Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hwjam3
Author:Artistical, Entsoy, Fairweather, Greenwood, Makkon, Mista Heita, Mobin, Nyo, Pinchy, Quasiotter, Shades, Strideh, vbs, Voidforce, Xeo
Title:Halloween Jam 3
Download:hwjam3.zip (1ea880215305ab578b2c4af050ff9439)
Filesize:248750 Kilobytes
Release date:27.10.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
docs/ad/ad_v1_80_credits.txt16 KB13.10.2020
docs/ad/ad_v1_80_documentation.txt148 KB09.10.2020
docs/ad/ad_v1_80_readme.txt9 KB13.10.2020
docs/ad/ad_v1_80changelog.txt90 KB12.10.2020
docs/ad/ad_v1_80p1changelog.txt91 KB14.10.2020
docs/hwj3_quasiotter_readme.txt3 KB25.10.2020
docs/hwjam3_artistical.txt2 KB24.10.2020
docs/hwjam3_entsoy_readme.txt2 KB25.10.2020
docs/hwjam3_greenwood.txt2 KB25.10.2020
docs/hwjam3_makkon.txt1 KB24.10.2020
docs/hwjam3_mh.txt2 KB25.10.2020
docs/hwjam3_pinchy.txt3 KB27.10.2020
gfx/conback.lmp63 KB27.10.2020
gfx/env/bloodmoon_bk.tga769 KB24.10.2020
gfx/env/bloodmoon_dn.tga769 KB24.10.2020
gfx/env/bloodmoon_ft.tga769 KB24.10.2020
gfx/env/bloodmoon_lf.tga769 KB24.10.2020
gfx/env/bloodmoon_rt.tga769 KB24.10.2020
gfx/env/bloodmoon_up.tga769 KB24.10.2020
gfx/env/hw_thunder/hw_thunder.shader1 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/hw_thunder/license.txt1 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/hw_thunder/thunder_bk.tga734 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/hw_thunder/thunder_dn.tga762 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/hw_thunder/thunder_ft.tga699 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/hw_thunder/thunder_lf.tga634 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/hw_thunder/thunder_rt.tga739 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/hw_thunder/thunder_up.tga644 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/stormydays_bk.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_dn.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_ft.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_lf.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_rt.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_up.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/urdak_bk.tga3073 KB30.08.2020
gfx/env/urdak_dn.tga3073 KB30.08.2020
gfx/env/urdak_ft.tga3073 KB30.08.2020
gfx/env/urdak_lf.tga3073 KB30.08.2020
gfx/env/urdak_rt.tga3073 KB30.08.2020
gfx/env/urdak_up.tga3073 KB30.08.2020
gfx/env/violent180purple_bk.tga3073 KB29.12.2019
gfx/env/violent180purple_dn.tga3073 KB29.12.2019
gfx/env/violent180purple_ft.tga3073 KB29.12.2019
gfx/env/violent180purple_lf.tga3073 KB29.12.2019
gfx/env/violent180purple_rt.tga3073 KB29.12.2019
gfx/env/violent180purple_up.tga3073 KB29.12.2019
gfx/qplaque.lmp5 KB27.10.2020
hwjam3_README.txt3 KB27.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_artistical.bsp10823 KB24.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_artistical.lit4919 KB24.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_entsoy.bsp17186 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_entsoy.lit162 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_greenwood.bsp5493 KB26.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_greenwood.lit3908 KB26.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_makkon.bsp45659 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_makkon.lit3758 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_mh.bsp39063 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_mh.lit1167 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_mobin.bsp477 KB26.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_mobin.lit256 KB26.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_nyo.bsp2357 KB24.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_nyo.lit981 KB24.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_pinchy.bsp5607 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_pinchy.lit3376 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_quasiotter.bsp1072 KB27.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_shades.bsp19070 KB19.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_shades.lit1556 KB19.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_strideh.bsp19355 KB24.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_strideh.lit2451 KB24.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_vbs.bsp27271 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_vbs.lit4985 KB25.10.2020
maps/hwjam3_xeo.bsp12787 KB25.10.2020
maps/start.bsp4156 KB27.10.2020
maps/start.lit839 KB27.10.2020
models/glowsphere.mdl776 KB09.03.2020
music/track16.mp39800 KB16.10.2020
music/track232.mp38440 KB24.10.2020
music/track65.mp3739 KB20.10.2020
music/track65.ogg807 KB20.10.2020
music/track66.mp31459 KB24.10.2020
music/track66.ogg1541 KB24.10.2020
music/track69.mp3645 KB24.10.2020
music/track69.ogg404 KB24.10.2020
music/track70.ogg2584 KB25.10.2020
pak0.pak263770 KB27.10.2020
pak1.pak5341 KB27.10.2020
pak2.pak21787 KB27.10.2020
progs/misc_tree2.mdl395 KB19.10.2020
progs/pumpkin.mdl15 KB17.10.2020
progs/pyr.mdl401 KB25.10.2020
progs/tree1.mdl57 KB19.10.2020
quake.rc9 KB27.10.2020
src/hwjam3_entsoy.map9219 KB25.10.2020
src/hwjam3_makkon.map24443 KB25.10.2020
src/hwjam3_mh.map4850 KB25.10.2020
src/hwjam3_pinchy.map4395 KB25.10.2020
src/hwjam3_quasiotter.map254 KB27.10.2020
textures/#lip.tga193 KB22.10.2020
textures/P1020115.tga49 KB24.10.2020
textures/bb.tga193 KB22.10.2020
textures/bbskin.tga193 KB22.10.2020
textures/ear.tga97 KB24.10.2020
textures/ec.tga49 KB24.10.2020
textures/elbow.tga13 KB22.10.2020
textures/hair.tga193 KB22.10.2020
textures/haireye.tga193 KB22.10.2020
textures/nip.tga193 KB22.10.2020
textures/nipskin.tga193 KB22.10.2020
textures/nose.tga13 KB22.10.2020
textures/sky_hair.tga97 KB24.10.2020
textures/tongue.tga13 KB22.10.2020
textures/y.tga49 KB24.10.2020

