Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of morbid_2
Author:Daniel Vogt (MoRbId)
Title:Morbidity: 2
Download:morbid_2.zip (32e0b0450a3f335718fcf4cbba72bcd5)
Filesize:757 Kilobytes
Release date:31.10.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityTEAMShamblerTronyn's Top 10: RunicUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Morbid_2.txt6 KB31.10.1997
morbid_2.bsp1809 KB08.10.1997

morbid_2.zip

Morbidity: 2

Small to medium custom Metal map with a Base bit at the beginning.

Tags: hard, underground, metal, base, medium, puzzles, traps, oldschool, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 30 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit, rated this a 5 11 July 2008, 20:09
Wow, what a gem. Imaginative puzzles and traps, nice design, some fantastic moving things.
A bit short on health maybe and you should quicksave a lot.
rj 9 May 2010, 22:37
classic, one of the best metal maps ever! so much atmosphere in this one
Ubermann, rated this a 5 25 June 2010, 18:03
A five stars map.

Don't miss it.
jackieben Registered, rated this a 5 27 January 2014, 21:27

In comparison with " Morbidity: 1 ", an ancient temple theme is dominant in this one, less weapons, more complex architecture

spacey Guest 3 June 2014, 22:48

Too many monsters, even on easy. I mean, having to fight two shamblers with no room to maneuver or hide (either you fall from the ledge and die or stay where you are and get fried by the beasts)?... come on! An unpleasant experience for sure.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 26 November 2014, 12:25

Played in nightmare. 2/4 secrets found. All enemies have been given a merciful death.

Good indeed. Overall a 4+ map, but thanks to inventive gameplay this map shines a lot. Decent mostly linear with backtracking layout, good brushwork, difficulty around e4 maps or higher, amount of ammo/armour around ID maps, and health a bit lacking sometimes. Ambushes are well done, and half of them will hit the player for sure the first time. Secrets are fun to find and with adequate rewards. Liked a lot the combat previous to the wind tunnel's room, the rune puzzle and knights' puzzle and the moving objects, and the ambushes.

The ambush spacey comments about has at least 2 hiding places from the shamblers, and it is possible to avoid being hit entirely if the player plans ahead. If this measures aren't taken, yes, the player is in the open dead for sure, as you can't even use one of the shamblers as cover.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 26 May 2016, 23:09

A solid old school runic map of id quality or better, and much much better than its predecessor Morbidity 1 especially in the texture and lighting departments. There are a few really interesting ideas here too, especially the rune block puzzle. The ending was quite hairy for me, mostly because I found myself with a dearth of nails with which to deal with the shamblers, but I just barely managed to get through by the skin of my teeth. Recommended for skilled players.

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 4 23 March 2017, 20:10

I rated this map a 4. Nice brushwork, theme, use of puzzles, monster placement. I found the supply of ammo and health to both be a little low, making the map quite challenging.

Greenwood Registered, rated this a 5 1 June 2020, 8:52

You're guaranteed to die in this map. It's brutal. It's also excellent, especially for its age. Ambushes, traps, puzzles, tons of moving geometry ...it's a must play. Just save a lot, because you'll need it. Even the last battles are identical on "easy." Once you figure out a strategy, it's doable in one go. A classic in my book.

wuaskie Registered, rated this a 3 18 January 2022, 23:44

DNF. This is an excellent dungeon map. It's my fault that I died to the lava bridge trap on a quicksaveless skill 2 run, but I can also criticize it for giving no warning whatsoever. The bridge could have retracted a little more slowly. Two glowing runes isn't enough to warn of an instant death trap, not in a map that you have to slowly take your time in, a fast reaction trap like that wasn't set up beforehand. With slightly more clever design, the map wouldn't need the "make sure to quicksave" warning. I also wandered around for a long time before I noticed I could shoot the button again to open the floor portal underneath the runes. Other than that, the map up until the lava trap was great, challenging in a really good way. Good architecture for the time as well, almost id-like. I didn't finish it, the map beat me at that trap. A shame.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in