Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of masque
Author:Dustin "Tronyn" Geeraert
Title:The Masque of Red Death
Download:masque.zip (f06935126a98b09c21370ac8e305946a)
Filesize:3085 Kilobytes
Release date:12.10.2005
Homepage:http://tronyn.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:hipnotic

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Pak0.PAK7564 KB11.10.2005
Masquereadme.txt5 KB12.10.2005

masque.zip - The Masque of Red Death

Large Medieval mountain fortress with extreme scale and horde combat.

Note: This map requires Scourge of Armagon and an engine port with increased limits. An updated version is available here.


Tags: large, medieval, soa, limits, canyon, hipnotic, old version

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Aen 9 September 2011, 14:28
Amazing!
Spirit, rated this a 3 17 February 2012, 23:25
Crazy and fun in coop.
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 13 September 2013, 7:21

Really cool and fun, love the horde battles on hard. But there's a weird way to sequence break if you get to the secret area with the red armor from the first landing of the spiral staircase after the gold key door... just saying.

boink182 Guest 8 January 2014, 3:50

hell yeeeah! now this is good stuff! at first i didn't think i was gonna like it; i think there should have been just a little more restraint in the very beginning. not because it was overwhelming or too hard, it actually wasn't at all, but just because it felt unnatural and forced somehow. i think maybe just a little bit of corridor combat leading into the main exterior area would have gone a long way to setting the stage. after this minor misstep however, the action very quickly finds a wonderful tempo, and this really was very fun and exciting. very doomish. i think this may be slightly underrated actually.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 10 January 2014, 17:22

Wow. There are levels with better architecture, or more atmosphere, or a more coherent narrative than this, but I doubt there are levels that are more FUN than this. I'd forgotten what a blast it was to smash your way through horde after horde of relatively low-powered enemies (or, later on, high-powered ones). With ammo and health never in short supply, some would call this map unbalanced. I didn't care. It was awesome. Jumps straight into my all-time top half-dozen maps. And need I say, 5/5.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 13 January 2014, 16:23

I just played straight through this again. Love love love it!

There are a couple of places where I hit switches, then the doors of the room I'm in lock; then unlock again after a second or two and I'm free to go. It feels as though waves of monsters are meant to spawn in, and I should have to fight them to progress, but they never come. It's the sort of misbehaviour that I've sometimes seen when I've played Quoth maps without Quoth, but this is not a Quoth map. (And yes, I remembered the -hipnotic command-line argument.) Is anyone else seeing this?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 January 2014, 11:55

Just played through on nightmare, in case the monsters only spawn in at that level. Nope. Still those odd moments of press a switch, doors close, wait, doors open.

Also, the penultimate horde that materialises on the plain at the very top of the map only sometimes seems to come: it arrived on my first play-though, but not on the second or third. I have no idea why. Anyone? It left me with an unsatisfying 249/259 monsters.

Anyway, none of these bugs detract from how awesomely playable this map is. I stand right behind my 5/5 score.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 15 January 2014, 11:32

Nightmare never adds any monsters or items that aren't there already

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 January 2014, 13:16

I know Nightmare monster counts are always the same as Hard. I wondered if there was a teleporting trigger that only fired in Nightmare.

Daz Registered, rated this a 4 13 March 2014, 14:09
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 27 June 2014, 11:46

NOTE: use the revised release of Masque instead of this one: https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/masque_final.html

It fixes the bug I mentioned when no monsters teleport in.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in