hwjam3.zip

Halloween Jam 3

Third Halloween Jam, a community project featuring 13 levels + a start map in varying sizes and themes. Most of the maps use custom textures. The pack is based on the Arcance Dimensions mod (included) and comes with various custom content like models, sounds, skyboxes, and music tracks. Some of the map sources are included.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: medium, large, halloween, castle, dungeon, makkon, realism, factory, cathedral, pumpkins, start, ad, arcanedimensions, sounds, models, skybox, music, source, limits, bsp2, textures

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 15 November 2020, 17:57

Found a bug in Necromancer's Swamp. I was in what i assume is the last boss fight in the circular arena area, laying into the big dude with the super nailgun, when he raised his sword and summoned some lightning. Then this:

CALL2 402(setmodel)setmodel() monsters.qc : monsterspawn <NO FUNCTION> no precache: progs/mongaunt.mdl Host_Error: Program error Client player removed

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 16 November 2020, 4:08

A couple of the maps (Shadesmaster's -- the one you're mentioning there -- and Artistical's) have had bugfix/improvement revisions since the release of this pack.

I originally saw them on Discord, dunno if they've been uploaded elsewhere, so I've got them here: https://neogeographica-downloads.s3.amazonaws.com/tools/quakestarter/hwjam3_fixes.zip

mgtroyas Registered, rated this a 5 16 November 2020, 13:34

I have played only a couple of these maps yet, but wanted to congratulate Entsoy for creating "Approach of the Second Sun". A really refreshing new experience on Quake mapping, and that's no small feature.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 17 November 2020, 1:39

Johnny Law, thanks for the fixes!

... Oh, my gawds. The Vileduct... so beautiful. I'm just disappointed the elevator doesn't go all the way up; I'd love to see this one fleshed out with accessible building interiors and another level up.

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 5 18 November 2020, 10:11

This is a very impressing map pack.

