Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of func_xmasjam2017
Author:Bal, Breezeep, dumptruck_ds, FifthElephant, ionous, ItEndsWithTens, mukor, Naitelveni, negke, Pritchard, Redfield
Title:Func Xmas Jam 2017 - 1024³ theme
Download:func_xmasjam2017.zip (c935efbc2b027e032439b8d6b0b40e8f)
Filesize:49735 Kilobytes
Release date:27.12.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardHotfix for Pritchard's map
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✘ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:ad_v1_70final

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
func_xmasjam2017.txt3 KB27.12.2017
gfx/env/bal_swampn_bk.tga3073 KB01.11.2017
gfx/env/bal_swampn_dn.tga3073 KB01.11.2017
gfx/env/bal_swampn_ft.tga3073 KB01.11.2017
gfx/env/bal_swampn_lf.tga3073 KB01.11.2017
gfx/env/bal_swampn_rt.tga3073 KB01.11.2017
gfx/env/bal_swampn_up.tga3073 KB05.02.2015
gfx/env/cottoncandy_bk.tga769 KB21.10.2017
gfx/env/cottoncandy_dn.tga769 KB21.10.2017
gfx/env/cottoncandy_ft.tga769 KB21.10.2017
gfx/env/cottoncandy_lf.tga769 KB21.10.2017
gfx/env/cottoncandy_rt.tga769 KB21.10.2017
gfx/env/cottoncandy_up.tga769 KB21.10.2017
gfx/env/grimmnight_bk.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/grimmnight_dn.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/grimmnight_ft.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/grimmnight_lf.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/grimmnight_rt.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/grimmnight_up.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/pritchard_clear_bk.tga769 KB11.12.2017
gfx/env/pritchard_clear_dn.tga769 KB11.12.2017
gfx/env/pritchard_clear_ft.tga769 KB11.12.2017
gfx/env/pritchard_clear_lf.tga769 KB11.12.2017
gfx/env/pritchard_clear_rt.tga769 KB11.12.2017
gfx/env/pritchard_clear_up.tga769 KB11.12.2017
gfx/env/verdanis-cool_bk.tga688 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/verdanis-cool_dn.tga771 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/verdanis-cool_ft.tga674 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/verdanis-cool_lf.tga661 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/verdanis-cool_rt.tga683 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/verdanis-cool_up.tga492 KB20.08.2003
maps/bmodels/xmasjam/carrot.bsp12 KB02.11.2017
maps/medieval_brk/xmasjam/rficeblue_brk.bsp87 KB09.11.2017
maps/medieval_brk/xmasjam/rficewht_brk.bsp87 KB04.11.2017
maps/medieval_brk/xmasjam/rfsnowrock_brk.bsp343 KB26.10.2017
maps/muk_brk/plank_brk1.bsp8 KB07.10.2017
maps/muk_brk/plank_brk2.bsp8 KB07.10.2017
maps/muk_brk/plank_brk3.bsp9 KB07.10.2017
maps/xmasjam_5th.bsp1626 KB26.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_5th.lit347 KB26.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_bal.bsp12573 KB21.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_bal.lit2261 KB21.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_breezeep.bsp3329 KB24.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_breezeep.lit768 KB24.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_dumptruck.bsp2405 KB21.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_dumptruck.lit812 KB21.