Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of obiwan
Author:Obi-Wan
Title:Prepare for HELL
Download:obiwan.zip (e2fe24ce08d6adfebd5a7e54fe87ed2b)
Filesize:558 Kilobytes
Release date:14.10.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's QualitySPQ Level Heaven
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
OBIWAN.TXT2 KB14.10.1996
OBIWAN.BSP1219 KB07.10.1996

obiwan.zip - Prepare for HELL

Small to medium Wizard map.

Tags: wizard, small, medium, oldschool

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 20 February 2014, 11:24

this was decent. a little extra button searching, but easy to find for me.

spacey Guest 4 June 2014, 12:25

Nice map with a balanced combat. Of course, it's terribly old-schoo but that's what you'd expect from a 1996 map anyway. A bit more cohesion in the design / architecture would be nice. But overall, it is more or less along the original Quake level stardards.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 8 July 2014, 4:12

Let's use the force to Prepare for Hell! This is actually a pretty well done map! I think the whole "shoot the button to make something happen" thing gets a little old and seems arbitrary at times but it's still well built and is a fun play through. Watch me play it here: Prepare for HELL on The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 9 December 2014, 22:54

It's got some alright combat but there are two things I do not like, one is that it's rather linear and two is that it never tells you what any of the switches you shoot actually do. Otherwise, it's alright for a 1996 level.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 3 7 January 2015, 2:00

The combat's pretty good sometimes and it looks decent for '96. The switches were a bit irritating after a while and the shambler at the end is pretty much useless due to how much cover you get. Overall it's good but not great. 3/5

NewHouse Registered, rated this a 3 22 May 2016, 20:09

Backtracking and figuring out you have to use buttons for everything started to get a bit confusing and frustrating in overall well-thought out map. Ending was a bit pointless - because shambler couldn't even get out the golden key room. I played it twice in a same day, and shooting buttons were still very confusing. Map's brush work was solid and interesting. Rating 2.75~3/5.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 2 July 2017, 18:23

Maybe it's just me playing the maps in chronological order from 1996, which makes this map feel amazing in comparison, and in terms of overall architecture and polish it IS quite a large step ahead the earlier maps, in my opinion.

The switch hunting was kind of aggravating, but otherwise the map is really solid; fun and pretty to boot!

I think there's at least one place that I thought should have been marked as a secret, but maybe Obi-Wan didn't know how to mark them at that time.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 11 August 2018, 16:15

A mixed bag. The layout is good, but the player has to do a fair amount of backtracking. Each room uses different textures, so while everything looks polished, it also looks incoherent. Monster placement is good in some spots and bad in others. Impressive for a 1996 map but not without flaws.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in