Only one of the maps completely beat me ("Us") - that was too much like a good, old-fashioned LSD trip to me. You could nearly taste the colour nine... All the other maps, each in their own way, contained elements of new thinking and new angles. That these keep popping up after nearly 25 years, is quite remarkable.

If a revised mappack (including the bugfixes mentioned elsewhere) is uploaded at some time in the future, i would appreciate if AD is not included - i'm stuck with a old ADSL modem and very limited bandwith. It should be enough to mention AD as a prequisite, and provide a link, please

All in all: very good.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 20 November 2020, 5:57

Okay, so I screwed up and saved Us over my only save point. How the *$#@!?! do you get out of that level? And what kind of drugs is quasiotter taking?

JP 4 December 2020, 14:00

This is a fantastic, and really interesting map-pack.

Marks the debut of a 'Haunted Makkon' texture style - sort of like quake haunted village meets tim burton. Colourful, almost cartoony in places.

Shadesmaster, Makkon, Strideh and Mista Heita all use this look to produce four excellent maps that form the thematic backbone of this jam.

Shadesmaster throws everything at the wall - every new AD monster in 1.8, jump-boots and these annoying poison spiders that can be really deadly. It works because of the lovely 'hub' centerpiece (very dark souls firelink shrine) and an ott heretic/hexen soundtrack that actually gels with the super-colourful Makkon textures. Sort of a 'what if Hexen II had been good' kind of level.

Makkon's level is a lovely bit of key hunting and two tough set piece ambushes. What I really loved with his own take on his textures is that he pushed the surreal 'floating' take on this set into something that looked like the American Mcgee Alice games - again, something that really works with this look.

Strideh takes the look and tones it down into something closer to a 'classic quake' atmosphere. Strideh always nails his maps with polish, and they're always reasonable lengths that never outstay their welcome. The portal effect at the end is jaw-droppingly beautiful - I'd like to see a whole episode that uses that technique.

Finally, Mister Heita - I think this is a debut? In which case, don't stop doing what you're doing. One one level, it's a beautiful, polished and tight quake map in its own right. But it does three completely new things (three!) which push the envelope in terms of gameplay.

It has story-led intro with character dialogue. And it actually works! Introducing you to new concepts, the back story, your mission, etc. Great Quake-gothic atmosphere too.

A new mechanic. Granted, the full potential of this isn't explored, but a 'ghost mode' where you can pass through certain objects but can't attack anything is brilliant, and I want to see more of it!

Dynamic music! Again, not used enough in Quake, and the track choices are a little jarring - but my god, I want to see more of this used in Quake maps when an ambush is sprung or an arena/boss fight starts.

Outside of these four, the quality is a little mixed or experimental. I do want to shout out to Xeo's map 'The Banquet' though - a punchy debut, with a lovely horror concept (camp but not TOO camp) great atmosphere and well-judged combat. Can't wait to see more from Xeo - and wouldn't mind an expanded/more detailed version of the Banquet as a separate release.

All in all, a jam well worth downloading.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

MikeTaylor Registered 17 March 2021, 16:34

Greenwood's The Well of Damned Souls (hwjam3_greenwood) is a remake of, and substantial upgrade on, Michael Reed's Well of Lost Souls. It was fun to play through an old friend again, and for it to feel fairly fresh. Plus everything is better with Arcane Dimensions!

MikeTaylor Registered 17 March 2021, 16:54

In fact, I just replayed the original Well of Lost Souls and it's striking what a shot-for-shot remake Greenwood's map is!

MikeTaylor Registered 18 March 2021, 12:54

I was really enjoying Necromancer's Swamp (hwjam3_shades) right up to the final (I assume) arena battle with the big boss and his spider minions ... but then the game crashed, saying: CALL2 402(setmodel)setmodel() monsters.qc : monster_spawn <NO FUNCTION> no precache: progs/mon_gaunt.mdl Host_Error: Program error Does anyone know how to fix this?

MikeTaylor Registered 18 March 2021, 12:55

Ah, OK, I should have read the earlier comments. I see there is an updated release that fixes this.

MikeTaylor Registered 18 March 2021, 13:00

Yep, that fixed it — and, happily, my old save file was still good for the new version of the map. Thanks, Johnny Law!

