Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of mfxsp10
Author:mfx
Title:Pain in the Arch
Download:mfxsp10.zip (0a6ef17914c6df0aab849c958aec5698)
Filesize:2075 Kilobytes
Release date:23.04.2013
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
mfxsp10.bsp4224 KB23.04.2013
mfxsp10.map5379 KB23.04.2013
mfxsp10.txt4 KB23.04.2013

mfxsp10.zip - Pain in the Arch

Medium-sized underground ruins in Knave style with many tight spaces and initially limited supplies. The map source is included.

Tags: medium, knave, underground, caverns, ruins, quoth, source, than, large, interconnectivity, boss

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 27 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
mfx Registered, rated this a 5 30 April 2013, 2:45

did anyone notice the misaligned texture in this screenshot? Right next to the arch... fyi greets mfx

mfx Registered, rated this a 5 30 April 2013, 3:08

I can rate my own maps? Romero must have dreamed of that...

user7346 Registered, rated this a 5 4 May 2013, 1:14

God I love those maps...
GORGEOUS!

JohnNy_cz Guest 5 May 2013, 14:04

Holy crap, awesome map!

Aen Registered, rated this a 5 6 May 2013, 20:09

One of the best! Excellent map, Mfx! Greetings from Edirne/Turkey

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 7 June 2013, 1:49

I am really in awe of modern maps like this that combine such great gameplay with, there's no other word for it, beauty.

I have only one criticism really: like a lot of maps it's very stingy with ammunition early on, before eventually giving you waaay more than you need at the end. I played on hard, and at the point where I met the first starfish all the ammo I had left was about 15 nails -- nowhere near enough to kill it. I had to run past, grab the stocks where all the knights were, run back and retreat to lick my wounds (down to 8 health) before coming back slowly and carefully to snipe.

In some ways, being forced into an exploit like that is fun, but it did feel a bit imbalanced.

Anyway -- that wasn't enough to prevent me scoring this with a perfect five stars.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 15 September 2013, 2:44

Reminds me a bit of Subterranean Library—fine, because they're both two of my favorite maps!

This one has all of my favorite things: large size (though it's not huge), a good deal of interconnectivity, and mutually complimentary architecture and monster placement. Fun boss, too!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 30 September 2015, 17:12

Hey, whatever happened to mxfsp9?

NewHouse Registered, rated this a 5 30 November 2016, 10:37

One of my favorites, what else could I say*

Repus Guest 4 November 2017, 20:39

What a boring level!!!

There are death nights hiding behind columns in endless corridors. Once you turn around the corner you get to go through the same looking narrow corridors with... more death nights!

At the end to finish the level you have to jump into the void... on a rock. Where's the promised boss?

Repulser Guest 6 November 2017, 3:46

Good map, the exploration is great and the sense of place even better!! What it needs is more beefy combat. 4/5

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in