Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of nehahra
Author:Nehahra Team
Title:Nehahra
Download:nehahra.zip (878693eadf73d5fffcaf6715e1b058bb)
Filesize:53817 Kilobytes
Release date:17.08.2000
Homepage:http://nehahra.planetquake.gamespy.com/
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceEthereal HellQuake TerminusRetroquakeTEAMShambler (A)TEAMShambler (B)Ten FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
nehahra.exe641 KB27.08.2000
nehexe.exe428 KB08.03.2001
nehahra/readmeneh.txt14 KB11.03.2008
nehahra/pak3.pak62185 KB27.08.2000
nehahra/help.txt1 KB21.05.2001
nehahra/nehmodfix.txt1 KB04.02.2001
nehahra/pak1.pak27915 KB26.08.2000
nehahra/pak2.pak56330 KB22.08.2000
nehahra/nehahra.txt20 KB22.05.2001
nehahra/progs.dat998 KB05.06.2001
nehahra/mods/neh6.xm420 KB19.09.2000
nehahra/mods/neh1.xm361 KB19.09.2000
nehahra/mods/neh3m1a.xm624 KB03.02.2001
nehahra/mods/neh8.xm523 KB19.09.2000
nehahra/mods/neh7.xm673 KB19.09.2000
nehahra/mods/neh3.xm748 KB25.09.2000
nehahra/mods/neh2.xm325 KB19.09.2000
nehahra/mods/neh4.xm375 KB19.09.2000
nehahra/mods/neh5.xm1754 KB19.09.2000
nehahra/mods/atmos2.xm435 KB03.04.2000
nehahra/mods/nehend.s3m381 KB06.05.2001
nehahra/nehmusic.txt1 KB22.05.2001
nehahra/dpnehahra.txt3 KB27.08.2000
nehahra/neh.html28 KB18.08.2000
nehahra/nehexe.txt1 KB22.05.2001
nehahra/pak0.pak1 KB17.08.2000
nehahra/devkit/devkit1.txt114 KB22.07.2001
nehahra/devkit/nehahra.fgd43 KB11.08.2000
nehahra/devkit/demos.txt1 KB19.08.2000
nehahra/nehmulti.txt4 KB27.08.2000
nehahra/pak4.pak1799 KB27.08.2000
nehmovie.exe512 KB06.08.2000
readme_spirit.txt1 KB11.03.2008
glquake.exe490 KB07.08.2007
FMOD.DLL115 KB19.02.2001
DPNehahra.exe564 KB27.08.2000

nehahra.zip - Nehahra

17 maps by famous mappers, cutscenes, new monsters, great features. Comes with a custom engine. Extraordinary.

Note: You can turn off the new AI (side-strafing monsters) with nomonsters "1"

Note: This package was compiled by Spirit in 2008 because of the "mess of files" one needed to install, read the included readme_spirit.txt for changes. Mindcrime said it looked right but please report in if you spot anything faulty in the packaging.


Tags: epic, classic, mission pack, story, forge city, conversion, movie, episode, decon, rubicon, mustplay, cutscenes

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 39 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ijed 19 April 2009, 0:26
The biggest and most important milestone in Quake.
Team Xlink 23 December 2009, 21:51
Thank you for the repack :D
Brandy Bogard 13 March 2010, 4:24
Does this package include Seal of Nehahra
Spirit, rated this a 5 13 March 2010, 10:21
nope
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 20 April 2010, 4:53
It is the most important Quake release ever and gets five stars even though by no means do I think it's perfect.

Really it's parts of the Forge City maps and also the boss maps that lack a bit. Most levels in between are good though, many are awesome and would stand out very well as separate releases. And it is the best looking Quake add on ever. No arguing that.
Kerryanne Warne 24 July 2010, 11:51
How do you register ? x
Dani 5 September 2010, 0:29
Awesome.. The Best quake mod..
costas 7 October 2010, 13:32
hello guys can i ask smth?
Can I play this pack with darkplaces?
What exe should I run?
Thanks

Spirit, rated this a 5 7 October 2010, 18:33
I'd recommend you download the latest release directly from http://icculus.org/twilight/darkplaces/download.html ("DarkPlaces engine Windows/Linux/Mac OpenGL build").

Rightclick the exe, create shortcut and add -nehahra to the target/commandline. That should work.
costas 10 November 2010, 16:47
Spirit thanks for the tip. Nevertheless since it's the first time i'm quaking like this, could you tell me a bit more for the target/commandine. Where is it?

