Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of fort_driant
Author:JPL
Title:Fort Driant
Download:fort_driant.zip (e0a4a9ba27480f069ff14f0beddacf1e)
Filesize:16348 Kilobytes
Release date:06.03.2009
Homepage:http://lambert.jeanphilippe.free.fr/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
maps/fort_driant.lit2929 KB06.03.2009
maps/fort_driant.txt8 KB06.03.2009
maps/fort_driant.bsp18327 KB06.03.2009
sound/ambience/jpl/clop.wav117 KB17.10.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/groaner.wav443 KB16.10.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/tornado_jet.wav1113 KB14.12.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/bigmachine_loop_02.wav91 KB06.12.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/laundromat02.wav62 KB06.12.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/bigfire_loop.wav261 KB06.12.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/airpipe2.wav503 KB06.12.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/bigmachine_stop_02.wav355 KB06.12.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/airpipe1.wav193 KB26.07.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/stodrone.wav228 KB16.10.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/slimey.wav389 KB15.10.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/macloop3.wav70 KB31.01.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/shaft.wav177 KB16.10.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/amb_war_loop.wav4921 KB06.12.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/machina3.wav123 KB17.10.2008
sound/ambience/jpl/machina1.wav308 KB26.01.2008
gfx/env/dragonheart_lf.tga628 KB16.11.2002
gfx/env/dragonheart_bk.tga623 KB16.11.2002
gfx/env/dragonheart_up.tga342 KB16.11.2002
gfx/env/dragonheart_rt.tga662 KB16.11.2002
gfx/env/dragonheart_ft.tga717 KB15.11.2002
gfx/env/dragonheart_dn.tga771 KB16.11.2002

fort_driant.zip - Fort Driant

A huge military base (Half-Life/Doom style) with a reactor you have to disable. It might run slow for you, in that case try fort_driant-fullvis.zip.

You should use a decent engine like Fitzquake.


Tags: base, bunker, reactor, quoth, hard, sounds, skybox, large

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
sb306, rated this a 4 6 May 2010, 5:55
Level is tough on hard. Alot of fun though. Im still working on it ;-)
gb 13 May 2010, 3:30
Very cramped, lots of monsters. It's different from the usual Quake levels, and that makes it fun. The reactor is pretty cool. Next time send a helicopter to pick me up, JPL - there was a heli landing pad so that was what I expected.

Too cramped in the bunker part though, too many dark little tunnels for my taste... hence only 4 stars.
Zed 5 July 2010, 22:57
I couldn't shake the feeling this map would have been more suitable for something like Quake 2 and its enemy set, though I suppose part of what makes it interesting is how different it is from your usual Q1 map.

The reactor was cool and the last few minutes were exciting, but I honestly just didn't find the rest of the map all that fun to play through. Enemies and battles were kind of monotonous, and gameplay mostly consisted of slogging through hallways and trying to figure out where to go next. 4/5
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 19 June 2012, 8:21
I was very hard, and very difficult to solve. I have to admit that I couldn't find the switch to stop the laser which was blocking the switch to access the elevator; I cheated there.
And also, why is the reactor on lava? Reactors are critical buildings which has to be kept cool all the time. Making a reactor on lava does not make any sense. Maybe it was a geothermal reactor?
Anyway, the map is just great. Very detailed, I see that you put a lot of afford in it. I can give anything less than 5 stars to it. Thanks a lot.
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 2 December 2014, 12:32

I, too, couldn't switch off the laser guards protecting the elevator button. In the end, I just jumped through, sacrificed some health but survived. I assume there's a better way.

Right now, I am stuck. I took the elevator down to the platform just above the lava (which I think is where the screenshot is taken from). I pressed the switches at both ends of the platform, but as far as I can tell the only result was to open up the rocket-launcher secret. Where now? I can't see a path forwards.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 2 December 2014, 13:00

Oh, I got it. There's another button on the object just behind you as you stand on the lava platform. When you press it, it says "door upstairs is open", and away you go. I missed it before because the reskinned buttons look so much like scenery. (I am not generally a huge fan of reskinning,)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 3 December 2014, 13:07

Well, that was tough. I played on hard, and was very pleased with myself in the end for finishing with all 353 kills -- though only 5 of 14 secrets. I imagine finding some more of those secrets would have made things a lot easier: in particular, I never found the lightning gun, which I could really have used for the final battle with all the gugs, shamblers and nail-droid things.

Once I'd made it past the regulation very difficult opening, I really enjoyed the sense of exploration in the main body of the map. After that, the brutality of the final combat came as a real shock, and it took me something like 15 attempts before I finally beat it.

All in all, I think this is my favourite of JPL's maps so far (the other strong candidate being Cheyenne Mountain Complex). With only Gateway to Hell left to go, will it retain that position? Anyway, I score this 4/5 because parts are just a bit too frustrating to award the full five stars. But very well worth playing.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 3 December 2014, 16:09

Oh, one more thing: Tronyn's review mentions "a detailed crane with a really cool nailgun secret". I never got that nailgun. Can anyone tell me how it's done?

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 3 August 2016, 0:18

This is actually one of the top base maps for me. There are a lot of touches, like the tanks in the starting area, and the well-proportioned bunks and bathrooms behind the silver key door, that give the map a very realistic, functional feeling. It's the kind of thing you'd see in Half-Life or Build engine games but not so much in Quake (parts of Travail, maybe). It's done well here, and the ambient sounds and skybox take it to the next level.

The corridors and rooms are cramped at times, not overly so, but enough to make dealing with Quoth's base roster rather difficult, especially at the start when health is strictly rationed and you frequently face enemies shooting at you from the safety of narrow apertures. (Thankfully later you get to take advantage of the same tactic yourself.) As the map progresses and you access more weaponry it becomes an excellent blast fest. Shamblers and scrags look a little odd in the industrial setting, but I'll let it slide.

Personally I don't see why this is only rated Nice and not Excellent, but I guess that's what user ratings are for!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 3 August 2016, 0:20

RE the lasers protecting the elevator door: I shot a grenade past the lasers and they shut down when it detonated. I don't know what the grenade hit but whatever it was, it let me pass!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in