Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of fmb4
Author:Mike Woodham
Title:For My Babies 4
Download:fmb4.zip (05ab0c5224c92061465aa726037577e3)
Filesize:755 Kilobytes
Release date:05.10.1998
Homepage:http://www.mikewoodham.com/
Additional Links: TEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
fmb4.txt4 KB05.10.1998
fmb4.bsp1682 KB05.10.1998

fmb4.zip - For My Babies 4

Huge green swampy map.

Tags: traps

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 2.4/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
hkBattousai, rated this a 2 18 June 2012, 7:32
I hated your pointless traps.
The purpose of this game is entertaining the user, not trying to kill him whatever measures to be used.
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 17 July 2014, 16:32

If anything this seems to be a regression after fmb3 -- parts of the level are OK, but much of it is blocky to look at and there is an awful sequence with an excruciatingly slow-moving platform that conveys the player around a lava-filled cavern while various beasts attack.

PlayingThroughTheArchive Guest 10 February 2019, 19:49

Out of ammo because I can't use my nails. There is no nailgun that I can find. Excruciating.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 4 10 February 2019, 22:44

Wow, a lot of hate for an actually fairly decent level. Visually it's not impressive by modern standards, but I found the gameplay engaging. Yeah, there are traps galore, but how is that different from most good Quake levels? And as for that slow platform... kill a few of the beasts before you get on the ride, and it's a lot easier.

PTTA, not sure what you're talking about. There's a nailgun very near the starting point, behind some bars; a secret teleporter hidden around a dark corner at the end of a dark hallway gets you to the ledge where the button is (where the ogre attacks you when you cross the first bridge). Then you just backtrack to the start area, which isn't that far, and get the nailgun. Easy peasy.

Found three of four secrets. The last one I found is an Egyptian tomb with zombies, and the teleporter out of that area seems broken. I used a cheat to get back where I entered that zone and went on from there, but that's the only real bug I found.

PlayingThroughTheArchive Guest 11 February 2019, 21:19

Heh, that's funny. I actually pressed the button but had no idea where the bars were.

I think this is a decent map, but my perception of it is mediated by the fact that I had to axe my way through the last third and skip the final fight altogether. I should have looked for that nail gun more closely after pressing the button. When I needed the nail gun later, I had already forgotten about the bars and the button. :/

Anyway, this is a case of a secret that is pretty much required in order to progress, which is arguably not ideal.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in