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_icequeen.bsp7080 KB21.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_icequeen.lit1418 KB21.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_ionous.bsp4544 KB25.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_ionous.lit787 KB21.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_mukor.bsp3726 KB24.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_mukor.lit644 KB22.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_naitelveni.bsp1798 KB22.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_naitelveni.lit301 KB22.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_negke.bsp1921 KB24.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_pritchard.bsp17274 KB24.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_pritchard.lit4274 KB20.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_tens.bsp4367 KB22.12.2017
maps/xmasjam_tens.lit1485 KB22.12.2017
music/track101.mp34812 KB19.12.2017
music/track101.ogg1088 KB19.12.2017
particles/map_xmasjam_tens.cfg1 KB10.09.2017
progs/h_eel.mdl154 KB29.06.2017
progs/mon_eel.mdl174 KB05.05.2016
progs/muk_mdl/gear.mdl6 KB13.12.2017
progs/muk_mdl/mon_knight_nosword.mdl406 KB18.12.2017
progs/muk_mdl/statue_venus.mdl279 KB21.12.2017
progs/xmasjam/balxj_tree_a.mdl469 KB09.12.2017
progs/xmasjam/pritchard_chair.mdl80 KB07.12.2017
sound/eel/attack1.wav28 KB04.05.2016
sound/eel/death1.wav34 KB04.05.2016
sound/eel/idle1.wav52 KB04.05.2016
sound/eel/impact1.wav69 KB04.05.2016
sound/eel/pain1.wav14 KB04.05.2016
sound/eel/sight1.wav32 KB04.05.2016
sound/xmasjam/baby1b_22k.wav1537 KB21.12.2017
sound/xmasjam/baby2a_22k.wav1109 KB21.12.2017
sound/xmasjam/baby3a_22k.wav996 KB21.12.2017
sound/xmasjam/fart1.wav151 KB18.08.2016
sound/xmasjam/xmasjam_rfmagic.wav183 KB06.11.2017
sound/xmasjam/xmasjam_rfpop.wav42 KB19.12.2017
sound/xmasjam/xmasjam_rfsparkles.wav874 KB06.11.2017
src/xmasjam_bal.map4423 KB21.12.2017
src/xmasjam_breezeep.map2030 KB24.12.2017
src/xmasjam_dumptruck.map1229 KB21.12.2017
src/xmasjam_icequeen.map1828 KB21.12.2017
src/xmasjam_ionous - Kopie.map3858 KB21.12.2017
src/xmasjam_ionous.jmf9862 KB21.12.2017
src/xmasjam_ionous.map3858 KB25.12.2017
src/xmasjam_ionous.map.bak3858 KB21.12.2017
src/xmasjam_mukor.map1774 KB24.12.2017
src/xmasjam_negke.map1271 KB24.12.2017
src/xmasjam_pritchard.map17630 KB24.12.2017
src/xmasjam_tens.map2421 KB22.12.2017
textures/xmasjam/tens_cross-5x5.tga1 KB06.09.2017
textures/{bal_puddle01.tga65 KB19.12.2017
textures/{elsa.tga33 KB19.12.2017
textures/{ftreea.tga65 KB19.12.2017
textures/{ftreelrg.tga81 KB19.12.2017
textures/{ftreelrgs.tga81 KB19.12.2017
textures/{ftrees.tga65 KB19.12.2017
textures/{ftreesb.tga65 KB19.12.2017
textures/{sflake_light.tga17 KB19.12.2017
textures/{sflake_off.tga17 KB19.12.2017
xmasjam_bal.txt3 KB21.12.2017
xmasjam_dumptruck_readme.txt3 KB21.12.2017
xmasjam_icequeenREADME.txt6 KB21.12.2017
xmasjam_ionous.txt12 KB22.12.2017
xmasjam_mukor_readme.txt3 KB22.12.2017
xmasjam_naitelveni_readme.txt1 KB22.12.2017
xmasjam_negke.txt3 KB24.12.2017
xmasjam_pritchard.txt3 KB20.12.2017
xmasjam_tens.txt2 KB22.12.2017

