Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hwjam4
Author:Artistical, Chris Holden, Fairweather, Greenwood, Grue, Omni, Pinchy, PQP, Riktoi
Title:Halloween Jam 4
Download:hwjam4.zip (dbfa1cae1d3e435155615b3156ee2467)
Filesize:171486 Kilobytes
Release date:31.10.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardSkybox for Riktoi's map
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
docs/hwjam4_artistical.txt3 KB28.10.2021
docs/hwjam4_chrisholden.txt2 KB31.10.2021
docs/hwjam4_greenwood.txt2 KB28.10.2021
docs/hwjam4_grue.txt3 KB29.10.2021
docs/hwjam4_pinchy.txt3 KB31.10.2021
docs/hwjam4_pqp.txt3 KB28.10.2021
docs/riktoi_readme.txt1 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/hw_nightsky/hw_nightsky.shader1 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/hw_nightsky/license.txt1 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/hw_nightsky/nightsky_bk.tga255 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/hw_nightsky/nightsky_dn.tga49 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/hw_nightsky/nightsky_ft.tga320 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/hw_nightsky/nightsky_lf.tga255 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/hw_nightsky/nightsky_rt.tga337 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/hw_nightsky/nightsky_up.tga339 KB31.10.2021
gfx/env/jajsundown1_bk.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_dn.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_ft.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_lf.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_rt.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_up.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/ojfunk_bk.tga769 KB02.02.2021
gfx/env/ojfunk_dn.tga769 KB02.02.2021
gfx/env/ojfunk_ft.tga769 KB02.02.2021
gfx/env/ojfunk_lf.tga769 KB02.02.2021
gfx/env/ojfunk_rt.tga769 KB02.02.2021
gfx/env/ojfunk_up.tga769 KB02.02.2021
grue/h2p_skeleton.mdl148 KB31.10.2021
grue/misc_bonepile.mdl109 KB31.10.2021
grue/misc_skull.mdl59 KB31.10.2021
grue/pump.mdl358 KB31.10.2021
grue/pumpkin.mdl15 KB31.10.2021
hwj4_readme.txt2 KB31.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_artistical.bsp1492 KB28.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_artistical.lit1174 KB28.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_chrisholden.bsp12478 KB31.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_chrisholden.lit786 KB31.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_greenwood.bsp11608 KB28.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_greenwood.lit4156 KB28.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_grue.bsp6825 KB31.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_grue.lit4432 KB31.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_omni.bsp8517 KB28.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_omni.lit901 KB28.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_pinchy.bsp7835 KB31.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_pinchy.lit3964 KB31.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_pqp.bsp15205 KB28.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_pqp.lit1661 KB28.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_riktoi.bsp51321 KB31.10.2021
maps/hwjam4_riktoi.lit5174 KB31.10.2021
maps/start.bsp600 KB01.11.2021
maps/start.lit224 KB01.11.2021
music/track151.mp35061 KB31.10.2021
music/track68.ogg4544 KB18.07.2021
music/track98.ogg5665 KB31.10.2021
pak0.pak238145 KB31.10.2021
pak1.pak5341 KB31.10.2021
pak2.pak13543 KB31.10.2021
progs/grue/h2p_skeleton.mdl148 KB31.10.2021
progs/grue/misc_bonepile.mdl109 KB31.10.2021
progs/grue/misc_skull.mdl59 KB31.10.2021
progs/grue/pump.mdl358 KB31.10.2021
progs/grue/pumpkin.mdl15 KB31.10.2021
progs/h2p_skeleton.mdl148 KB31.10.2021
progs/hwjam/h2p_skeleton.mdl148 KB31.10.2021
progs/hwjam/pumpkin.mdl64 KB31.10.2021
progs/hwjam/pumpkin_extra.txt1 KB31.10.2021
progs/misc_bonepile.mdl109 KB31.10.2021
progs/misc_skull.mdl59 KB31.10.2021
progs/misc_tree.mdl118 KB31.10.2021
progs/pump.mdl358 KB31.10.2021
progs/pumpkin.mdl15 KB31.10.2021
quake.rc9 KB31.10.2021
sound/doorslide.wav20 KB31.10.2021
src/hwjam4_chrisholden.map8779 KB31.10.2021
src/hwjam4_grue.map4294 KB29.10.2021
src/hwjam4_omni.map1436 KB28.10.2021
src/hwjam4_pinchy.map4666 KB31.10.2021
src/hwjam4_pqp.map3310 KB28.10.2021
src/hwjam4_riktoi.map13204 KB31.10.2021

