Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_v1_80p1final
Author:sock, Bal, mfx, necros, Lunaran, Scampie, FifthElephant, ionous, EricW, Preach, PulSaR, necros, Giftmacher, others
Title:Arcane Dimensions 1.81
Download:ad_v1_80p1final.zip (ab7be72533164fbd5af6dd72a28dfab1)
Filesize:313392 Kilobytes
Release date:13.10.2020
Homepage:http://www.simonoc.com/pages/design/sp/ad.htm
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ad_1_8.def393 KB11.10.2020
ad_1_8.fgd245 KB11.10.2020
ad_v1_80_credits.txt16 KB12.10.2020
ad_v1_80_documentation.txt148 KB08.10.2020
ad_v1_80_readme.txt9 KB12.10.2020
ad_v1_80changelog.txt90 KB12.10.2020
ad_v1_80p1changelog.txt91 KB13.10.2020
pak0.pak263770 KB12.10.2020
pak1.pak524571 KB12.10.2020
pak2.pak21787 KB13.10.2020
quake.rc9 KB13.10.2020

ad_v1_80p1final.zip

Arcane Dimensions 1.81

Large-scale single player campaign with many new levels, some of them labeled as "test" maps, featuring a whole line-up of new monsters and items as well as several tweaks and changes to the gameplay. Furthermore, it is meant to serve as a tool box for level designers, offering a large number of modified and new things to use in custom-made maps. Map and QC sources are included.

This is version 1.8 (including patch 1) which includes various bug-fixes, additional features, and four additional maps: Grendel's Blade and Nyarlathoteps Sand Castle as well as Ak-Alakha by PulSaR and Tears of the False God by Bal.

Note: These maps (and all subsequent maps based on AD) require a source port with increased limits as well as support for BSP2 and transparent textures. Quakespasm 0.93+ is strongly recommended.


Tags: episode, large, monsters, weapons, items, limits, bsp2, fog, alpha, base, medival, metal, runic, ikwhite, speedbase, exploration, secrets, start, remix, remake, dm, ad, particles, toolbox, source, makkon, skybox

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 5/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
dwere Registered 18 October 2020, 13:17

Fun, it was literally today when I thought about barons and how they were forgotten compared to "super buff knight" additions from other mods.

Aluminumhaste Guest 18 October 2020, 15:47

I really love this new update, I just wish that Tears of the False God ran better. Still, this update is 5/5 amazing.

palcore Registered, rated this a 5 18 October 2020, 16:49

List of things this mod update maked stutter: 1. My computer, cause the Tears of the False God level is too hard for him {but not for me;) (lie)} 2. Me, cause MY GOD those new levels are amazing. But seriously, this mod is something incredible. I really like, that devs just get concept of Quake's dark dungeons, gloomy castles, and Lovecraftian eldritch horror and make on this basis something unique. Every level feels like it's different world or dimension with it's own rules, with own atmosphere, architecture, and history, but at the same time you also feeling that they all somehow connected. And it's so fun to research every one of them that sometimes I feel sad that I must leave one level to go to another. It's certainly gets 5 of 5 from me.

JuanchoES Registered 19 October 2020, 0:53

The new ad_tears map its not only the best map ever created in quake, its the best map that i ever played in any videogame

dwere Registered 19 October 2020, 2:08

This is the price of (sorta) mainstream recognition - a lot of VERY EXCITED people.

dwere Registered 19 October 2020, 2:38

By the way, I'm not sure what to think about the inclusion of jump boots. Feels like absorbing so much content from other mods can deprive them of relevance, but on the other hand it's a great feature that can greatly enhance both action and exploration aspects of an FPS.

In fact, I kinda wished they were there when starting Tears, right before I found them.

Mugwump Registered 19 October 2020, 9:36

So, TWO additional maps, then. Grendel's Blade and Sand Castle were already AD maps. Are they reworked or did Sock just throw them in the official release?

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 19 October 2020, 10:54

dwere: I think the main point of this particular release was to provide mappers with many (many!) more features and new enemies. I don't believe every mapper is suddenly going to switch to AD because of that. Those who want to use plain id1 or other mods in combination with the boots still have that option, and I certainly hope to see a new January Jump Jam with the same level of quality as this year's no matter which mod is used.

I also felt limited after finishing Bal's map when those boots were gone. They're easy to get used to.

zxr Guest 20 October 2020, 13:21

Tears of a false god, i have 13 shards, cannot find no more, still wont let me open underpool round exit, how many shards do i need, it said 8, i have 13,so what have i done wrong or doing wrong

Bal Registered 20 October 2020, 13:56

zxr, look at the lights around the water exit...

You need to go through the big outside portal before having a chance of getting down there.

zxr Guest 20 October 2020, 17:22

No still no hope, killed 217\357, no enemy anywhere, fell down every hole from top to bottom,any haze walls walked threw,as for out side portals, are they invisible ?. i see if theres a walk through on Y.T as ive done everything and still no luck

Bal Registered 20 October 2020, 18:22

zxr, if you have more than 8 shards the big portal door outside, at the end of the bridge (you can see it in the screenshot in the back on here!) should be a teleporter you can go through.

dwere Registered 20 October 2020, 19:39

I think this mod needs less enemies that just charge you and throw avoidable shit. Adding 1000 new models is meaningless if they all do essentially the same thing.

Maybe it's just Tears. The map looks like it was created as an attractive architectural installation first, then begrudgingly populated with angry things. Relatable, but still.

zxr Guest 20 October 2020, 20:15

My fault, i was still using AD 1.70. i just copied map and gfx into AD 1.70 Folder "Duh me" used the ad 180 and all is fine now,went threw round exit in pool,and shit all hell breaks loose after shooting skeleton head,killing 790 enemy,theres no end to them,before the last portal exit appears, toughest quake map ever

Mugwump Registered 20 October 2020, 21:24

Toughest Quake map ever? You should play Tronyn's maps!

Solomoriah Registered 23 October 2020, 6:40

Tears of the False God is so beautiful... it's an honor to die there... even more so to conquer!

Chaser Registered, rated this a 5 23 October 2020, 22:18

Tears of the false god...

I cant believe this map, I just cant. From the mysterious music to the breathtaking gameplay / adventure, to the MEGA secret once all the shards are collcted...

Ive been playing quake since 1997 and today I felt nearly as blown away as an 11year old back when I saw the shareware version of Quake for the first time.

I just wanted to explore and explore. I loved that monsters / knights kept showing up as if it was their habitat and I was just a journeyman. It only expanded that feeling of something mystical / new / alive.

FANTASTIC level design, beautiful texture work, out of this world colors and all of that felt somehow a lot like QUAKE even though U pushed the engine to the limits and went far from original art design.

Cant express enough how much fun I had with this one.

ps. Fantastic "Hi" easter end in the end ;). touching!

Solomoriah Registered 24 October 2020, 7:06

Ack. I've killed all but three monsters according to the stat screen, and I've gone through every door but the water exit. I see that one of the lights is out, but neither pushing it nor shooting it seems to do anything. Nor does doing the same to the active lights. It's probably a really simple trick too...

Beautiful level, though. Was a challenge to get through it, even if I did miss three foes.

dwere Registered 28 October 2020, 0:01

Can we have a way to descend down ladders? Quake has moveup and movedown bindings that are useful for flying and swimming. They can be assigned to ladders, and the latter in particular would provide a unique function that is currently not available.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in