func_xmasjam2017.zip - Func Xmas Jam 2017 - 1024³ theme

Func Xmas Jam 2017 - a community project at Func_Msgboard. This pack features 11 small AD maps in varied styles where all gameplay takes place within a 1024x1024x1024 space. It comes with a few custom skyboxes, sounds, and a music track. The map sources are included.

Note: These maps require Arcane Dimensions 1.60 or later and a source port with increased limits.


Tags: small, 1024, ad, speedbase, ikwhite, medieval, maya, knave, cavern, temple, realism, bricks, ice, sounds, skybox, limits, source, arcanedimensions, quake_awards_2018_winner

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Vasya shkolnik Guest 29 December 2017, 13:25

Nice! Good present for New Year!

Greed Registered, rated this a 5 29 December 2017, 21:12

Beautiful maps!

AN Registered, rated this a 4 1 January 2018, 15:11

Mostly 4/5 maps, few 3s. Last map very sweet :3 good job!

Spirit Registered 1 January 2018, 21:37

I only played Bal's map so far and it was great.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 February 2018, 15:41

A Warm Welcome Home (xmasjam_bal) is a really lovely base map, beautifully constructed, and with perfectly escalating difficulty, culminating in an extremely epic battle on top of the base. I got all 135 kills (on hard) but only one of the nine(!) secrets -- and even that one was under an elevator! Like my all-time favourite map, Telefragged, this one does a really nice job of partially destroying the environment, and it's great to see. Really, this is about as good as a base map this size can be, and worth five stars right out o the gate.

Astonishingly, this seems to be Bal's first published map -- unless he's the same Bal that contributed one of the nine unthemed deathmatch maps to 2001's sm7_pack, which seems pretty unlikely. What a debut!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 February 2018, 16:17

Remains in a Manger (xmasjam_dumptruck) is really, nice, too: a bijou dungeonette that really makes you work for the 50 kills. I particularly enjoyed the way the medieval and modern worlds are brought together near the end. Not quite substantial enough to score the full five stars, but worth four.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 February 2018, 16:59

_For Absent Fiends (xmasjam_5th) is nicely constructed but really over very quickly. The highlight was probably facing a bunch of assorted zombies before getting any explosives, the triple shotgun or the sharp axe. Blow 'em up with vore balls! Anyway, a good solid three stars.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 February 2018, 17:28

In the beginning (xmasjam_breezeep) is another that's small but perfectly formed. A beautiful, airy temple with a lot of ominous-looking statues that wake at suitable moments. A lot of fun to blast through, though I think it might have been even more fun with the widowmaker. It seems you're supposed to shoot four hidden buttons (I only found one of them) to release the gold key that gives access to it -- but I found out after killing everything that you can just jump across to the gold-key cage and grab it through the bars! All in all, lots of fun so it just scrapes four stars.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 February 2018, 12:03

I really liked Winter of the Ice Queen (xmasjam_icequeen) -- which by the way is by Redfield, not Icequeen, despite the naming of the map. It's a lovely attempt to do something different with Quake, and the modified visuals work superbly. Yes, the level is disappointingly short, but it's still a unique experience, well worth four stars. (Also: thank you for the secrets guide in the documentation!)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 February 2018, 12:23

(Erratum: Breezeep's map is called Pale Signs of Doom, not In The Beginning as stated above. Sorry.)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 February 2018, 14:58

Etemenanki (xmasjam_ionous) is just magnificent: a genuinely creepy story expounded through books in the secrets, and a sequence of properly tough combats in distinctive surroundings. Fine, fine work and easily worth five stars.

I got 128 of the 130 kills; given how the other secrets have panned out, I'm guessing the last two kills are in the two (of ten) secrets that I missed. I may go back and hunt for them -- I really want to see how the story ends!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 February 2018, 15:03

If only Ionous's text-file included a secrets guide!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 16 February 2018, 0:25

I had high hopes of The Drowning a City Fell Victim To (xmasjam_mukor) because it was obvious from the start that it was very beautiful: the status in the centre of the map is marvellous. Unfortunately, I didn't much enjoy actually playing it, because the difficulty arises from two sources that I never like: insufficient ammunition, and difficulty on manoeuvring. Again and again I ran out of shells and nails, and I never found a weapon that let me use my explosives; again and again, as I strategically retreated from a combat, I got stuck in a too-narrow doorway, or on a plinth, and got killed. Sadly, it means that I have to score the best looking map in the pack so far with a meagre two stars. Sorry, Mukor!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 16 February 2018, 18:43

"status"? Silly me. No, the statue in the centre of the map is marvellous.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 16 February 2018, 21:38

Naitelveni's untitled map (xmasjam_naitelveni) didn't really work for me. I am basically all about exploring, whereas this map was just a sequence of frenzied combats in the same arena. It's well executed, but I just didn't have any fun playing it. I finished only out of pure bloody-mindedness. So, sorry, Nait, but two stars.