hwjam4.zip

Halloween Jam 4

Fourth Halloween Jam, a community project featuring eight levels + a start map in varying sizes and themes. Some of the maps use custom textures, e.g. Makkon and Alice. The pack runs on Arcane Dimensions 1.8 (included) and comes with various custom content like models, sounds, skyboxes, and music tracks. The map sources are included.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits and some of them BSP2 support.
The missing skybox for Riktoi's map can be downloaded here.


Tags: small, mediium, large, makkon, alice, wizard, medieval, metal, textures, church, crypt, mansion, house, swamp, start, ad, arcanedimensions, sounds, models, skybox, music, limits, bsp2, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.5/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








h3xx Registered 15 November 2021, 6:08

hwjam4_grue - Couldn't get this one to finish. I jumped down onto the risers down in the lava, fought the spawn-ins, then nothing happened. The book disappeared. Didn't matter where I stood, I was stuck. Even noclipping out of the pit and walking around, the door to the exit was sealed. Using Quakespasm git.

Jehannum Registered 15 November 2021, 20:11

Happy Halloween indeed, and another fantastic Jam to celebrate!

Thanks to the authors for sharing their talents and imagination with us. I had a great time playing these maps and I must say that AD lends itself very well to creepy, Halloween-themed Quake maps.

My favorites of the bunch in no particular order were 'School of Nothing', 'Entombed', 'Cathedral of Calamity', and 'Crypt of the Outsider'.

The_Pirate Registered 19 November 2021, 10:28

I absolutely love these projects! Well done, everyone. Very well done! Thank you for your hard work - again! :)

Apiai Guest 20 November 2021, 12:44

Very nice missions, thanks to all authors !

hwjam4_grue : don't go on the lava platforms, go directly to the book, you have to jump on the big fire 'arch' (it's hard but possible, always aim the center of the arch to maintain balance) to get the extra-life item, then jump down to the book.

rchavp Registered 26 November 2021, 20:59

As always impressive work and nicely done.

Just one observation for this jam, I found many maps seem to be unfinished or done in a hurry, as there are many gameplay glitches and inconsistencies with which places you can go and how to get back from them without dying or cheating.

MikeTaylor Registered 4 March 2022, 12:53

Am I very stupid? I can't figure out what to do in riktoi's map. Yes, I read the note that one of the torches seems to be different but I can't find one that differs from the rest. Help, please?

riktoi Guest 4 March 2022, 15:22

Sorry, I made the torch a bit too hard to single out of the rest. One of them has a different colored texture. Depending on the version of the map you have it's either brown-ish or green, compared to the others being purple.

MikeTaylor Registered 7 March 2022, 10:07

Thanks, riktoi!

Wow, that's subtle. For anyone having as much trouble as I had, here is a rot13'd spoiler:

Tb gb gur "rkgerzr urng rznanangrf sebz gur fvtvy" oybpxrq qbbejnl ng gur onpx bs gur tbhaq sybbe. Gjb gbepurf gb gur yrsg bs gurer vf gur bar jvgu n irel fyvtugyl qvssrerag pbybhe -- abg va gur synzrf, ohg va gur oenpxrg (juvpu vf cebonoyl jul V zvffrq vg). Urnqohgg gur gbepu gb cebprrq.

MikeTaylor Registered 7 March 2022, 11:48

Having got past the rather obscure torch puzzle in School of Nothing (hwjam4_riktoi) I found the rest of it fascinating: a whole approach to progression that is radically different from what we're used to in Quake, and with a consistently brooding, eldritch atmosphere. It's low on actual combat, and the wide-open spaces don't really justify their existence, but I can forgive that for the sheer novelty of the experience.