P.S. In order to play scourse of armagon and Diss of eternity I created a quake bat file and echoed 1,2,3 for quake, hipnotic and rogue, respectively and they all worked fine. when I tried to add as 4 echo nehahra, it loads only quake 1.
costas 10 November 2010, 16:50
P.S.
I updated darkplaces with darkplacesengineauto..> 10-Nov-2010 09:13 20.6M
but still nothing.

I'm probably doing something wrong sine I don't know where is the target/commandline.

Please help because I keep hearing that this Nehahra is the best quake creation ever!!!!

Otherwise I'm going to quakekill myself. I'm not quakekidding!!! Help!!!

Spirit, rated this a 5 11 November 2010, 18:56
Let me suggest using the Quake Injector, we made it specifically to make this headache go away:
http://www.quaddicted.com/category/quake-injector/
costas 11 November 2010, 23:13
Spirit you rock!!! Although...
1) I installed and run nehahra with injector.
It starts (I gave darkplaces as executable) the scenery at level selection great but once I start the game and while viewing the long-long-long.....long intro (by the way is there a key or smth to stop the intro?) anyway during that I press escape and the menu appears with old shaky letters just like quake 1 I had 14 years ago!!! No dark places menu, nothing. Any ideas?
Once again thank you for your help... We here in Greece salute ... the quake lords...
delor 2 December 2011, 2:25
..The movie was pretty enjoyable (I've seen more than once)
Still haven't played this whole :(
Luna's Loyal Subject 21 June 2012, 3:18
Is this unplayably laggy for anyone else or just me?
negke 21 June 2012, 20:51
Try Bengt Jardrup's enhanced Nehquake engine perhaps.
Subjective Guest 22 November 2012, 11:56
I tried using Quake Injector to run this and when I load the log says:
couldn't load autoexec.cfg
couldn't load nehstart.bsp

Ben using Quakespasm.exe and GLquake doesn't work on my computer.

Any tips?

Thanks.
Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 27 January 2013, 13:05
On neh2m6 (random try) nehexe.exe and glquake.exe (Bengt's nehahra one) play the music. DPnehahra.exe does not. nehahra.exe crashes for me with a "GL_Upload8_Ext: too big" error.

On nehend DP does play the music. Here it does not seem to be a xm though, its volume is controlled through the general sound slider.

The maps have their tracks set with the "noise" key and a path like "mods/atmos2.xm". The engine seems to use that and then play the track with the "playmod" command. DP does not seem to use that.

I assume for reduced confusion I should remove all executables but the glquake.exe and rename that one to nehahra-glquake.exe or something. To use a recent Darkplaces the easiest way is to download it and rename the exe to nehahra.exe (I will not do that in this package).
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 1 January 2014, 19:42

just finished replaying this. what an excellent mod! an amazing collection of programmers, mappers and artists wrapped up into one fabulous epic.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 24 February 2014, 10:42

Still the best addon ever made for Quake, but certainly among the most challenging ones as well. The levels are amazing for the time of their release, full of atmosphere and details (e.g. watch out for Ogres doing unexpected things!). Storytelling is also strong here, even though it's maybe a bit overdone with the long intro. There are also a few new enemies and weapons - my personal favorite is the Auto Shotgun which can deal with strong opponents even better than the SNG, but at the cost of serious kickback while firing. Main issue with Nehahra is the question about which port to use these days. aguirRe's Enhanced GLQuake (included in this repacked release) works but is a bit outdated by now. I ended up using JoeQuake because I could also use colored lights (LIT files) with it while keeping effects such as water surface warp (Darkplaces doesn't have it). Basically all worked fine until I killed Nehahra - then packet overflow and crash to console. If there's something on my wishlist, then an attempt to get this working on more ports such as FitzQuake, QuakeSpasm or maybe even DirectQ. Nehahra is a classic which would certainly deserve it. As for the rating, there can only be one verdict...

Yhe1 Guest 14 June 2014, 9:14

Directq does support this

Yhe1 Guest 14 June 2014, 9:15

Directq 1.88 v1

spy Guest 14 June 2014, 12:40

I don't understand all that hype with this pak. Maybe its been awesome for its time of release. But Travail much superior. Looking at maps there's much better maps from previous work of the authors. The weapon models were pretty great though. But the monster models ugh, particularly that Brian 'Head' Welch model. The ending were pretty weak too. Quaddamage for the first boss. wtf? And the fighting Max just an ugly dm playing.