MikeTaylor Registered 19 March 2021, 17:42

The Vileduct (hwjam3_makkon) is properly lovely, a Quake level that looks like no other Quake level — which after a quarter of a century is really saying something! It plays nicely, too, though it does feel badly underpopulated, and could probably sustain about twice as many enemies as are actually present. The division of the ground-level houses into red, green, yellow and purple quadrants only becomes properly clear right at the end, when you can look down from the upper bridge, which gives a nice sense of closure.

MikeTaylor Registered 19 March 2021, 22:37

The Banquet (hwjam3_xeo) is beautiful to look at, and fun as far as it goes, but it does feel a little disjointed and arbirary — with a lot of permanently locked doors that look like the might lead somewhere interesting, but never do. Nice final combat, though. That triple shotgun never gets old.

MikeTaylor Registered 20 March 2021, 0:21

A Dead Man's Favor (hwjam3_mh) was a refeshingly different experience, with the first part of the map played as a ghost who can walk through gratings but is unable to interact physcially with the surroundings. I enjoyed the often brutal gameplay, but felt that things were slightly spoiled by the inappropriate music: pulse-pounding when what was called for was something more eerie.

MikeTaylor Registered 21 March 2021, 21:12

Blackvenom Retreat (hwjam3_pinchy) is an oddly unsatisfying experience. It takes place mostly in a good sized outdoor open structure over a lake, where monsters are visible from far off and can sniped — but can also snipe you. This leads to what I found an unfulfulling combat style where ammo exhaustion was the main risk. I liked it, but didn't love it.

MikeTaylor Registered 22 March 2021, 10:52

First Moon (hwjam3_mobin) is very short at just 14 kills, but reasonably sweet. It will only take two or three minutes to complete, but they're quite enjoyable minutes.

MikeTaylor Registered 22 March 2021, 14:14

Abbeytoire (hwjam3_strideh) is a really nice, atmospheric piece of work, using textures that are new to me to create a setting that feels refreshingly ominous. I could quibble that it shuts of some areas after you've been through them (preventing me from picking up the blue armour), and that the final confrontation is a bit anti-climactic; but that's by the by. This was fun and satisfying.

MikeTaylor Registered 22 March 2021, 14:32

The Apothecaro (hwjam3_nyo) is small, disjointed and difficult to read — there are lots of buttons and their purposes are not already easy to read. In particular, I only realised right at the end what the silver and gold keys were for, because the pillars that they operate were not visibly cued. Not my favourite map of the jam so far.

MikeTaylor Registered 23 March 2021, 11:19

I really enjoyed the unnamed map hwjam3_vbs — but WHY WAS IT UNNAMED? I know this is not a huge deal, but seriously people: NAME YOUR MAPS. It takes, what, thirty seconds?

Aaanyway, with that said: initially I found it bafflng and alienating to wake up in a house surrounded by zombies and dogs, with nowhere near enough ammo to to take them all out. But once I'd settled into it, trying to stay alive in this hostile landscape for long enough to power up became its own unique challenge. Breaking into the factory allowed me to leave the zombies and dogs behind, to return to later. But careful balancing of ammo provision meant that the factory remained challenging almost to the end.

Does anyone know the legitimate way to get up on top of the roof where the axe of shadows is?

MikeTaylor Registered 24 March 2021, 15:55

I am stuck in Approach of the Second Sun (hkjam3_entsoy). I've got all the runes and gone into the tower, and reached the book that says "we must kil all potential champions". But after that there's just a corridor to another room, then a few more corridors that end in blocked ends. What am I missing?

vbs Guest 10 July 2021, 0:53

@MikeTaylor re: "Does anyone know the legitimate way to get up on top of the roof where the axe of shadows is?" Legitimize rocket jumping! ;)

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 20 July 2021, 17:19

Really cool maps. THANKS. Usually I don't like jams since they are way too diversive & inconsistent. But this one is actually not so much diversified. Makkon textures made most of jam look like an solid episode (where they were used).

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in