And name your maps, people!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 17 February 2018, 0:47

I had a lot of trouble getting started with Wat mutt, dat mutt (xmasjam_negke), not least because I didn't like being constantly tracked by a zombie knight who I had no way to kill: no magic axe, no widowmaker, no explosives. On top of this, having to fight a shambler at close quarters while various knights piled in a vore peppered me with missiles felt more like work than play. But once I stumbled on the solution -- leave the zombie knight behind, then get the shamler and vore into a long fight, then pick off the knights while that's going on -- the rest of it was more fun. Never super-fun, though, and the sequence of ascending lifts and platforms always felt like something laid out for a game. I'll be generous and award three stars, largely because it was so satisfying to solve the shambler/vore problem.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 17 February 2018, 23:20

I can't run Pritchard's map: $ quake -heapsize 128000 -game ad +skill 2 +map xmasjam_pritchard Host_Error: Mod_LoadModel: progs\xmasjam\pritchard_chair.mdl not found $ ls -l progs/xmasjam/pritchard_chair.mdl -rw-r--r--@ 1 mike staff 81316 7 Dec 14:32 progs/xmasjam/pritchard_chair.mdl

Any idea what's going on here? Is it possible that the use of backslash as the path-separator is a Windows-specific thing?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 17 February 2018, 23:22

Yep, looks like my guess was right. Here is a hideous hack that makes the map work on MacOS (and I assume Linux): ``` ln -s progs/xmasjam/pritchardchair.mdl 'progs\xmasjam\pritchardchair.mdl'

``` It creates a file in the working directory whose name has the backslashes embedded in it, which is linked to the actual file down in the progs/xmasjam directory.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 17 February 2018, 23:23

Formatting foul-up in previous comment. Lemme try again:

--

Yep, looks like my guess was right. Here is a hideous hack that makes the map work on MacOS (and I assume Linux): ln -s progs/xmasjam/pritchardchair.mdl 'progs\xmasjam\pritchardchair.mdl' It creates a file in the working directory whose name has the backslashes embedded in it, which is linked to the actual file down in the progs/xmasjam directory.

Redfield Registered 17 February 2018, 23:33

@Mike Taylor: I believe this is an issue that can affect linux/mac users. The pathname to the chair model has a backslash issue. Hopefully you have gotten the map to run by doing this. I think Pritchard may release a fixed version later, hopefully.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 17 February 2018, 23:52

Thanks, @Redfield. My hack is horrible, but works for now. It's something for map authors to be aware of.

Meanwhile, having played most of The Pillar (xmasjam_pritchard), I've reached the book that says Withdraw your stake / stained black with the blood / of an elder god, and I've pressed the button near that book. But nothing obvious has happened. Can anyone give me a hint about what I'm missing?

negke Registered 18 February 2018, 0:01

Note that there's a hotfix (.ent) available for Pritchard's map under "Additional links". It addresses the backslash issue and enables the GL enemies to spawn as they're supposed to.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 19 February 2018, 10:26

Finally (for now, until I get Pritchard's map to work) there's Mae'hu Maechrimma (xmasjam_tens). This was rather beautiful, but tiny --just 13 kills -- and over very quickly. Some tiny maps work well because they feel like they're perfect little jewels; but unfortunately this one just feels like an unfinished part of a much bigger map. As it stands, I can only award two stars, but I feel bad about it. I hope my intuiting is right, and ItEndsWithTens eventually releases the complete map that this is part of.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 19 February 2018, 10:27

@negke Thanks for the pointer, but having downloaded the .ent file, I don't know what to do with it. Please advise!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 19 February 2018, 10:29

Simply placing it in the ad, ad/progs or ad/progs/xmasjam directory doesn't work.

Redfield Registered 26 February 2018, 11:10

If you are still having trouble, I think that you need to place the .ent inside the maps folder right where xmasjam_pritchard.bsp is. Hopefully you can get it to work, it is a wonderful map.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 26 February 2018, 16:02

Thanks, Redfield, that did it!

So I finished The Pillar (xmasjam_pritchard) with all kills but only three of the five secrets. I was nicely down below full health by the end, which to me means that difficulty has been well judged. A really neat little self-contained map, with the distinctive atmosphere, which I gauge is worth four stars.

All of which of course means a very well-deserved five stars for the pack as a whole -- and my gratitude to everyone who contributes for a very welcome Christmas gift!

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 23 June 2018, 13:17

Some of the maps are real 5/5 maps so the pack should get this rating also.

Esrael Registered 31 July 2018, 11:00

Bal's "A Warm Welcome Home" won the "Best Map Visuals" category at the Quake Awards 2018.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in