Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of dwroae_m3b
Author:DeeDoubleU
Title:Root of all Evil: Infernal Science (Part 2)
Download:dwroae_m3b.zip (93e652c57856f9d8273fd0cff3c8861f)
Filesize:3777 Kilobytes
Release date:10.03.2016
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
dwroae_m3b.bsp7067 KB10.03.2016
dwroae_m3b.lit2947 KB10.03.2016
dwroae_m3b.txt2 KB10.03.2016

dwroae_m3b.zip - Root of all Evil: Infernal Science (Part 2)

Second part of Root of all Evil. A large underground research facility.

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: large, base, ikbase, traps, secrets, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ru Guest 13 March 2016, 23:44

It seems that with darkplaces the first blue armor doesn't appear in the very beginning of the game (near 3 red laser beams). The Quakespasms works ok.

popup Guest 14 March 2016, 22:43

how do you lounch this ?

DeeDoubleU Registered 15 March 2016, 0:03

It is tested with Quakespasm, try this launch parameters -zone 2048 -heapsize 192000

ru Guest 15 March 2016, 19:12

darkplaces.exe -width 1680 -height 1050 -zone 2048 -heapsize 192000 +map dwroaem3b <p><img src="http://escobar.ru/fileadmin/quake/dwroaem3bnoblue_armor.jpg" alt="no blue armor" title="Title" /></p>

ru Guest 15 March 2016, 19:12

no blue armor

ru Guest 15 March 2016, 19:14

And that is the latest (summer 2014) version of darkplaces :(

fr33kSh0w2012 Guest 16 March 2016, 1:32

People are still playing this? I'm IMPRESSED

rampancy Guest, rated this a 4 10 April 2016, 12:27

dw, i really loved playing this map. i thought the ammo balance was pretty perfect. i ran out once in the room with the 3 teleporters, and had to go back and find some secrets, but that was my fault.

the level was a little mazey, but i never felt lost and didnt mind the back tracking since this was the nicest looking quake military base i have played through in a long time, if ever. i really approciated that the whole thing wasnt just tan color. i hope other authors will be inspired to make more texturally diverse bases.

i also hope you will have the time to complete some more maps in the series, bc this was a blast for me to play. hopefully tomorrow i will get to dive into part 2.

personally i think this was easily a 9/10.

rampancy Guest, rated this a 4 10 April 2016, 12:29

argh... my review was ment for part one, hopefully spirit can fix my error.

rampancy Guest, rated this a 4 10 April 2016, 12:33

argh... my review was ment for part one, hopefully spirit can fix my error.

Burns Guest 10 April 2016, 13:27

<p>https://naveegator.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/burnsplaque.png</p>

Burns Guest 10 April 2016, 13:28

<p><img src="https://naveegator.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/burnsplaque.png" alt="alt text" title="test" /></p>

Burns Guest 10 April 2016, 13:41

<p><img src="https://i.imgur.com/UpdYkVI.jpg" alt="no blue armor" title="Title"></p>

rampancy Registered, rated this a 4 11 April 2016, 4:32

dw, something i noticed... if the player has over 50 armor, they cant spring the trap at the beginning of the level and proceed. after running around hitting all the walls with my axe, i realized that was probably what was happening and stood on a couple grenades. sure enough, as soon as i picked up the armor, things happened. maybe change the armor to red armor, or some other pickup type, so as to avoid this little problem.

rampancy Registered, rated this a 4 11 April 2016, 6:38

ok i finished the level, and it was pretty and fun. highlights were riding the platform and the giant boom in the crate room. that couldve been a bigger battle considering how neat an entrance the monster made, and how cool the effect was. the map was just over quick, after playing part a i was surprised to see the end so soon. i wouldnt have minded more time in the caves. still, very nice.

Doc_Holliday Registered 5 July 2016, 12:03

Nice atmosphere...so wanted more of this

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 27 July 2016, 4:07

Great follow-up to part 1, with none of part 1's progression issues. Somewhat Doom-like in atmosphere (not gameplay). Ammo is well-balanced on skill 2 and the fights are plenty of fun. Taken together these maps make a worthy journey. I hope there's a Part 3.

The Silent Registered, rated this a 4 21 November 2016, 16:23

Great map, strong sense of place with amazing brushwork&texturing. Ending's a bit anticlimaxing, but I suppose we'll have to wait episode's completion to judge that. One major flaw: coming from dwroae_m3a, I was loaded up on red armour, only to find out that I wasn't able to get any further without shooting myself in the foot. Maybe a different kind of pickup would be advisable to trigger the ambush and open the doors. Man, those Red Armours are hard to earn!!!

Nice job. Getting back in tonight to finish secrets hunt.

bfg666 Registered 21 November 2016, 16:38

[quote]Maybe a different kind of pickup would be advisable to trigger the ambush and open the doors.[/quote] Or better yet, how about NOT adding triggers to pickups AT ALL? I don't know how some mappers think it could ever be a good idea...

bfg666 Registered 21 November 2016, 16:44

Fucking Markdown! This shit is really confusing: the other day I made a post with Markdown tags at Func_Msgboard and now it's the other way around! As if having two different systems (html/bbcode) wasn't bad enough, now someone had to introduce a third one... Thank you very much.

/rant over

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 5 May 2017, 17:06

Enjoyable, but a bit disappointing after the fairly epic exploration of part A.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in