Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hulk256
Author:ijed
Title:Data Download
Download:hulk256.zip (f22fcd01a8c8d0ab1f4b19800f9b0f67)
Filesize:550 Kilobytes
Release date:29.06.2008
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
hulk256.bsp1337 KB29.06.2008
readme.txt1 KB29.06.2008
hulk256.map220 KB29.06.2008
quoth2.fgd73 KB08.06.2008

hulk256.zip

Data Download

A map built with no more than 256 brushes. Your mission is to download some data, but there are a couple of enemies who try to prevent that. Fast and frantic non-stop action.

Note: This map requires Quoth.


Tags: dark, fast, scary, contest, ikbase, small, 256b, horror, quoth, warhammer, spacehulk

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ijed 8 July 2008, 15:58
Make Sure to stand next to the console when downloading until it tells you 'Download Complete'.
hkBattousai 24 June 2012, 8:16
Excellent map.
5/5
user7346 Registered 7 February 2013, 16:22
How can this be done? there isn't enough ammo
user7346 Registered 7 February 2013, 16:30
I'd like to see a video walkthtough!
onetruepurple Registered 8 February 2013, 11:18
This map requires Quoth, which allows the ammo in this map to respawn.
user7346 Registered 9 February 2013, 2:31
Wow thanks! :) that sure made the difference.
I managed skill 2 now!
Vanilla quake sure made this map horribly difficult.
user7346 Registered 9 February 2013, 2:54
EXCELLENT MAP
5/5
Spirit Registered 10 February 2013, 16:39
Always read the readme files. ;)

On this site there is also the "Dependencies" field on the left. And the Quake Injector handles those automatically for you.
MikeTaylor Registered 24 July 2014, 1:49

If your idea of fun is slogging through a bewildering sequence of identical rooms being repeatedly assaulted by the same kind of monster over and over and over again, then you are going to love Data Download.

If you're like me, though, you'll hate it. I only bothered to finish it out of sheer bloody-mindedness.

Spirit Registered 17 August 2014, 18:32

Huh! I love this map, it has a super hostile atmosphere and lots of action.

MikeTaylor Registered 17 March 2015, 12:14

Interesting to see how consistently ijed's map provoke wildly differing reactions. I hated this map and Spirit loved it. Telefragged is my single all-time favourite Quake level, but lots of people hated it. And reading the comments on Warpspasm, it's clear that it polarises people in the same way. (I hated level 1 of Warpspasm but loved level 2, so that dichotomy is at work even within releases!)

I think this is very healthy. Great music tends to polarise people, too -- some people love Hendrix, some hate him, and there are not a lot of people in between. In stand-up comedy, I think Stewart Lee is an absolute genius, but a lot of people can't stand him. I admire ijed for making maps that accord with his own vision, and the rest of the world can like them or not. In short, his work rises above merely excellent craftsmanship, and is art.

Lord of the Undead Guest 5 September 2015, 21:36

I avoid base maps like the plague, but Warpspasm is my all time favorite pack so I gave it a try. This one is really burtal and intense, even on normal. I love ijed maps because he has an incredible knack for a really harrowing tone. This map barely lets you breathe in a way that too few maps do.

Jugador Registered 4 September 2019, 11:40

MikeTaylor, I'm curious to try ijed's Telefragged, but it doesn't seem to be on this site. Any idea where I can find it?

Jugador Registered 4 September 2019, 11:42

(Nevermind, I just found it in the Rubicon Rumble Pack.)

Solomoriah Registered 13 November 2019, 22:21

I'm giving this one five stars for interesting gameplay. Who knew you could make just two kinds of opponent into such a cool challenge?

triple_agent Registered 15 August 2021, 0:47

Plain map; simple. Decent atmosphere. Faithful to the 'Space Hulk' principles, in which, one plays a 'Terminator' - a special forces unit of an already superb futuristic army of the 'Space Marines' - well armed, well armored, but in this particular case: slow and rather clumsy; which makes it only a partially clever choice for the "Space Hulk" missions.

What is a "Space Hulk"? It is beyond just a derelict - it is an amalgamation of various spaceships, pieces of installations, maybe even small celestial bodies - once inhabited, perhaps - twisted and merged together, by the mighty powers of the warp; the wild tides of an other-realm. It is like a universe in a nutshell, transfigured and mayhemed, beyond recognition.

For the challenges of the map itself, by the time I played it, I have learned how to axe-fight the fiends in 'Quake', so that my wariness of them, has become softer - not that I would fancy axing down multiple fiends attacking simultaneously, though - not in all spaces or conditions, at least.

The protagonist, is armed with most practical gun in the 'Quake' universe, which is to mimick - as I assume - the assault cannon, a 'Terminator' would wield in the 'Warhammer 40000' universe; possibly next to some other iconic weapons.

One has to note, that the map, has limited amount of enemies; it is safe to just walk around and hunt these down as much as possible, before engaging in the "last bastion" scenario, so as not too many of these were there to make things harder. It is actually something not faithful to the 'Space Hulk' design principles, in which the monsters, would rush in unlimited numbers - limited only by the sheer limit of how many of such units are allowed to be present on the map at once.

'Space Hulk', was a tight balance struggle between rush-rush-objective and an exploration setup, also for vital resources.

For the ammo, worry not - it respawns, therefore just keep an eye on your ammo counter, resupply often and you will be fine. There is no need to axe your way through, at all.

Altogether, it is a very nice map to play.

triple_agent Registered 15 August 2021, 0:55

By the way, for the nomenclature, "Death Squad" could be a chapter or a warband, but not a legion; just a nitpick.

Spoiler, I guess.

overlord Guest 18 November 2021, 0:26

in the grimderp of the far future there are no healthpacks, only genestealers

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in