Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of fmb6
Author:Mike Woodham
Title:For My Babies 6
Download:fmb6.zip (1a79ee0a257b34078b3ef8c7d9f27936)
Filesize:1513 Kilobytes
Release date:22.11.1999
Homepage:http://www.mikewoodham.com
Additional Links: Ethereal HellTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
fmb6.bsp3382 KB06.11.1999
fmb6.txt5 KB22.11.1999

fmb6.zip - For My Babies 6

Medium sized Metal map with some base monsters and a Base generator room. Nice.

Tags: metal

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 24 July 2014, 15:30

Continuing my trawl through the FMB series, I was surprised to see how slowly they're developing: there is not that much difference, really, between the quality of this and the original fmb. I would have to classify this map as "passes the time painlessly enough", but there's nothing about it that really invites repeated plays. 3/5* is about right because it's prettier than the earlier maps.

Spirit Registered 24 July 2014, 17:41

You are aware that those are built from scraps of other mappers? I have no idea how much additional work Mike put into them, but from what I know the main stuff is from others.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 24 July 2014, 21:55

No, I didn't reaiise that. Makes it all the more astonishing how utterly brilliant fmb_bdg2 is.

Spirit Registered 24 July 2014, 23:02

Hm, now I am actually not sure. I thought they all were, but check the readme files or his site.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 5 November 2014, 20:42

Nice, well-balanced and fun, with ample visual variety and satisfying secrets, one of which is wonderfully elaborate.

There are two gameplay flaws, though (neither of which detract too much from the overall experience): the lift that takes you back from the generator area cannot be activated if you jumped down without using said lift, as the mechanism itself blocks the switch – which means that you are forever stuck unless you cheat to get back up. And the final monster is very easily avoided – so easily, in fact, that I avoided it by accident when I exited the map.

Overall, worth your time. 3 plus.

Doc_Holliday Registered 11 June 2016, 9:49

Had to noclip out of the water at start...

Repus Guest 22 October 2017, 13:14

I completely agree with MikeTaylor! The level design improved, but some important things remained the same. For instance, instead of stepping on a slab over lava trough a silver key door you can just jump on that slab from the same slab almost two steps away. That means you don't have to play the area with the silver key.

This level overall is still more of a time killer

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in