4:38

dw, i really loved playing this map. i thought the ammo balance was pretty perfect. i ran out once in the room with the 3 teleporters, and had to go back and find some secrets, but that was my fault.

the level was a little mazey, but i never felt lost and didnt mind the back tracking since this was the nicest looking quake military base i have played through in a long time, if ever. i really appreciated that the whole thing wasnt just tan color. i hope other authors will be inspired to make more texturally diverse bases.

i also hope you will have the time to complete some more maps in the series, bc this was a blast for me to play. hopefully tomorrow i will get to dive into part 2.

personally i think this was damn near perfect. 5/5

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 14 April 2016, 14:13

I did enjoy this, but found myself spending rather too much time hitting buttons, then wandering around trying to figure out what had changed. I didn't find many of the secrets -- just 7 of 18 -- but the ones I found were mostly pretty satisfying. But it was frustrating to have found the Gold Key and then to have nothing to use it on. Evidently I missed a lot of important stuff, because when I reached the (slightly anticlimactic) ending, I had only 194 of the 220 available kills (on Hard). It would be great to see a secrets guide some time.

Anyway, I am looking forward to part 2.

. Guest 14 April 2016, 16:03

Mike

https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/dwroae_m3b.html

Have fun!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 27 July 2016, 4:00

This really is a fine-looking base map, with lots of detail brushwork and a great mix of stock and custom textures. There are lots of neat touches like machinery with glowing animated electric pulses, breakable screens, and computer terminals all over the place. The way the base is progressively "invaded" by the hellish presence as the player progresses reminds me of Doom maps where Hell spills over into the Martian techbase. It also gives the map a meaningful sense of progression.

Unfortunately the map ended up being a bit mazey after a few buttons were pushed. You pretty much have to remember exactly where a few locked doors are so that when you push the button to open them you don't get lost; only one of them is the way forward and the rest are just goodies, which is confusing.

Gameplay was tough and never boring, with tight ammo on skill 2.

4/5 due to my niggle about the doors, and since the follow-up is even better.

FredBezies Registered, rated this a 3 10 August 2016, 17:20

Too mazy and too big for me. I prefer smaller maps, even if it is enjoyable on some parts.

The Silent Registered, rated this a 5 21 November 2016, 16:27

Great, great stuff!!! Sprawling, dangerous, breakable and chock full of fun secrets. Just the way I like them! Spent 90 minutes on 1st run and still have some 4/5 secrets to find. A decise departure from stock base maps, a good thing. Awesome!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 3 May 2017, 12:31

Is there in fact a gold-key door somewhere? I've been all over the map looking for it without success. Since the GK is the only reward in one of the secrets, it would seem very mean not to have a way to use it!

(Also: how to get into the room with the SNG?)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in