Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of koohoo
Author:Vondur
Title:The Castle of Koohoo
Download:koohoo.zip (d743648c6b245859adde93c0c24af4d9)
Filesize:2226 Kilobytes
Release date:25.03.2001
Homepage:http://vondur.net
Additional Links: Ethereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourTronyn's Top 10: Elder WorldUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
koohoo/koohoo.txt5 KB10.09.2003
koohoo/pak0.pak5121 KB24.03.2001

koohoo.zip - The Castle of Koohoo

Small mappack in a swamp/tribal setting. Features a start, main level and boss map.

Tags: aztec, underground, outdoors, huge, swamp, temple, mustplay, boss, green, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 40 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ron, rated this a 5 8 May 2010, 16:14
Masterpiece !
Ubermann, rated this a 5 26 June 2010, 21:28
Trully epic.
Qmaster, rated this a 5 21 December 2010, 17:58
Very cool and different, the secrets were hard to find too, but I got 'em all. Nice large swampy temple. 5/5
Spirit, rated this a 5 12 January 2011, 15:25
Voohoo ^__^
Shambler 12 January 2011, 15:25
Hmmm
Spirit, rated this a 5 12 January 2011, 21:54
Yeah, I should probably prevent that.
Daz, rated this a 4 25 November 2011, 20:05
Video playthrough - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=525MXEfoYAM
Fr3n Guest 18 September 2012, 4:51
I've tried to play this damn thing a dozen times since it was released and I get lost with 1/3 of the kills EVERY time. Gotta watch Daz's movie....
Fr3n Guest 9 October 2012, 4:52
I still don't get it....
Really samey architecture just doesn't do it for me.
NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 23:33

It's a short one, but with a nice water temple design that reminds a lot of Heretic II. Certainly worth about 30 minutes of your time!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 6 February 2014, 0:37

I've played through this many times over the years, and it continues to impress. Lots of atmosphere, and feels different from any other level. It's aged well. 5/5.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 4 July 2014, 13:54

Played in normal and nightmare. All secrets found.

Very good levels, that highlights in atmosphere and style mainly.

Mostly linear layout, with some nice exploring parts and even some backtrack ways. Brushwork is almost everything on the axis, with variations in brushwork and architectural style along the map, and with many good details to look at . Brushwork, lighting and textures blend well with each other and contribute to the atmosphere and to gameplay.

Combat style have aged a bit, but is enjoyable, with variations on the type of situations. There is no no specially amazing ones to highlight, apart from maybe the one around the pool, but no really bad ones either. Placement, choice and amount of enemies are good, except for most of shalraths. Difficulty around ID maps. The boss fight is well done, but it is a boring fight, mainly because of the choice of boss (not that bosses that provide enjoyable fights are abundant in Quake custom maps, so this is a minor issue).

Secrets are enjoyable and well placed.

Amount of ammo/health/armor is over what you can carry but OK.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 5 30 August 2016, 17:01

Very cool map. I just L-O-V-E-D the aztec theme and its according architecture. I felt like I was playing a Tomb Raider level in Quake!

Still, it was very linear, with a glaring lack of alternative routes and interconnectedness. I would have put a few puzzles and traps along the way to further enhance the theme, Indy style. Also, the boss fight was very disappointing for two reasons: 1) A green recolor of Chthon, seriously? I wished for an aztec god or something. 2) Waaaaaay too easy to beat. All you have to do is circle strafe around the pool and dose the guy with rockets to put him down without even getting a scratch. There are harder parts in the main map! A few extra enemies around the pool to distract the player would've brought some challenge.

All in all and despite the criticisms, I enjoyed playing this quite a lot and will surely come back to it, if only to find the last secret. One more thing: castle?! It doesn't feel very castle-y. Temple or Tomb would be more fitting.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 30 August 2016, 17:44

There is an alternate route allowing the player to skip about 30% of the map (and die horribly because they miss the SNG this way).

FredBezies Registered, rated this a 5 31 August 2016, 19:57

Found only one secret, but besides this, it is a great map. Really loved it!

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 27 September 2016, 16:23

This map made me wonder what could have been had Quake's Aztec textures not been scrapped. Beautiful architecture which has aged well and a wonderfully consistent texture set make this a stand-out in visual style.

Sadly, the same cannot be said for the gameplay of this map. Although it is hardly poor, it most certainly is bland and uninspired, with poor arena battles and health/armour/ammo balance leaving me feeling uninterested as I progressed. A retextured Cthon battle is a poor end as well; Having him be a simple tank who soaks up the player's ammo is almost as anticlimactic as the original fight, a mistake I have seen numerous mods make when they reimplement him.

I considered rating this a 3, but considering my personal affection for the artwork/brushwork I couldn't bring myself to.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in