Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of gmsp1
Author:Howard "GlassMan" Shaw
Title:Colony
Download:gmsp1.zip (1eafa9c7bc073ef770ad16227b0a142b)
Filesize:3075 Kilobytes
Release date:26.03.2001
Homepage:http://www.glassman.mistral.co.uk
Additional Links: Ethereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourTronyn's Top 10: BaseUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gmsp1.txt5 KB26.03.2001
pak0.pak8023 KB26.03.2001

gmsp1.zip - Colony

Huge and very detailed space colony level with custom textures, new monsters such as Shock Troopers and Battle Mechs, as well as some other additional progs.

Tags: huge, base, space, monsters, large, textures, unique, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 21 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ron 1 March 2009, 14:03
Fantastic level, this !
Quaker 20 February 2010, 6:36
Excellent design and architecture; gameplay was good but not quite as good. Still most online reviews (like TeamShambler, Ethreal Hell) gave too much criticisn to the gameplay. I think rating this lower than 90 is wrong. My rating: 93
Spirit, rated this a 5 21 December 2010, 12:22
Amazing atmosphere, great looks and fun gameplay. I love this one.
Daz, rated this a 4 2 December 2011, 20:34
Video playthrough - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnyjBH4tG1k (uploading atm, will probably be live once anyone see's this :D )
hkBattousai, rated this a 1 5 May 2012, 8:30
Stuck at the beginning. All four doors are locked up. Dude, I can't waste my day looking for a way to interrupt that stupid door power. You should have at least give a hint.
1/5
Spirit, rated this a 5 5 May 2012, 23:11
Look closely at the doors. How might they be powered? If you see it, shoot it. The map is worth another try.
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 27 November 2013, 11:35

A top map, especially from its era. One of the best I've encountered for alien atmosphere, even if the gameplay is not always quite at the very best level.

hkBattousai, let me spell it out for you. Ignore the two doors right by where you start: they are only scenery. Instead, progress to the ring-shaped area that is blocked by the other two doors. The one on the right has a visible power feed above it. Shoot that and the doors will open. (This is the only such "puzzle" in the map.)

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 30 November 2013, 19:50

Simply breathtaking attention to detail and stunning use of foreshadowing. Very good use of base enemies, both stock and modified: weak foes with powerful weapons make for a tough but interesting and atypical challenge (at least some of the modified base enemies seem to be from mexx10, from which this map seem to take many cues – but the readme does not mention it, so maybe it is just coincidence?). I personally also loved the map's brand-new adversaries.

Minor nitpicks (SPOILERS AHEAD): the more demonic monsters felt a little out of place, especially the numerous Scrags. Something more robotic – like Quoth's flying drones – would have worked better (yes, I know the dates don't match up). The obligatory shambler ambush seemed rather paint-by-numbers, especially after fighting the more map-appropriate mechs. And somewhere midway through you need to use push-activated computer terminals, yet all other visually identical terminals are just decorative (which should leave one stumped for a little while at most, though).

The rest was just, well, stellar (sorry, couldn't resist).

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 5 20 October 2016, 13:07

Incredible, 2001 and this rivals current modern day map aesthetics with all of those funky curves and great atmosphere.

Man did this map surprise me! Absolutely floored by the quality pushed out here. Fun secrets, good flow, and some new enemies to shake things up. I particular enjoyed the fantastic (but brief) walk on the planet's surface with dynamic gravity change.

Only issue I really had was I was a bit lost with direction once I obtained the gold key. I don't think the elevator was that noticeable and especially since I technically already ridden it one direction!

I could learn a thing or two (or eight) from the Glass MAN!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 20 October 2016, 14:21

If you liked this, you are going to love the same author's Day of the Lords: https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/gmsp3tw.html

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in