Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of masque_final
Author:Dustin "Tronyn" Geeraert
Title:The Masque of Red Death
Download:masque_final.zip (a154a423ff3d2cc76586d7fa9d649c80)
Filesize:3659 Kilobytes
Release date:13.10.2006
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Masquereadme.txt5 KB13.10.2006
pak0.pak9079 KB13.10.2006

masque_final.zip

The Masque of Red Death

Large Medieval mountain fortress with an extreme scale and horde combat. Unlike the previous version, this one does not require Scourge of Armagon.

Note: This map requires an engine with increased limits.


Tags: large, medieval, soa, limits, canyon

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.6/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 27 June 2014, 11:45

Replayed this, and once more loved it to pieces. The horde combats are a welcome throwback to Doom II, and there's a lovely sense of progression.

This "final" version fixes the problem I mentioned in my review of the original release -- see https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/masque.html -- where sometimes it felt as though a wave of monsters was supposed to teleport in, but none came. In this version, they certainly do come!

mmm Registered, rated this a 4 13 July 2014, 17:35

There were a couple of tough places and I would've liked some more room to maneuver, but it's good overall.

FredBezies Guest 25 December 2014, 15:55

Very hard map, even on easy skill. Very doom-like indeed. And nightmare access in kinda simple when you know to look at the right place. Hint : play a little with skill selection pole :)

Nabernizer Registered, rated this a 5 6 June 2016, 10:45

One of my favorites. Few other maps can match the progression feel of this one.

Atzuras Guest 27 March 2017, 1:30

Nice map for horde combats from the very begining to the bitter end. Some of them are just insane if you do not manage to get the hidden secrets. Others are just so hard that makes you reconsider your skill selection. But overall feeling is a good time shooting monsters in fascinating spaces. Solid 4/5.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 6 March 2018, 21:58

Played through on nightmare. Wow. That was hard. Just surviving leaving the initial room is a major challenge!

etb Guest, rated this a 4 13 March 2018, 21:13

Played again after years and still one of the best map ever. I did not find it so hard as ammo is plentiful and often you get Quads for the harder battles. Great sense of progression, no dead moments, different architectures and environments...

My only complain? As we know the AI of the monsters sucks and often it shows. Ogres cannot hit you; Shalrats throw their purple ball against walls, and in general monster walk stupidly unable to reach you... When it happens it breaks the immersion and the joyful carnage feeling.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 23 June 2018, 13:12

Probably my favorite Tronyn map of all time, even though the usual excesses are still present.

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 18 February 2020, 17:42

Played on hard, this map is a f--- fest for the enemy, jesus so hard, but great map, i love getting them all in fighting with each other.

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 1 July 2020, 20:59

Started on hard setting, notarget command,went pressed all buttons, collected keys,opened all doorkeys,got the rune, collected all ammo and weapons,while all the enemy are spawning,went back to 1st start room,took no target off,so all enemy are aware.Now the fun really begins,5 star map.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 3 July 2020, 0:05

As a map designer who spends a lot of time focusing on logical and rewarding progression with a good flow, that comment frightens me.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 3 July 2020, 0:38

Well, it got me googling what notarget does, so at least I learned something (which however I don't think I'll ever use).

Ninja, this seems like an odd approach to playing anyone's map. I suppose you'll end up with even more monsters to deal with at the same time than if you had played the map as intended, so I'm struggling to reconcile this with your recent complaints about (and 1 star ratings of) Tronyn's other maps. Perhaps the ensuing clusterfuck leads to massive infighting doing most of the work for you. I also love finding ways to take advantage of that, but using cheats to achieve it would deprive me of all the fun and rewarding aspects.

Spirit Registered 3 July 2020, 11:54

To each their own, Ninja's hack sounds like lots of fun. :D

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 3 July 2020, 17:08

Ermmm i did play and finish the game before hand ,on nightmare level, with no cheats or whatever else, killed all and found all secrets, after i acheived that, wanted some fun with it, so tried the no target command as i explained before.The map is free, i gave 5 star, but the way i play it, is down to me isnt it, or is this not a free world ?

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 3 July 2020, 18:07

Of course it is. Again: "I'm struggling to reconcile [your inclination to fighting huge hordes] with your recent complaints [about Tronyn's other maps being too hard]". Nothing else.

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 3 July 2020, 23:44

Are you in love with Tronyn ? I race motorbikes for a living, i dont moan, if another team has a better bike, i just knuckle down, i try to be faster...end of subject, leave be.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 4 July 2020, 0:30

This conversation makes no sense, so let's drop it indeed. We can always take it up again when we share a common language.

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 5 July 2020, 0:45

One more note, there are 100s of commands with quake, but you can just bind them to a certain letter on the keyboard of your choice,so dont need to write command, you just press that letter instead, you bind them on config.cfg file, theres even 1 command that puts you on quad damage all the way threw game.Ive played quake, on the amiga days, quake 2 was not as good, quake 3 waste of time, quake 4 was best since quake 1,but still not as good. There are commands to make quake look so good in graphics also,google or bing them.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 5 July 2020, 23:12

Every player can cheat, but it is not what author wanted to see from you. I finished this map on Nightmare, without cheats, this map is really great, and it is very big and use only classic textures, rare mix.

Escalate_krsk Registered, rated this a 5 13 October 2020, 20:21

Completed this map.... 5/5. No new monstes/weapons/whatever, just... classic Quake level, only BIG and packed with "patented" horde-combat by Tronyn. Solid and fun!

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 5 23 October 2020, 16:43

In this year, Anno Domine 2020, Tronyn's backstory to this map seems both relevant and done with foresight of what was to come.... I'm a little spooked!

Extremely nice map, even now, 14 years later!

Limpet Arch Registered, rated this a 5 25 March 2021, 22:27

Sidenote: Quakespasm Spiked 0.93.2 actually works with this map. I am surprised it flawlessly handled 404 enemies like if it was nothing while AD's levels having such quantities reminds me the fact I used to have a garbage PC.

An absolute must to add in the wallet of custom maps.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in