Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of masque_final
Author:Dustin "Tronyn" Geeraert
Title:The Masque of Red Death (a154a423ff3d2cc76586d7fa9d649c80)
Filesize:3659 Kilobytes
Release date:13.10.2006
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Masquereadme.txt5 KB13.10.2006
pak0.pak9079 KB13.10.2006 - The Masque of Red Death

Large Medieval mountain fortress with an extreme scale and horde combat. Unlike the previous version, this one does not require Scourge of Armagon.

Note: This map requires an engine with increased limits.

Tags: large, medieval, soa, limits, canyon

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 27 June 2014, 11:45

Replayed this, and once more loved it to pieces. The horde combats are a welcome throwback to Doom II, and there's a lovely sense of progression.

This "final" version fixes the problem I mentioned in my review of the original release -- see -- where sometimes it felt as though a wave of monsters was supposed to teleport in, but none came. In this version, they certainly do come!

mmm Registered, rated this a 4 13 July 2014, 17:35

There were a couple of tough places and I would've liked some more room to maneuver, but it's good overall.

FredBezies Guest 25 December 2014, 15:55

Very hard map, even on easy skill. Very doom-like indeed. And nightmare access in kinda simple when you know to look at the right place. Hint : play a little with skill selection pole :)

Nabernizer Registered, rated this a 5 6 June 2016, 10:45

One of my favorites. Few other maps can match the progression feel of this one.

Atzuras Guest 27 March 2017, 1:30

Nice map for horde combats from the very begining to the bitter end. Some of them are just insane if you do not manage to get the hidden secrets. Others are just so hard that makes you reconsider your skill selection. But overall feeling is a good time shooting monsters in fascinating spaces. Solid 4/5.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 6 March 2018, 21:58

Played through on nightmare. Wow. That was hard. Just surviving leaving the initial room is a major challenge!

etb Guest, rated this a 4 13 March 2018, 21:13

Played again after years and still one of the best map ever. I did not find it so hard as ammo is plentiful and often you get Quads for the harder battles. Great sense of progression, no dead moments, different architectures and environments...

My only complain? As we know the AI of the monsters sucks and often it shows. Ogres cannot hit you; Shalrats throw their purple ball against walls, and in general monster walk stupidly unable to reach you... When it happens it breaks the immersion and the joyful carnage feeling.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Quake was released in