Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of moonlite
Author:Tyrann
Title:Moonlight Assault
Download:moonlite.zip (42ea14cc6fd53746150bf0c6da5798a0)
Filesize:1270 Kilobytes
Release date:13.08.1999
Homepage:http://www.disenchant.net
Additional Links: erc's QualityEthereal HellQuake Map HotelRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourTronyn's Top 10: MedievalUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
moonlite.bsp3271 KB13.08.1999
moonlite.txt9 KB13.08.1999

moonlite.zip - Moonlight Assault

Very large interconnected medieval castle with yards and outside areas - semi-nonlinear, explorational kind of gameplay.

Tags: medieval, exploration, huge, classic, castle, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Aen 29 July 2011, 17:03
Excellent!
Daz, rated this a 4 6 December 2011, 7:38
Video playthrough : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WR0Ol1UmNQQ
Drew 7 August 2012, 20:59
5/5 one of my all time favourites, despite the sometimes overly clean feel of the proceedings. Mandatory.
NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 2 March 2014, 21:47

One of the best castle maps you can play with Quake. It's huge (took me around 25mins on Normal), features well-balanced gameplay and fits the Quake theme perfectly in general. The fight after grabbing the rune is a nice climax and wraps up the level nicely. [Side info: The exit leads to "Aggressor" (aggressr.bsp), a DM-only map by the same author. You don't need to have it, but just in case you wonder.]

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 7 July 2014, 12:03

I've played through this several times. It passes the time pleasantly enough but I can't at all understand why it gets so very much love -- e.g. from the links on the left, check out the very enthusiastic TEAMShambler review; Tronyn's Top 10 Medieval Maps which ranks this above This Onion and Day of the Lords (both all-time classics); and Underworldfan's ranking, which puts it ahead of Koohoo and the Once Upon an Atrocity (ditto).

Moonlite Assault is pleasant to play, but quite without atmosphere and free of surprises. I rate it 3*.

44activa Guest 6 December 2015, 19:43

Really pleasant map to play! It's big but cool to explore, because it's a fucking castle! And castles are awesome!

It kinda works like a real Castle, so it's pretty immersive. Reccomended!

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 3 18 September 2016, 17:26

I completely agree with Mike Taylor.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 27 October 2016, 17:55

Gotta agree with the previous comments. The map has an brilliant layout, and it's quite pleasant visually, but it lacks the grittiness, detail, and eerie atmosphere I like to see in Quake maps. "Overly clean feel of the proceedings" is a good way to describe it--the metal hallways and the courtyards feel samey after a while, and the combat is free of surprises until close to the end.

"Moonlight" is consistently well-crafted, but despite the ambition of such a large, interconnected map, it ends up being a little underwhelming.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in