Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of oum
Author:Apollo, FatController, Tronyn, Tyrann
Title:Operation: Urth Majik
Download:oum.zip (93c8591e4f53e34aa867ef11eaeaf6ca)
Filesize:10443 Kilobytes
Release date:26.07.2001
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityEthereal HellQuake TerminusTEAMShamblerTen FourTronyn's Top 10: BaseUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
oum.txt3 KB24.07.2001
PAK0.PAK25240 KB26.07.2001

oum.zip - Operation: Urth Majik

SP episode with five medium to large IKBase/Quake2/Egyptian-themed, professionally constructed maps, some new monsters/weapons and progs including cutscenes - by FatController, Tyrann, Tronyn, and Apollo.

Tags: ikbase, episode, classic, obtex, temple, mustplay, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 27 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Klape 2 January 2012, 19:07
Wonderful maps!
Really difficult, one of my favorites!
Fr3n Guest, rated this a 5 27 September 2012, 7:22
All of the levels in this episode are great, but TOUM alone is worth the price of admission. Slightly annoying gameplay in a handful of places but an amazingly weird theme carried through to perfection from beginning to end.
ijed Guest 27 February 2013, 22:49
Excellent pack, one of the great classics.
catlover Registered 14 August 2013, 20:13

Hi all,

Relative newbie alert

in this episode all the text is garbled for me. I watched someone play on youtube and that text was fine. it seems there is a story that I'm missing, and it's a nuisance not being able to read important messages as it's halting my progress. Could anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? (other than the text everything else seems to work). cheers

Spirit Registered 17 August 2013, 19:51

What engine are you using? My random guess is that you installed some fan-made graphics. Try without them (it even looks better then)! ;)

catlover Registered 20 August 2013, 0:38

Was using dark places but after reading your recommended engines I tried Fitzquake. It works perfectly now! Love the new enemies and overall feel and design. Some elements remind me of Half Life. By the way, thanks for the quick response I never knew about all these wonderful maps. Great site.

Spirit Registered 23 August 2013, 19:45

Thanks! Spread the word. ;)

mfx Registered, rated this a 5 19 October 2013, 22:55

Though i´m not a big fan of those textures, this pack still gets a 5 out of 5. Released in 2001, this one stands up against all that was following, even today. Absolutely worth checking out, play it now, if you haven´t yet!

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 14:04

Highly enjoyable Quake mission pack, even now. When you shut down a power generator and the lights in the whole level go half-dark, you know that it's going to be bad. Nice usage of some Zerstörer enemies and weapons, too. I also liked that there is a bit of story after every level you complete. Looks even better with colored lighting (if you know how to create .lit files, e.g. with MHColour). 5 stars, easily!

Yhe1 Guest 5 October 2014, 22:06

NightFright, did you create lit files for OUM? If so, can you upload them to quaketastic?

Yhe1 Guest 12 October 2014, 12:56

Nevermind, found the color lighting tool.

LeopolD Guest 11 March 2015, 23:25

Excellent! Just replayed this, great from start to finish.

DeeDoubleU Registered, rated this a 5 14 March 2016, 13:26

Nice. I like how this has story part just right. Enough to explain what the hell is going on and not too much of it to make you want to skip or disable narration.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 28 September 2016, 17:04

Replayed this. I'd forgotten how satisfyingly chunky the earlier, base levels are. There's an interestingly unique atmosphere to the later more medieval levels, with the continuing presence of the base monsters making a certain amount of sense in light of the story. I found myself feeling sorry for these poor bewlidered humans, sucked out of their bases and drawn into a netherworld. (But not too sorry to riot-controller them into kibble.)

I would say that by modern standards it falls just a little short of the full five stars, because of some primitive brushwork and a sense of arbitratiness in places (though even that is ameliorated by the comments of the Big Bad as you make your way through its sanctum.) But it's still a very solid four at the very least.

Blood Vengeance Registered, rated this a 5 2 October 2016, 12:49

Few maps but great and enjoyable, this deserve 5 stars absolutely. Loved the atmosphere, it resembles a "Zerstorer little brother" mixed with some Half Life.

Pasokon Deacon Registered, rated this a 5 29 January 2017, 22:47

OUM's a better take on the nihilist mini-episode concept than Zerstorer, if only because the latter three maps are more consistent and ambitious than expected. The elements cribbed from Half-Life never get in the way, thankfully, and I love the Egyptian theme shift right at the end since it justifies adding in new, crazier rooms and enemy waves to deal with. Sense of humor's strong here, too.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in