Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of haunting
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:Autumn Haunting
Download:haunting.zip (204a6312c76c1e84e100bcb03146bffd)
Filesize:6585 Kilobytes
Release date:28.12.2003
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: erc's QualityRetroquakeTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
haunting/haunting.txt6 KB28.12.2003
haunting/pak0.pak12934 KB09.07.2003

haunting.zip - Autumn Haunting

Your battle after Carved In Flesh continues in this sequel. A contrasting dark medieval castle full of unfamiliar foe."
A medium sized mountain castle/church and a small boss battle arena using DKTe3 textures with around ten new or modified monsters and three new weapons.


Tags: medieval, castle

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.3/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 6 March 2010, 4:33
Good custom monsters, challenging, good gameplay, beautiful to look at. Not that long (medium map + smallish end map) but everything you'd expect from Kona. A fitting end to one of the most legendary Quake mapping careers of all time.
negke 29 September 2010, 11:11
The description is gone and I can't edit it. Spurty to the rescue!
Spirit 29 September 2010, 15:56
Fixed, sorry about that.
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 14 December 2013, 18:47

This plays like a condensed, refined version of Carved in Flesh. Visually, the maps are exquisite. Unfortunately the gameplay is, if anything, even more simplistic and linear than in Carved in Flesh. It feels like you are simply moving through a series of smallish DM-esque arenas.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 29 September 2016, 17:34

It's a while since I played Carved in Flesh, so I can't directly echo Icant's comment; but having come to this direct from the same author's Ultramarine, it most certainly feels like a retreat of that level.

I don't understand why the last few rooms were in a second map rather than being part of the single map.

Having played a few levels now with Kona's modified monsters, I have very different feelings about them. The ice-skating double-tough nail ogres are no fun at all; but the tiny fiendlings and giant fiend-queens are great. The various super-tough deathknight variants, I can live with or without.

Because I played Ultramarine first and Autumn Haunting second, that map got four stars and this one only three; had I stumbled upon them the other way around, the scoring might well also have been reversed.

whirlstr Registered, rated this a 2 26 November 2018, 7:08

Feels more like a show-off of custom monsters than an actual level. The large majority of gameplay takes place in either small corridors or lock-in arenas. The main thing that makes gameplay at all interesting is the barrage of new monsters. The problem is most of them are annoying or just tedious to fight. The creator seems to think every new enemy needs to be more powerful and bulletspongey than the last. And despite that it's not even especially difficult, more like tedious.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in