Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of mexx9
Author:Marcus Dromowicz
Title:Penumbra of Domination
Download:mexx9.zip (c2f7e715473e105d526b5b816e91a685)
Filesize:4893 Kilobytes
Release date:12.09.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's ExcellenceSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
PAK0.PAK10903 KB12.09.1997
MEXX9.TXT20 KB12.09.1997

mexx9.zip - Penumbra of Domination

Episode with four varied, medium to large Wizard maps, as well as a start map. Also features some modified progs, like rotation, breaking walls and cutscenes.

Tags: classic, oldschool, episode, wizard, boss, chthon, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 32 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ron, rated this a 5 7 February 2010, 10:48
This fantastic mod may look a little dated by now, but it's right up there with the best of them ! The secrets are all very good too, and I think this is the first pack where you get a rune if you find them all. The second map is fantastic and the end battle is one of the best I've seen in Quake. I've played this quite a few times but I'm always amazed by it's quality. And that for a 1997 release. Really, you must get this !
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:17
Yeah I agree, perhaps not quite as good as Insomnia (but it's older), but nonetheless it's another example of why a smaller mini-episode can become just as appealing as a large, quality mission pack.
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:18
Oh and I forgot to mention that if it wasn't for Zerstorer, this would EASILY be the best free release of 1997 (tie this with mexx10 though).
Qmaster, rated this a 5 22 December 2010, 18:05
This was a blast! Awesome episode! 5/5

First custom maps that I've seen that really make excellent use of Mispack 1's entities. Very reminescent of Ancient Realms and reminds me a little of my all time Quake favorite, the Black Cathedral. Awesome! The end boss fight room could have looked better though.
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 9 May 2012, 22:25
Excellent work. Final boss fight was awesome!
Fr3n Guest 10 October 2012, 7:01
Want a laugh? Look at this screenshot and then check the screenshot for Marcher Fortress. Same idea with a few things done differently. ;)
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 26 November 2013, 1:58

Evidently the odd one out here, but I found this episode decidedly underwhelming.

Not that it's bad, but I just found it very plain and forgettable -- especially compared to such impressive episodes/map packs from the same year as Beyond Belief, Prodigy SE and Zerstörer. I found the author's next mini-episode, The Cassandra Calamity (mexx10), to be streets ahead of this.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 14:27

Really nice levels (considering its early release in 1997), presented with a surprisingly good storyline which really adds to the dark atmosphere. Even standard monsters like an Ogre or Shamblers can turn into special (mini) bosses occasionally, so watch out!

FredBezies Guest, rated this a 5 28 June 2014, 1:03

Well, it is one of the simplest access to Nightmare difficulty level I've ever find :D

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 1 July 2014, 14:51

I'd forgotten how good this one is -- several memorable set-pieces (especially getting the silver key on the last map!) and lots of enjoyably over-the-top horde battles. Last of all, Probably my favourite boss-fight in any level I can recall. (I played on Hard, and thought it was judged just about perfectly.)

Redfield Registered 15 October 2017, 7:47

One of the greatest custom Quake episodes of all time, and some of the best examples of Quake maps from the 90s. Marcus has created a unique and memorable Quake experience that stands the test of time. This was one of the first custom mods I ever played and it immediately drew me in to the world it created. More than just a handful of maps, the author tells an amazing story that continues as the player advances through the maps.

Custom sounds, monsters, and some great use of cutscenes make this a unique experience. Marcus tells a dark fantasy story which is also flushed out in the readme and is a great read on its own. There is really a sense of place created with the maps and the story being told here. Gameplay is exciting with some great traps and monster ambushes, and boss battles against modified Quake monsters. Plenty of secrets and even some super secrets will keep enthusiasts that want to explore very busy with this episode.

Some of the geometry is simple by today's standards, but these maps were created 20 years ago using archaic tools. There really is a lot to enjoy here, and these maps are a vital part of Quake history. Highly recommended!

AnthonyS Registered, rated this a 5 30 October 2017, 0:36

This was very fun to play. Very enjoyable.

Greed Registered, rated this a 5 8 November 2017, 18:21

Can't believe this was made in 1997, it's so amazing and fun to play.

JMP Guest 29 January 2018, 9:38

I completely agree with Icantthink... after playing the first two maps, I was too bored to finish this. The first map has a very Doom-like layout, totally linear progression, and repetitive combat involving an endless series of hordes and monsters teleporting right behind or right in front of the player whenever he presses a button or gets a key. The second map has a more typical Quake atmosphere but once again progression is linear and the combat is a repetitive grind. After 20th or 30th time, teleport ambushes lost any thrill or novelty they might have had and just became an exercise in frustration.

I can see why people like this: for 1997 the maps are impressively large, the architecture and texturing are well done, and there are some interesting gameplay tweaks. But despite all that, I found it really monotonous.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in