Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of fr3nrun2
Author:Fern (aka Fr3n)
Title:The Grand Guignol
Download:fr3nrun2.zip (c1d31328feccc0650b4c9e0def39185b)
Filesize:848 Kilobytes
Release date:29.09.2007
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
fr3nrun2.bsp1985 KB29.09.2007
fr3nrun2.txt1 KB29.09.2007

fr3nrun2.zip - The Grand Guignol

Originally designed for speedrunning this map is fun for everyone. Dressed in Sock's egyptian textures.

Tags: egyptian, small, speedrunning, temple

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
spacey Guest 7 June 2014, 18:54

Excellent little map. And the temple theme is great. I just love temple themes in Q1. Mapper should explore it more and invent new ones: Greek, Roman, Inca, Burman etc etc... there are so many possibilities.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 18 October 2016, 6:46

While thematically similar to fr3n3m1, I found myself enjoying this Grand Guignol more. A nice egyptian temple with tougher combat and a more intricate layout. Secrets are good but I missed one - I suspect it's the Dopefish but I can't find a way to open it and it didn't count when I noclipped through it. Note that this map is supposed to segue into a fr3nrun3.bsp, if it ever was released.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 20 October 2016, 15:35

A clear progression here: each of Fr3n's maps, which I am playing in chronological order has the same strengths (beautiful scenery, interesting combats) and the same weaknesses (arbitrary progression, unhepful secrets). But with each map, the strengths get stronger and the weaknesses less significant. This one is a good, solid four-star map for me.

Oh, and the ending was first funny, then intriguing.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 20 October 2016, 15:57

...Which reminds me I still have to play DOM3M1.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 8 November 2016, 12:38

A fun little speedmap set in the rarely used sock_eg theme. Clear sense of progression if not a bit arbitrary but fun nonetheless. I like that different skill levels changes the map from a Q1SP to a speedrun.

kaffikopp Registered, rated this a 5 8 November 2016, 21:38

Good fun, lots of room for maneuverability, trickjumps and causing infights. Nice texture set as well.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in