Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of mfxsp5
Author:mfx
Title:Intermission / Kleins Bottle
Download:mfxsp5.zip (b30bd34157e34b25a123ee1d7ad7c0fd)
Filesize:2879 Kilobytes
Release date:21.04.2014
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/duskebk.tga593 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duskedn.tga769 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duskeft.tga581 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duskelf.tga572 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duskert.tga672 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duskeup.tga460 KB15.07.2004
maps/mfxsp5.bsp3061 KB21.04.2014
mfxsp5.txt3 KB21.04.2014

mfxsp5.zip - Intermission / Kleins Bottle

A small mixed themed map for Q1, intended as a prelude for mfxsp8.

Tags: small, mix-themed, floating, tower

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 4 21 April 2014, 22:42

Short and sweet.

ijed Guest 22 April 2014, 0:46

Nice looking, a bit intricate in places. Overall vibe was cool, although a few shamblers are the LG would have made things a bit more hectic.

1st Run Demo: http://www.quaketastic.com/files/demos/mfxsp5ijed.zip

KillPixel Registered, rated this a 4 22 April 2014, 4:40

I dig it. Unique look and feel. I haven't really seen Quake like this. Felt HL2ish, ravenholm-ey with a dash of creepy whimsicality, somewhat like the Alice games. Funny how both those games have strong ties to Quake.

Melchior Guest 22 April 2014, 9:01

Unique and somehow very detailed map. Hard difficulty is a challenge, as stated in the readme. MFXSP8 gets a lot easier, with this map played in advance. I recommend playin it!

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 22 April 2014, 21:41

I love the Warpspasm-like atmosphere of it. And how well the thin details of the wooden tower work. Nice!

Daz Registered, rated this a 4 22 April 2014, 21:49
mmm Registered, rated this a 4 10 May 2014, 19:10

Awesome short map with a couple of secrets.

FacilisDK Registered, rated this a 5 18 May 2014, 16:40

Oooh the details are so nice and the gameplay kept me very entertained :)

SleepwalkR Registered, rated this a 4 18 May 2014, 18:21

The view from the start point gives me a hardon.

Tom Guest 28 May 2014, 15:41

Groovy map mfx! You make inspiring works, this is good.

mfx Registered 28 May 2014, 16:04

Thanks Tom! At least i inspired old Sock;)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 3 June 2014, 23:06

Very beautiful indeed, but I found it a bit frustrating to play because it suffers from my second most-hated feature: monsters that spawn in right on top of you. (Top most hated is scenery that you get stuck on while trying to avoid monsters.)

danly Registered, rated this a 3 8 June 2014, 16:32

The aesthetics are nice but there are severe technical issues that keep it from being as enjoyable as it could be.

Primarily, monsters become easily stuck on the terrain, making combat rather clumsy and often times far too simple. Moreover, seeing monsters waiting in the distance as three silhouettes against a grey background felt more 'unfinished' than ominous.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 8 December 2014, 3:07

After playing this a second time I have to say the combat isn't too special—I would lower my rating to a 4 to account for that if I could—mostly because the way the paths are constructed to be relatively narrow really limit everyone's (player's and monster's) movement. The ambush with the fiends early on is cool, you can get them to leap off the edge which is quite challenging if the other monsters are after you as well. The layout doesn't make the fight with the couple waves of vores that interesting: it became about sniping without any other monsters to force you out of cover, and the terrain doesn't encourage you to anyhow.

The level geometry felt a bit wonky at times but only really got in the way of gameplay in the spiral staircase. Despite that it's a truly beautiful map, though. I love the skybox and overall look (even if the encounter design isn't spot-on), and the strong Alice vibe another commenter mentioned.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 8 December 2014, 3:08

fwiw, Hard difficulty felt less hard than the second time around for me. It was mostly a matter of how to deal with those vores.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in