Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hellchepsout
Author:JPL
Title:Hatchepsout: The Hell Temple
Download:hellchepsout.zip (ff0b82757450874f1acf1bdf0c0510b1)
Filesize:989 Kilobytes
Release date:13.05.2004
Homepage:http://lambert.jeanphilippe.free.fr
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
hellchepsout.lit1571 KB13.05.2004
Hellchepsout.txt3 KB12.05.2004
hellchepsout.bsp2099 KB13.05.2004

hellchepsout.zip - Hatchepsout: The Hell Temple

Small to medium Egyptian temple. OKish.

Tags: egyptian, temple, small

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.6/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 23 June 2012, 10:24
It is not fair that this map is listed a four-starred. It must have been five-starred.
Spirit, rated this a 2 23 June 2012, 12:30
I gave it 2/5 because it is so plain, I did not enjoy it much and I never want to play it again. Different people, different taste.
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 21 November 2014, 1:05

Have to disagree with hkBattousai. I would say that "nice" is very generous as an editor's rating, and that this rather deserves "average".

While it is decent for a debut release, it is still very clearly a beginner map. Both brushwork and gameplay are simple and repetitive, and coloured lighting is overused. I say this as someone who has great respect for the author's talent: JPL has made some really amazing maps for Quake -- but this is not it.

To me personally this is a 2 plus/3 minus. But as Spirit says, it is ultimately a matter of taste.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 25 November 2014, 9:13

Controversy! I gave this 3*, which seems pretty solidly right to me. A highish three. It feels solid, and has a good sense of place. For a first map, it's pretty remarkable. The main thing I didn't like was the awkwardness of negotiating through the catacomb areas with all the pillars. I was constantly getting stuck. There are good and bad kinds of difficulty for a map to have, and "stuck on scenery" is definitely the bad kind!

I'm looking forward to playing through the rest of JPL's maps in order, and seeing how the progress.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 24 June 2015, 12:23

I replayed this. I stands up well. The climax -- taking on four shamblers while quadded -- is fun!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in