3/5stars

Baker Guest 1 August 2014, 9:59

endcred.dem seems to be missing

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 1 August 2014, 11:58

i use the reQuiem engine most, and it seems to handle this mod.

Rikart Guest 10 August 2014, 21:58

OK, so I get to Industrial Silence, and the wall textures turn to a whiteout effect. This goes away if I go into the Options and revert to standard settings, and then all is well until I get killed (whether or not I modify the settings). Any tips? Thanks!

boulbus Guest 10 August 2014, 23:23

dont use dark places :P

Slenderman Registered, rated this a 5 15 August 2014, 20:51

what episodes are in nehahra?

Wisdom Registered, rated this a 5 25 September 2014, 1:03

help? I have tried playing nehahra and using Darkplaces quake in touch. worked but when I open any map appears on the top screen "unknown command 'gl_fogdensity'" and others

Lane Powell Guest 18 January 2015, 2:39

Any way to skip the intro cutscene? It's too long and I'm not interested.

1path0gen1 Guest 23 January 2015, 13:24

@Lane Powell Add

cutscene "0.000000"

in autoexec.cfg. Or launch with "+map neh1m1" in command line, obviously.

Mecheye Registered, rated this a 3 19 February 2015, 2:53

I really wasn't fond of this one. Mostly because of the new AI, but Ill get into that later. I'll break down a few of the differences and major points in this First Impression.


First off, it's REALLY nice looking, and the new enemies are very interesting and unique, but... I was having quite a few problems with the gameplay. Not all of them are negative changes, and the bullet points below should not be read as bad marks. However they all add up to a narrative which I think sums up my experiences well enough. (Note: I stopped playing after I escaped forge city on Normal mode. So this isn't a Review, but a First Impression. The game may very well change after the first couple levels and/or a few console or game commands might make it a lot different for some players.)

1) Ill start my bullets here. The Controls. I played using GlQuake since it was the only version that would work for me. I was unable to scroll backwards through my weapons, only forwards (Plus I had to use a console command to enable mouse look) since it was an old version of quake I think. This wasn't a problem when I played Beyond Belief (More of an annoyance than anything) and it wasn't really a problem now, but it is still a bit of a glaring difference that will mess up some players, especially later in the game with more weaponry. But the game didn't really have any glaring

2) Weaponry issues. I only got to use the shotgun, double shotgun and nailgun since i stopped at...level 4 I think it was? Only difference here was that the shotgun's spread seems to have been increased. This isn't a problem by itself, but it IS a bit of a problem when you take into account

3) The side stepping. Yes I can turn it off, but it was implemented for a reason so I felt obligated to keep it on for the "full experience" Its a neat mechanic, but there are several issues with HOW it was done. Namely the fact that

3a) It happened way to often. I felt like I was playing in an online deathmatch in CoD (Diving, jumping around, camping, spray and pray). However, the only difference is that I didn't have a automatic rifle but a pump action shotgun. The things I were shooting at were literally flying around the screen to the point where I had to hold down the trigger and spend 15 shells killing an enforcer because:

3b) Their health was increased. OR it may be the potentially increased spread of the shotty making less pellets hit. I wasn't really sure. More health isn't an issue because there is a TON of ammo lying around, and neither is the increased spread for the same reason. However, what was really noticeable was that

3c) The enemy chance to attack was significantly increased. Normal mode felt like Nightmare to me with the attack frequency. No joke. The enemies spam their weapons. This was all listed under "3" for a reason. That being that added up, it was an absolute mess to get anywhere relatively in-tact.

In fact, the first level I almost couldn't beat for all the above reasons as well as the

4) Medpacks being so spaztasticly placed. The first level had them placed so sparingly that half the time I was running around with 5 HP because a grunt managed to circle strafe me to death. I couldn't even get one one of the sorely needed medpacks because I presumably had to shove a barrel around and jump on it and I ended up blowing up said barrel to kill the hyped-up grunt nearby.

The second level was the exact opposite! There were MILLIONS of medpacks and only 30 or so enemies!

