Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of outpost
Author:Creed
Title:Outpost
Download:outpost.zip (d63703b1a07c7ac405a30ad253bc653c)
Filesize:553 Kilobytes
Release date:09.08.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sQuake Map Hotel
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
outpost.txt2 KB09.08.1997
outpost.bsp1410 KB09.08.1997

outpost.zip - Outpost

Small Base map. OK.

Tags: base, small, short

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 2 August 2016, 17:58

Outpost on The Quake Grave

From a gameplay or combat perspective, there is nothing spectacular about this map. However, I think the design of the map is very clean and very professional.

Upon first entering this map, I was stunned by how clean the base looked in the first room. It's doesn't look lived in at all, it's looks sterile. BUT it looks good! Great detail and look for a map from 1997. Then as it goes on, little touches here and there really impressed me. The ammo and health pick ups being stored in the wall with doors that open up as you approach. The room with the water pipes and the path to the gold key. The reveal of the exit. All of these things are really great!

The unfortunate thing about this map though is just that there isn't a whole lot to sink your teeth into. This base needs to be a bit bigger, uit needs to be more populated with enemies and just have more to do. If it had these things, it would be a pretty damn good map!

Desetler Registered, rated this a 3 18 January 2018, 7:43

I Agree with ArrrCee, 2 secrets are not needed at all. They will not change anything, no enemies to shoot on nightmare difficulty. Seems like Quake guy just went to the toilet and flushed the shit out in a couple of minutes. Yes the toilet was buautiful but there were not many people around to talk about fried Shamblers in barbecue. So three Shamblers out of five.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 18 January 2018, 11:11

This is pleasant, but too insubstantial to merit more than two stars by 2018 standards. Still, there is a cleanness about it that makes me want to go on and play the author's other two maps, Discordia and Discordia II.

pmk Guest 19 May 2019, 5:58

Well built quake map from 1997 with clean and professionally done texture work and level design. However this map is very short and is lacking in difficulty as i found the map was way to easy to complete. I would give this map a three out of five rating and would only recommend downloading if you enjoy base themed quake maps.

ARtemi Guest 16 November 2019, 16:03

Extremely cool little spaceship-like base map. Recommended.

Greenwood Guest 2 December 2019, 1:38

Extremely easy? Yes ...but so is E1M1; so considering it's age, you gotta cut it some slack. As everyone stated above, it's really nicely constructed. At the very least, it's worth a look, just to get some ideas on a future map build.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 2 December 2019, 19:40

I wouldn't call this an easy map. I almost died at the beginning playing in nightmare and getting swarmed by enemies.

The combat becomes much easier after the player gets through the opening room and the surrounding hallways. That's actually the map's biggest drawback--it starts out hard and progressively gets easier. It loses momentum.

But as the previous comments say, it does look very nice, especially for 1997.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in