Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of museum
Author:Steve Rescoe
Title:Museum
Download:museum.zip (cd83017e60b542850624994e3a43aa71)
Filesize:608 Kilobytes
Release date:17.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
MUSEUM.bsp1438 KB17.11.1996
Museum.txt4 KB17.11.1996

museum.zip - Museum

Small museum with some custom textures and Quake art. Barely average.

Tags: small, museum, realism, textures, chthon, dm, marble, boss

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.4/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 29 January 2014, 12:04

A fun map and good implementation of an original idea. What is particularity nice is that (most of) the pictures in the exhibition areas have indirect messages about the map, either foreshadowing events or providing oblique hints.

3 plus; recommended.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 29 January 2014, 12:15

"particularly" -- D'oh!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 29 January 2014, 13:21

3 minus for me, but it all comes out as 3 :-)

It's a nice idea, but the execution is very uninspired.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 21 February 2014, 1:35

a unique idea, executed pretty well for 1996, i think. i liked the artwork. a little cramped for my taste, but worth a try.

3 plus for me.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 18 June 2014, 1:55

WOW. It was awesome. Although, hiding key in one of boxes is just unfair >_<

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 27 February 2015, 15:05

Museum on The Quake Grave

I ramble a bit at the end of the video about this map, but I can sum it up by just saying that with a bit more spacing and a bit more polish with textures used, this map could've been pretty awesome!

That's not to say it's not already a good map, it's good. It's just that the map feels very cramped. The first half of it that takes place in the museum lobby and then the rooms with paintings (which are pretty funny btw) just feels claustrophobic. When you progress to after this section though, the map opens up a little and does some really fun things and the enemy placement then becomes a little more understandable.

It's a strange flowing map and it was really close to greatness but just didn't quite make it. However, it's still worth playing to see the paintings in the museum and some of the cool ideas Steve had towards the middle of the map.

Noxat Registered, rated this a 4 7 August 2015, 18:22

I enjoyed this map quite a bit! Although the decoration in the museum was definitely sparse and poorly lit, it made up for it with some neat custom textures and pictures. The challenge was fairly decent on hard difficulty. I'm not a big fan of hiding the silver key, but I found it before I became frustrated. Most of the secrets were obvious although a few were clever, and I stumbled upon one completely by accident. The final boss fight was a bit grating but then I figured out I was doing it wrong, so I couldn't fully blame the author. All-in-all a fun map that is thematically unique and worth giving a look.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 11 September 2017, 22:21

I quite liked this map! I liked the polish put on the library, for example, with some individually brushed books. The cramped space probably bothered the fiends more than it did me, which was not much.

A few unpolished things stuck out for me: I accidentally found the silver key, but had I not found it, it could very well have become quite a frustrating task. Also, due to an apparent oversight with a floor button, the end boss can actually be beaten pretty quickly.

Earlier I mentioned how I liked the polish in the actual museum part, but the middle part past the silver door was less polished in my opinion. Maybe more spacious, but I guess it just made it more apparent that the walls were mostly just green marble. I guess it did change the gameplay and combat, so there was some nice variation in the map.

I'd still definitely recommend trying out this map!

pmk Guest 25 October 2018, 2:00

great 1996 quake map with intense combat and well thought out game play. I liked the custom art that was added into this level such as the skull on the wall as well as the ride on the stone dragon at the basement of the museum. The battle with Chilton at the end of the level was a nice surprise as well. Overall would recommend playing this playing this map even though it is short and give it a 4 out of 5 rating because it is fun to play through.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in