MikeTaylor Registered 7 March 2022, 11:51

Greetings from Swamptown! (hwjam4_pqp) also has a nice swamphy atmosphere, though I fear it is its fate forever to be compared unfavourably with the transcendent Foggy Bogbottom. I got stuck for a long while after the fight in the stilt-village that contained the jump-boots, expecting to find a gold key in that area as my reward. Eventually I realised that the jump boots were my reward, and that with them I could get up the area with the bell. That's where the gold key is, something that could definitely be signposted better. Good stuff, though.

MikeTaylor Registered 8 March 2022, 12:13

Mansion Of Chaos (hwjam4_pinchy) is so nearly brilliant, but doesn't quite make it for two reasons -- one important, the other not. The unimportant reason is that the basement is so bland compared with the rest of the house: it looks rushed, and I guess that's because it was. The important reasons is that if you take the teleports in the wrong order, you're screwed. Go to the water one or the one where you appear high up on a crossbeam, and you're OK: you can just teleport back out and keep exploring. But go to the one with the silver key and the swamp-shambler, and there is no way back uness you have already collected both the jump-boots and the aegis of Chthon. The good news is that this would be really really easy to fix -- just a matter of adding one more teleporter. Otherwise, the process of exploring the mansion is really fun. I hope we'll see a reworked standalone release.

MikeTaylor Registered 8 March 2022, 16:01

I really liked the ominous ambience and unusual gameplay of Entombed (hwjam4_omni), espeicially the fresh notion of what difficulty can mean in a Quake level. I enjoyed the puzzle-solving at the start and the sense of discovery throughout.

MikeTaylor Registered 10 March 2022, 14:24

Cathedral of Calamity (hwjam_greenwood) is a lovely big setting with multiple brutal combats that somehow contrive not to feel unfair. I worked my way through this feeling consistently satisfied by my own performance. That's a neat trick for a map to achieve. Also: the cathedral itself, one of a long line of Quake cathedrals, is probably the most beautiful I've seen.

MikeTaylor Registered 10 March 2022, 15:07

I think Crypt of the Outsider is, by design, impossible to complete. You stay in the tomb forever, even after opening the door, because ... you like it there. It the smallest and shortest of these maps, but also the most atmospheric. I like it a lot, for how different it is.

(If there is way to complete it, though, do tell me!)

MikeTaylor Registered 10 March 2022, 15:42

Finally, we come to the least Halloweeny of the maps, the inelegantly named Halls O' Win 2: Sidesteppin' (hwjam4_artistical). This involves a lot of jumping up and down multi-layered claustrophobic areas with the aid of the double jump-boots, and so offers some unusual combats. I enjoyed it a lot, but I did find it a bit hard to keep track of where I was: some different wall textures or light colours would have helped.

More seriously, there are a couple of progression bugs that need ironing out. 1. after I took the gold key and the bars came down, I didn't take the expected path out of the area available to me, and by falling down a different shaft I got stuck in a loop at the bottom with no way out. I had to noclip to get back to the gold-key area and drop down the other way instead. 2. in the end, having gone and got the aegis, it was never necessary for me to go back to where I'd first needed it (button at one end of a lava pit opens a door at the other end) because a different route took me to the area behind the door.

Still, all that side, a refreshingly different Quake experience.

MikeTaylor Registered 10 March 2022, 15:42

The pack as a whole is a real winner: not a single map that wasn't inventive and fun to play. Love it!

homopoluza Registered 14 March 2022, 18:32

Greetings from Swamptown! By PQP At the start on right side of the map there is a pot plant of some sort. You touch it and message appears there are two more. Where are the others?

ssfps Registered 18 April 2022, 15:05

Very high quality pack, loved it.

I accidentally cheesed the first puzzle in hwjam4_riktoi by jumping left through the lava door, over the railing and circling around to the pool area. Only later on did i notice the torch and realized i'd taken a shortcut. That said, there was the nicely placed blocks outside the pool allowing entry, so maybe this was a deliberate path?

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in