Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of eoe
Author:Bal, Fairweather, FifthElephant, Greenwood, JCR, JPal, Markie Music, Nolcoz, Rhoq, ZungryWare
Title:Epochs of Enmity
Download:eoe.zip (9104251563bc0ba6778b6e638c414d66)
Filesize:93293 Kilobytes
Release date:21.10.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardQuaddicted forumTrailer
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
eoe/eoe.pdf114 KB21.10.2020
eoe/eoe.txt2 KB19.10.2020
eoe/pak0.pak226950 KB21.10.2020

eoe.zip

Epochs of Enmity

Episode with 10 around medium-sized levels plus small start/end/credits maps in various themes, including bases, temples, citadels, towns and dungeons. The goal was to create an "unofficial 6th episode" similar to DOPA. The levels are based on the Progs_dump mod (included) and feature some additional content like models, skyboxes and custom music tracks (in OGG format).

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.
A hotfix for a progression stopper on eoe7 (only occurs on easy skill) is available here.


Tags: episode, medium, base, cave, swamp, dungeon, medieval, town, castle, citadel, temple, metal, runic, lava, bricks, industrial, knave, textures, progs_dump, sounds, models, skybox, music, start, boss, limits, bsp2

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 46 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 24 October 2020, 17:24

Great episode. I found the first few maps underwhelming at first because they were too easy even in Nightmare, but as you will see things escalate quickly especially when it comes to the final encounters of a few even numbered maps (and the grand finale in Terrorcota). I'll certainly revisit the episode in a while to hunt for secrets.

h4724 Registered, rated this a 4 24 October 2020, 18:24

It's a good episode. Some of the maps are a lot better than others (4, 6 and 9 are my favourites; proper 5/5s,) but they're all well-made. I'd recommend playing from a shotgun start since they mostly seem to be balanced around that and can get pretty easy if you're playing with armour and weapons from previous maps. Size/length is pretty consistently "medium," and every map has at least one quad run.

I found that in general the gameplay was very enjoyable with lots of surprises, and some inventive secrets. Layouts varied, but I never got lost. Visuals are a little better than id1 in some cases and absolutely beautiful in others. Only so many ways for me to recommend this; just play it.

Chaser Registered, rated this a 4 24 October 2020, 19:19

This episode has a very retro feel ti it. Like it a lot. Depressing ambient music is also on point with original Quake vibe.

bw Guest 24 October 2020, 22:33

Some 100%s on eoem6 and eoem8:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2nHHNugDqE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CWdZG1d1RU

Hal Registered, rated this a 4 25 October 2020, 11:37

A good selection of maps, but like h4724 said it doesn't work as continuous episode. Most of the maps are really easy when you start with 100 rockets and 100 lightning from the previous map.

The final climactic encounter in EOEM8 drops you in the shit with a few dozen monsters and it expects you to run /away/ through a whole sequence to access the quad to then go back and kill all of them. But I had already killed every single one with my 100 rockets so when I finally got to the quad, there were literally no more monsters on the map and I jumped through the portal with a wasted quad. The entire pack is really, really easy if you don't do shotguns starts (right up until the final boss of course, that is hard no matter what you have.)

Mazu Registered, rated this a 5 25 October 2020, 15:30

It is a great set of levels. Shotgun starting maps and trying to get a good time while aiming for 100% completion is fun. I'm in process of doing some decent runs of EoE.

Classic design of most maps are great, but Markie kinda steals the show at the end with his insane creation. There are some really cool secrets in couple of the levels, won't spoil them, but it is worthwhile to look around a bit.

Gila Registered, rated this a 5 1 November 2020, 15:57

It's nice to see more releases appearing with their own music tracks, like Dwell1, Raven Keep, and Tears of the False God (AD1.8) released recently and also SMEJ that was released last year. The included dark ambient music tracks are a great addition to atmosphere and are quite refreshing compared to the original Quake music, though great and all, but long time 'overplayed'.

This pack is less of an episode but more of a jam where instead of start hub the maps go in certain order, since it does lack a bit of continuity, unlike the description-referenced DOPA, which felt more cohesive.

EOE maps are all fun, some more, some less, depending on what style and visuals one might favor. They are somewhat of a mix of retro/id1 and more modern styles, though of course leaning towards the latter. It also feels they were sort of designed for a shotgun start maybe? Some of them were a bit easy, considering carryover weapons/ammo from previous levels.

