Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ne_lend_doom
Author:necros
Title:The Living End & Elder World Waystation
Download:ne_lend_doom.zip (172889b0f642c63849090a7d011d1c82)
Filesize:10953 Kilobytes
Release date:18.08.2008
Homepage:http://necros.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ne_lend.txt5 KB18.08.2008
maps/ne_doom.bsp4181 KB18.08.2008
maps/ne_lend.bsp6786 KB18.08.2008
ne_doom.txt6 KB18.08.2008
sound/ambience/grinder.wav259 KB11.08.2004
sound/ambience/teeth.wav51 KB11.08.2004
sound/ambience/suspense.wav389 KB21.02.2004
sound/necros/lock.wav29 KB16.07.2004
sound/necros/drivshft.wav377 KB18.08.2008
sound/necros/cavern.wav280 KB16.08.2008
sound/necros/gen_loop.wav44 KB11.08.2004
sound/necros/wat_cave.wav115 KB16.08.2008
sound/necros/gen_on.wav94 KB16.07.2004
sound/necros/spikeoff.wav145 KB18.07.2004
sound/necros/gate.wav155 KB09.08.2005
sound/necros/cavern2.wav1813 KB16.08.2008
sound/necros/ne_lava.wav673 KB16.08.2008
sound/necros/spikelp.wav33 KB17.07.2004
sound/necros/gateuse.wav111 KB15.08.2008
gfx/env/nebuladn.tga769 KB17.10.2005
gfx/env/nebulaft.tga769 KB17.10.2005
gfx/env/nebulart.tga769 KB17.10.2005
gfx/env/nebulabk.tga769 KB17.10.2005
gfx/env/nebulalf.tga769 KB17.10.2005
gfx/env/nebulaup.tga769 KB17.10.2005
skybox_nebula.txt1 KB18.08.2008

ne_lend_doom.zip - The Living End & Elder World Waystation

A two-map SP unit: a large medieval dungeon in an underground lava cave (using rtGnosis textures), and a medium sized IKbase stargate facility. Great construction and detailing in both, though ne_lend might put some strain on slower computers. Also features a couple of new sounds and a skybox.

Tags: quoth, doom 2 map29, base, space, ikbase, m, mustplay, mini pack, underground, lava cava, unreal, doom, rtgnosis

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.6/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:35
Two excellent maps. I love Doom II's Living End too. Get it.
Ankh, rated this a 4 8 April 2010, 21:07
Living End is one of my favourite maps. Perfect lighting. Good ambushes. Interesting layout. Rewarding secrets.
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 8 April 2010, 21:16
I loved it too. Awesome architecture. Not a lot of monsters but it makes good use of the monsters it does have. Plus Living End is one of my favoirte Doom II maps, can't turn down a Quake map inspired by it!
Daz, rated this a 5 19 March 2012, 17:48
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPKhoDDV2IU Video playthrough of ne_lend.
hkBattousai, rated this a 3 30 June 2012, 9:46
Could have been excellent if there weren't so much disturbing traps.
QuakeForever Registered, rated this a 5 18 February 2014, 7:42

Best re-imagining of a Doom level in Quake that I've seen. The Living End is my favorite Doom II level as well or very close at least. Don't miss Waystation either, it's a good side map.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 25 September 2014, 19:25

LAVA CAVA

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 6 November 2014, 22:24

ne_doom (“Elder World Waystation”) is decidedly the more interesting of the two maps for me, both visually and in terms of gameplay. It's great to be able to run around a space station which is visibly floating in space (the skybox here is perfect), and actually have a sense of interacting with the station's machinery. I also like the way one gets to ne_doom from ne_lend (though immersion is broken somewhat by the player's not keeping their weapons from the previous map). Unfortunately a lot of the potential atmosphere gets lost in the perpetual onslaught – even though monster count is luckily not quite as insane here as in ne_lend, combat is nonetheless relentless and taxing.

As for ne_lend (“The Living End”): I understand the Doom nostalgia, but to me personally this kind of gameplay is just exhausting (I was never a big fan of the later episodes of Doom either): waves upon waves of monsters, and countless setups where you just perform some arbitrary action (e.g. push some button) to release the next wave(s) of enemies, because that is obviously the only way to progress. Needless to say, it is very competently put together, but neither the gameplay nor the environment really speak to me (I'm not a big fan of the "This Onion"-ish black lava cavern aesthetic).

So overall, ne_lend (“The Living End”) is a 3/5 to me, and ne_doom (“Elder World Waystation”) a 4/5 -- so 3 plus overall, despite how objectively good both maps may be (and I realise I am in the minority here, judging by the other comments and ratings).

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 6 November 2014, 22:43

Edit: I guess what I said about Doom's later episodes above does not make sense, as ne_lend (as I now l realise) is based on a Doom 2 map (d'oh!) -- but perhaps the same applies anyway (it's been a long while since I last played Doom 2, so I'm not sure). The point was just that I'm not a big fan of the kind of relentlessly insane twitchy gameplay that some players love, and which necros seems to emulate here.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 7 November 2014, 10:28

Wow. Amazing how much different maps appeal to different people. And in saying that, I don't just mean "Icant is wrong", as I've read enough of his comments to have a lot of respect for his opinions. We evidently just come from completely different directions on this. I loved The Living End, and only somewhat liked The Elder World Waystation. Still, taken as a pack, these are magnificent, and I couldn't not award five stars.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 5 January 2018, 13:01

Great beautiful map, textures and visual style looks very good. One minus - a lot of fat-ass monsters at the beginning, before I has a grenade launcher, they slows down gameplay. At the middle, when ~10 knights run to my grenades, gameplay was good.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in