The third level had next to none in the first half, with millions in the second half (with an even distribution of enemies no less) At one point in the third level, I had to climb a set of stairs. At the top were 3 of the new super-nailgun enemies and a super hyped up enforcer. This was in itself a ridiculous situation because no amount of dodging would keep me from getting hit and they wouldn't follow me to another area, but it was aggravated by my ability to keep getting

5) Caught on the level geometry and dying painfully. Sure it looks nice and completely awesome (for Quake no less) but everything had weird hitboxes that I kept catching my elbow on trying to dodge out of the way of things.

Overall, I didn't have fun with this pack so far. It looks gorgeous, the new enemies are interesting, and the story is great so far too! But I don't think Ill be finish it with the new AI, nor recommend casual players to use the new AI. Its better off without it.

Cheers!

Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 19 February 2015, 20:00

Nehahra without nomonsters 1 is absolutely terrible in my opinion. No one should have to endure that...

You can try the requiem engine if you have trouble, it will let you cycle weapons etc. https://www.quaddicted.com/engines/requiem (use the second link)

NightFright Guest, rated this a 5 27 April 2015, 14:24

Latest Fitzquake Mk V also runs Nehahra now.

BTW, does anybody have these two patches once released for Nehahra: nehupdate3.zip / nehmusicfix.zip?

Dark Satan Guest 12 August 2015, 23:25

Pak2.pak didnt seem to be extracting to the folder I wanted it to go in.

RamboX Guest 13 August 2015, 4:15

Interesting...

Rimster Registered, rated this a 5 2 April 2016, 19:41

While I absolutely hated the spastic strafing by monsters, I felt I should play it that way to get an original experience from it. Overall though I thought this was pretty neat, I loved the details it added with the ogre chefs and the wraiths collecting souls from dead creatures. Say hat you will about the Max fight I found it to be the most interesting fps boss that I can currently recall. I would definitely suggest a play through even now.

Skully Guest 26 August 2016, 8:44

The maps themselves were pretty good, even if the new AI can be annoying at times. What I really didn't like was the intro cutscene, mainly the voice acting. Hearing that obnoxious 1950s gangster voice for almost every single character was too much for me. It was so bad I had to mute the sound half way into it. Not like the dialogue really mattered anyway, I couldn't understand what anyone was saying half the time. Who on earth did you get to voice act those characters? He was awful!

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 3 September 2016, 1:12

"What I really didn't like was the intro cutscene, mainly the voice acting."

I couldn't agree more! That and the hideous player model. If I remember correctly, the voice "actor" is no actor at all but one of the authors, possibly the project leader. It should be noted in the end credits.

Qmaster Registered, rated this a 2 1 October 2016, 17:59

Wow. This is actually quite terrible. Took me years to finish it as I just couldn't stomach the horrendous voice acting, terrible cutscenes, and horrible sound effects. Finally finished it today.

Enemies: Jagger - Ugly, sound effects taken from Fiend and Abuse mutants which are simply not Quakey. Vomitus - Not horrible but skin is no good. Marines - I don't need help. Field Enforcer - Hideous...would only really work in the Noir jam. Ogre Mutant - Also hideous, hate his sound effects. Tsemoch - Annoying, stupid hard, not Quakey Gaunt - Too many different attacks, difficult to learn, Can't dodge his red lightning - this should be something limited to Shambler imo. Archgaunt - The gravity reversing is not a bad idea though it is rather jarring. His freezing death is a nice concept but why? Doesn't make sense in context at all. These are even more annoying than Tsemochs. Barons - Sound effects aren't the best, jumpy, somewhat annoying. Meh. Wraith - Actually kinda cool.

Monster strafing - Just no. This isn't deathmatch. This isn't fun Quake singleplayer. Not right. I know it can be somewhat disabled but still. Death knight changes - Yuck, plunging while lit up is wierd. Vore changes - somewhat fits the cannon of Azure Agony's vore jumping section but the logic is odd and the vore is already hard to avoid the projectile...seems unnecessarily more difficult.

Level quality - some levels are quite well made though layouts and quality overall is rather mediocre.

Cutscenes and Seal movie were awful. I muted it after a minute. And soooooo loooooooong!! Come on!

Overall not impressed. This could have been better.

Longhorn Registered 21 May 2017, 14:04

Hi there. Can someone give me a tip how to play this mod. I mean what port should I use? Thank you in advance.