The last map of course is cherry on top of already awesome pack.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 12 November 2020, 12:29

Other than "Dwell" which had been released around the same time, this one isn't too hard. There are some enjoyable encounters involving Quads, Pentagrams and tons of enemies. If the game spams you with mobs, it stays fair at least - you just need to kill fast enough. Locations are also very interesting. One of the must-plays of 2020 for any Quaker IMHO.

Escalate_krsk Registered, rated this a 5 18 November 2020, 17:10

Completed the episode and... wonderful, guys! I accept this mod as "unnoficial sixth episode" of Quake! Gameplay and feel is UNIQUE, and that's why.

  • Some maps resemble memorable vanilla Quake's maps... situations, traps, overall feel... It does what DOPA's final map did: brings the feeling of nostalgia, why being a thing on its own. Penultimate map especially made me recall Door to Chthon. The goal was to do it "the way Id did it", and it's a success.

  • Monsters and weapons are all vanilla, with notable - and glorious - exception of final boss, named Ythogaru. He is a reskin of Chthon, but fits well with the game and provides a good conclusion (unlike DOPA).

  • Despite vanilla feel, the mod incorporated modern "Quake mod features": 1) It has tough combat with horde battles (especially on later levels) a la Tronyn's best work. 2) It has wonderful world-building reminiscent of Arcane Dimensions/

OVERALL, a must-play. 5/5. Feels good, plays good, looks good. Along with recent Raven Keep, this is an essential 2020 Quake release.

Marian Registered, rated this a 4 25 November 2020, 0:17

Epochs of Enmity is a love letter to Quake 1. It consists of 10 levels with varying quality. Some of them are blocky (imitating original Q1 levels), and some of them are almost of "Arcane Dimensions" quality. Final level is absolutely 5/5 stars with a proper and challenging grand finale (where you will die a few times - it's a little bit unfair there). Overall gameplay is good, there are some interesting ideas presented here and there. If this was released 20 years ago, it would have been a legendary map pack. Today, next to the Arcane Dimensions, it is "only" a very good episode. I give it 4 stars. But hey, thank you all!

JMP, rated this a 5 2 January 2021, 2:24

Really enjoyed this episode. I agree with Gioyo3aa that the early maps are too easy, but after that the episode gains some serious momentum. Rhoq's map is my favorite, with its complex and intricate layout. I also liked Nolcoz's map: the architecture is generally boxy and gameplay isn't the best, but like all his previous maps, it's very creative and interesting.

Thanks to Greenwood and everyone else involved for putting this togethe


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Vasya shkolnik 21 January 2021, 21:59

Add tag #unreal98rocktexture plea


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 1 March 2021, 15:43

In The Augur's Mold (eoem4), I go through the silver door and a sort of anteroom into a darkish chamber with two big doors, one on either side, each with windows to the left and right. Behind one is an obvious secret. But I can't figure out at all how to get through the second. What am I missing?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 1 March 2021, 15:47

I caved, and found it by noclipping. There's an underwater passage near the corners of the room opposite the secret.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 4 March 2021, 15:52

What's the simplest way to force a shotgun start? I thought kill would do, but it just restarted me with the same equipment I had when I entered the level.

Then I thought, OK, just getting killed by monsters Should do it. But no, same thing.

This is with QuakeSpasm 0.93.2, BTW.

h4724 Registered, rated this a 4 4 March 2021, 18:23

(re)loading the map through the console will force a shotgun start. I don't know if there's another way to do it.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 9 March 2021, 23:08

Oh yes, of course: map eoem9 — thanks!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 9 March 2021, 23:11

Well, I finished this, but I didn't love it like most people seem to. The first few levels felt very bare-bones and 1990s, and by the time things started to get more interesting, I was too powerful for there to me much challenge. If I play this again, I will follow the advice of several commenters above, and reset to a shotgun start on each level.

The last level, Terrorcotta, is by far the best, and I would recommend anyone to play that one even if they skip the rest of the pack (map eoem9). Save frequently, and not over the same slot repeatedly — keep half a dozen slots in rotation, because you may make decisions that you regret after having saved! The final battle is crazy hard, but it did leave me with a huge sense of achievement when I finally completed it.

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 5 16 April 2021, 19:47

I really enjoyed this episode. It starts out slow, but as you progress the maps get harder and harder and consequently more enjoyable.

It's a great tribute to classic Quake in many ways with good tension and atmosphere and music to match.

Thank you to everyone who contributed!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in