Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of jump
Author:Gotshun
Title:Jump
Download:jump.zip (42d8ad2109078e58aa69d22fce404917)
Filesize:3459 Kilobytes
Release date:25.11.2016
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
petes1.bsp7389 KB24.11.2016
petes1.map4561 KB24.11.2016
petes1.txt5 KB25.11.2016

jump.zip - Jump

Large dark medieval brick map in the vein of Honey and Func Map Jam 1. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits.
A version with colored lighting is available here.


Tags: large, medieval, bricks, honey, fog, source, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
death112 Registered, rated this a 3 15 December 2016, 18:58

Pretty well balanced map. I got terribly lost nearing the end and i tried a few times, but i could never find the last enemy :p (NM)

I'm not really sure what your idea behind those "shortcuts" was. You can enter certain areas faster, sure, but I think that was the main reason I got so lost.

Mordheim Registered, rated this a 2 2 January 2017, 2:34

I felt the gameplay was extremely dull unfortunately - you are just drip-fed a stream of unimaginative monster encounters which direct you to loop around the map a couple of times in a way that creates no real sense of progression or purpose. If it wasn't for "follow the monster spawns" gameplay, there would be no sense of direction for the player.

The second (more minor) issue I have is that it seems like it borrows all the architectural elements from czg's Honey (and Sock's Honey Jam map especially), but doesn't really do anything interesting or original with those elements, or add any memorable motifs of its own. Instead of thinking "oh that's some cool architecture" all I think is "oh that's some cool architecture which was just copied from that other map I played".

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 10 January 2017, 14:05

I'm rather nonplussed by Mordheim's criticism, but I suppose this all comes down to opinion. I enjoyed the monster spawning, and the revisiting of earlier areas. The atmosphere is excellent, and only the difficulty, at times, of knowing where to go next (particularly near the end) goes some way to spoiling the experience. I'd call this a solid four-star map.

ArrrCee Registered 27 March 2017, 1:15

Jump on The Quake Grave

I'll start by saying this is a cool map and features some fun fights with the Quake monsters!

I do share the same feelings with those who felt a little lost at certain junctions in the map. It was mainly at the end, looking for the exit, trying to figure out where it actually was because it didn't seem blatantly obvious I guess.

Other than that I felt as though the style and texture usage, though using the Honey theme as everyone has pointed out, most areas look and seem very similar and I feel this adds to the reason why players are getting lost. I know Quake is supposed to be brown but I feel like it needed a little more of something else to make some of the areas pop a bit more. Maybe have some areas with landmarks of some kind so you have something more to remember that you've been there before rather than just relying the door frames and hallways.

Good job though Gotshun, looking forward to more of your work!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in