Somebody Guest 25 May 2017, 8:04

Hey so, if anybody's here, does nomonsters "1" disable the enemies strafing or does it just make them do it less or something? I've typed it in a lot in different ways and they're still strafing.

Hipnotic Rogue Registered, rated this a 5 20 July 2017, 12:29

I love this! A true labour of love. At the very least, it's worth playing just for its historical significance.

Greed Registered, rated this a 5 26 October 2017, 0:39

How to play this monumental map pack on Windows 10:

  • Mark V: download nehquake.zip, extract only the "nehahra" folder into your /Quake directory. Download Mark V, put it into your /Quake folder, and then the fmod.dll from the same page and put it into /nehahra folder. Run Mark V with -nehahra command line argument. Mark V is a modern FitzQuake based engine like Quakespasm and should be pretty straightforward past this point.

  • The original NehQuake engine: download the bug fixed version from here, you only need glquake.exe, I'd also suggest renaming the said glquake.exe to nehquake.exe since it only runs nehahra. Extract the "nehahra" folder and fmod.dll that comes with it from nehahra.zip into your /Quake folder, but still ignore the other .exes that come inside nehahra.zip. This time around the fmod.dll goes into your /Quake folder and not /nehahra. Then just run nehquake.exe. The widescreen resolution support is a bit tricky this time around since you'll have to calculate the HUD size and FOV yourself, e.g. for 1080p 16:9 run the exe with the following command line arguments: nehquake.exe -width 1920 -height 1080 -bpp 32 -conwidth 640 -conheight 360 +fov 106. For 16:10 aspect ratios con size and FOV should be 640x400 and 100, as in -width 1680 -height 1050 -bpp 32 -conwidth 640 -conheight 400 +fov 100.

Azradun Registered, rated this a 2 6 April 2018, 3:46

Currently in the half of the playthrough. Giving a review since I'm not sure I'd want to finish.

I'd say - this is easily the worst gameplay experience I've had since I've joined this site. While I appreciate the amount of work it went into the mod, and that it was done so many years ago, the gameplay is almost hilariously bad and unbalanced.

Even with nomonsters 1, some of the strafing AI remains. While it's not as ludicrously hard, the health, attack speed and movement are boosted. And when an ordinarily looking Grunt can wield a rocket launcher, suddenly half of the encounters in the first missions become almost boss fights. In fact, when fighting a "boss fight" at the half end, I was amazed how easy it felt compared to battling Grunts and Enforcers.

This is hallmark of bad game design - the "conservation of ninjutsu" trope exists for a reason. A boss fight is meant to be unique and harder. When everyone is as tough and jumpy as the player, game becomes monotonous chore. I didn't have much fun playing this, rather tedium. What works in deathmatch with bots doesn't work in single player. In DM respawn of resources makes all the difference.

Other stuff: breakable boxes. A same box can be breakable one moment, unbrekable the next. You will use a lot of ammo needlessly. Grunts - cool, they have different weapons. But color coding is for a reason - it is a game after all. Marines - another badly designed thing. With all the launcher-toting Grunts around, I'm blasting anything even resembling a Grunt and ask questions later.

Yes, there are some genuinely nice things, like new Ogre animations or the resurrect powerup, but most of the things feel really subpar - new enemies, level design (wall textures like literally my Grandpa's cellar). I've been hearing about Nehahra for years, and to be frank, playing it for the first time is huge disappointment. I've been playing through almost every episodic map collection in this archive and for the first time I genuinely disliked one.

Well, it is not for me it seems.

Likuid Guest 4 June 2018, 2:31

Pleas Help ? Is it allowed to use Nehahra.exe(progs.dat) engine in a commercial supposed game I'm creating ??

Max Guest 4 June 2018, 9:52

No, it's not.

Likuid Guest 5 June 2018, 3:23

thank but why not ? since Id Quake engine allows that !

MikeTaylor Registered 5 June 2018, 23:11

Why not? Because the creators didn't elect to allow it. Which is 100% their prerogative.

likkid Guest 7 June 2018, 1:36

Sorry but I guess you're wrong.. QuakeC (Progs.dat) is gpl and always be (it's an IDsoftware choice) even if someone else(NehahraTeam) has modified it. Only the assets are property of NehahraTeam

MikeTaylor Registered 7 June 2018, 13:58

Ah, that does sound correct.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 3 23 June 2018, 13:04

Everything about this pack aged like fine milk. Vondur's and czg's maps remain great though.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in